Alibris UK

Alibris UK

28 Reviews
(2.3)
28 Reviews
Rating (2.3)
star
Poor!
1 Star
15
2 Star
2
3 Star
3
4 Star
3
5 Star
5

Q&A

Is Alibris UK legit?

Alibris UK has 28 reviews on 99consumer.com, with an average rating of 2.3 out of 5. This indicates that most consumers are dissatisfied with their business interactions and dealing. Therefore, caution is advised when considering purchases or engagements with the business.

How to reach Alibris UK customer care?

You can contact Alibris UK customer care via email at [email protected] or by calling them at

Where is Alibris UK located?

Alibris UK is located at address 1250 45th Street suite 100, Emeryville, CA 94608, USA.

28 Reviews on Alibris UK

  1. Paulo
    3 rating

    Not Satisfied For Missing Pages

    Apr 6, 2024

    I ordered a completely precise book on a completely precise difficulty, French Daguerreotypes by way of Alice Buerger. The e book was sent, from the United States to Estonia by mistake (it ought to be brought to Portugal) and I wasn't able to find it for a few 3 months. When finaly arrived it changed into despatched from the United States supplier allready lacking circa 10 pages (out of 264) and a few in which unfastened. So, in case you are the next individual shopping for Nineteen Eighties books about Daguerreotypes ask for a test on the pages earlier than the cargo.

  2. Lakshay
    1 rating

    Misleading Shipping Charges

    Dec 14, 2023

    I'm trying to ship it to our address using the free shipping conditions because I have relatives in the US ($39, including books bearing the free shipping logo). However, it continues to add the shipping cost when it's not required to.

  3. Vian Turner
    1 rating

    Slow Shipping Issue with Alibris UK

    Oct 27, 2023

    I ordered a used book that was old and out of stock in most places, for which I paid £67. The book was supposed to be shipped from the USA to the UK. I placed the order on September 19th, and the USPS tracking quickly updated to show that the book had been delivered to my mailbox.

    However, a week later, when I contacted Alibris for an update on the order's whereabouts, I was informed that they handle shipments from their US warehouse to the UK. They assured me that the book would arrive soon. Fast forward to the middle of October, and the book still hadn't come. After multiple email exchanges, I was informed that it could take up to 24 days for the reader to arrive, even though the initial postage estimate was 10-15 days. Alibris saw no issues with the order and advised me to wait longer.

    Despite waiting for 34 days, the book still hadn't reached me. I ended up staying for a month and a half before I had to request a refund. I've used services like AbeBooks and Book Depository for shipping from the USA to the UK, and I always received full tracking from dispatch to delivery. I believe that Alibris may be using a relatively cheap and outdated postal service, which is a significant disappointment when you've spent a substantial amount of money with them and expect a proper, trackable, and reliable shipping service.

  4. John Edmondson
    3 rating

    Low and affordable prices,

    Jun 7, 2023

    I used to purchase through Alibris frequently because of their low and affordable prices, and I was delighted with the experience. But shipping charges appear to be now a fixed cost of PS5.99 for each book (even though I am within the UK and have only ordered from UK merchants that are based in the UK). These books now cost so high that they may also be brand new. We need to fix this problem, Alibris; you're losing customers because of this!

  5. Surian Choi
    4 rating

    I am disappointed

    May 10, 2023

    I purchased a Bible with pages that were torn. This was the second one I bought, and I am disappointed. I sent the Bible back, but I am still waiting to hear about it.

  6. Julie Bennett
    4 rating

    It's not restricted

    May 7, 2023

    International buying of secondhand DVDs. Super-cheap shipping($2!). The wait time was seven weeks. It arrived exactly as stated, and I can't complain about it. The DVD is a surprise bonus. It's not restricted to a specific region.

  7. Sage Hendrix
    4 rating

    No problems

    Apr 18, 2023

    I was looking for the book that many vendors didn't have because it was out of production—excellent communication prompted me to contact Alibris to inquire whether they had received my purchase. The book arrived in excellent excellently—absolutely no problems.

  8. Emily Melanie
    1 rating

    It's more expensive

    Apr 6, 2023

    Avoid this site. A VERY DISTURBING CUSTOMER SERVICE...Bought an expensive hardcover book. It was delivered by an affiliate (GreatBookPricesUK5) inside an envelope with bubbles, and the corners were smashed and damaged. I tried contacting Alibris for help and received a reply that said I could claim a refund for the book if I rreturnedit.No and offered to ship a new copy. However, there is no reimbursement for the two-time shipping. It's more expensive to return the book damaged than to keep it.

