HughesNet

HughesNet

62 Reviews
(2.9)
62 Reviews
Rating (2.9)
star
Average!
1 Star
20
2 Star
6
3 Star
11
4 Star
9
5 Star
16

Q&A

Is HughesNet legit?

HughesNet has 62 reviews on 99consumer.com, with an average rating of 2.9 out of 5. This indicates that most consumers are dissatisfied with their business interactions and dealing. Therefore, caution is advised when considering purchases or engagements with the business.

How to reach HughesNet customer care?

You can contact HughesNet customer care via email at [email protected] or by calling them at 844 737 2700

Where is HughesNet located?

HughesNet is located at address United States.

62 Reviews on HughesNet

  1. Polinkuer12
    5 rating

    Newbie reviews

    Apr 5, 2024

    This is an extremely useful service .Thank you so much for sharing this interesting idea. The views in the article are extremely insightful and factual. I like it very much. Hope you will continue to have more articles like this. It's great to be back on your site following a protracted absence. It's been a while since I last worked on this project. It's great to be back on your site following a protracted absence. It's been a while since I last worked on this project.
    It's great to be back on your site following a protracted absence. It's been a while since I last worked on this project.
    It's great to be back on your site following a protracted absence. It's been a while since I last worked on this project.

  2. Edward Angel
    2 rating

    Service interruptions frequently happen

    Jun 5, 