  9. Debra Mcginnis
    2 rating

    This was not a great shopping experience!

    Jan 5, 2023

    I put a book in my cart and then went to the checkout to purchase it. After logging into my account, I realized I had to change my username before proceeding. I changed my password successfully, but the page showing my cart, which contained the book I was looking to purchase, disappeared during this process. It took me 12 days for the book I had placed in the cart to be removed and available to add to my new cart to buy it. This was not a great shopping experience! I believe it would be helpful to fix this issue on your site.

  10. Ruth Wigmore
    1 rating

    Terrible customer service

    Nov 16, 2022

    Terrible customer service. I was told that the book would require "21 to 24" days to be delivered; however, when it did not, I was asked to "wait a bit longer." The time to Alibris will take an additional three weeks. A long time to wait a month and a half to receive an order after placing the initial order are excessive. Do not buy from this company at all costs! (or the pandemic!

  11. Sara Goodlad
    1 rating

    USE THIS WEBSITE AT YOUR OWN RISK!

    Nov 13, 2022

    I purchased two books from this site, and the only one delivered has not been paid for. I've sent multiple messages to the seller and Alibris and only received one response from the seller that said it was delivered to Alibris. Alibris has given me an automatic email and no other information. They don't care about the resolution of issues but rather take your money. USE THIS WEBSITE AT YOUR OWN RISK!!! I will never revisit them.

  12. Martin Gladding
    1 rating

    I asked for an item that was difficult to locate to complete a library in my school

    Nov 12, 2022

    I asked for an item that was difficult to locate to complete a library in my school. The purchase took a long time to arrive, and they delivered the incorrect book. The process of contacting you to correct the problem was nearly impossible. Finally, I wrote you an email but got no reply, and I spent 40 dollars on a book I have no use for.

  13. Frances Randall
    1 rating

    Three orders never arrived from a bookshop that was affiliated with Alibris

    Nov 11, 2022

    Three orders never arrived from a bookshop that was affiliated with Alibris. However, the retailer received the payment and informed Alibris and me that the books were delivered. However, contacting the company was impossible since any message made via their online contact form was returned. Therefore, there was no assistance from Alibris regarding dealing with a fraudulent bookshop.

  14. Christopher Harrop
    1 rating

    I waited for months for an item to be delivered via Omaha in the UK

    Nov 9, 2022

    I waited for months for an item to be delivered via Omaha in the UK. Then I asked and was told that the book's seller sends the text to Alibris, which then redirects it to the UK. The book was then issued an address label at their warehouse. The book was then sent to Canada but was not returned or flagged, and my book was destroyed. They only reimbursed the amount I paid for. I am now going back to Bookfinder as well as Amazon.

  15. Jennifer Robinson
    1 rating

    I'm disappointed

    Nov 8, 2022

    I'm disappointed. I purchased the books during the first days of the outbreak of covid19. I ordered a few items, but sadly, I received nothing. I wrote numerous emails to you, but they never took it seriously. I didn't get my money until now. It was utterly unfair. I would like you to examine my account and make some improvements.

  16. Maxine Perkins
    1 rating

    I purchased an issue more than six weeks ago

    Nov 6, 2022

    I purchased an issue more than six weeks ago(#66106821). I paid for it, and it arrived on the 14th of January, but I haven't received any until the start of March. Since there's no tracking number, there's uncertainty as to when I'll receive the magazine shortly since I cannot determine the item's current status. This is highly frustrating for me.

  17. Carys Davies
    1 rating

    This is an untrue announcement

    Nov 5, 2022

    I ordered a book six months ago and paid the amount, but I haven't received it. I am highly disappointed and waiting for my money to be returned. I'm not sure how to sell an unread book you do not own. It is illegal. I do not want to let it happen, and I will take every legal action I can to return my money. This is an untrue announcement. I wouldn't suggest you sign up on this platform.

  18. Andrew Baker
    1 rating

    Never again!

    Nov 3, 2022

    I purchased this second-hand book called Brewster's Millions, and it was delivered very quickly. The book's condition was so stained, scratched, and discolored that I've decided not to read it and have been forced to pay additional costs. I've used your service in the past and have never needed to make a complaint. My third time is reviewing, and I have not received a response, except for requests for additional reviews! Never again!

  19. Donna Phillips
    1 rating

    Terrible business

    Aug 4, 2022

    I purchased a book and was informed that I would get the book within 3-16 days. About two hours later, I received a notification that the product was not on the shelves and that they had canceled the order.

    However, they have taken the funds from my account instead of canceling the purchase, and to date, I have received no notice of the refund. Terrible business, so be wary of them

  20. Tiffany Greene
    1 rating

    It was not a pleasant experience

    Jul 31, 2022

    I was delighted to discover an ebook I'd been searching for for years. I purchased it only to have the order to be canceled five days later due to it being "no longer available." It was not a pleasant experience!

    I thought I'd found my current favorite bookseller. Still, this experience was so disappointing, implying that I won't be able to recommend this site to purchase any future items. I'll keep shopping elsewhere.

  21. Glenda Epps
    1 rating

    It's wrong to be treated in this manner

    Jul 4, 2022

    I purchased a DVD about eight weeks ago and did not receive anything. All I got is excuse after excuse, no refund. I can find out the date on April 25. Somewhere in California, it was delivered, but they have my address which I'm in the United Kingdom. I'm irritated with this company if I do not receive my refund in time. I'm forced to pursue this issue to the next level. It's wrong to be treated in this manner. I was under the impression that the Americans were decent, honest people.

  22. Robert Timar
    5 rating

    Excellent service

    Jun 22, 2022

    I consider Alibris an excellent service. They have books that are not in circulation and allow you to explore the world of bookshops that I wouldn't have the chance to discover other than via their website.

  23. Kathy Carpenter
    5 rating

    Always secure and low shipping costs in within the USA.

    Jun 22, 2022

    I purchase frequently regularly from Alibris and have not had any issues, except for the odd delay in shipping books to the USA that is to be expected. A major benefit is that the method used to ship across the Atlantic will result in an affordable shipping cost, much lower than other businesses. You have to be patient. If I'm in search of a book, I check Alibris first. II go for something else if they don't carry what I'm looking for,

  24. Albert Alonzo
    5 rating

    The books were delivered in 2 weeks, on the day of Christmas

    Jun 22, 2022

    I ordered two (quite heavy) sets of brand new books for an unbeatable price that were to be delivered to Belgium. Contacted The Client desk twice. Every time I got a prompt, courteous, and helpful reply. The books were delivered in 2 weeks, on the day of Christmas.

  25. Carol Butler
    5 rating

    Excellent condition

    Jun 22, 2022

    I came across this site when searching for a book that is usually expensive, but I could find an affordable price on this. After I placed my order, the book was delivered promptly and in excellent condition. I would definitely recommend it.

  26. Hector Nieves
    5 rating

    Shipped quickly and was in great condition

    Jun 22, 2022

    I came across this site while trying to buy a usually expensive book. However, I found an affordable price on this. After placing my order, the book was shipped quickly and in excellent condition. Highly recommend.

  27. James Stewart
    2 rating

    The book was delivered quickly but damaged

    Jun 21, 2022

    The book was delivered quickly but damaged, and Alibris did not pay for the return shipping cost. Since these costs are more than the product's value, I could not return it and have to live with a book that is damaged... The damage isn't so bad that it would stop me from reading the book, but since it is an excellent booklet, I'm not happy with the purchase. I will be more cautious shortly.

  28. Kerri Reynolds
    3 rating

    I'm happy so far, but I haven’t yet received my product

    May 31, 2022

    Although I have not yet received my product, everything seems to be going well so far.

    Alibris is easy to use, and I would find what I needed without any difficulty.

    It does have a slightly outdated interface design which makes me wonder if it is secure.

    The payment page was next, but it didn't give me any security.

    I'm hoping everything turns out fine. That's all I have to say.

Write a review on Alibris UK

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Do you own Alibris UK?

Customer reviews are a powerful tool for building trust and loyalty. Claim your profile to become a verified business owner.

About Alibris UK

Richard Weatherford is an avid bookseller who enjoys old books and new technology. After teaching college for several years, Dick decided to sell antiquarian books through specialized catalogs. He quickly realized the potential of computer databases to help him in his old book sales. He wrote a business plan in 1982 for a company to build an online database of antiquarian booksellers. Interloc was his name for the company. He lives near Seattle.

Read More
https://alibris.co.uk
1250 45th Street suite 100, Emeryville, CA 94608, USA
88 views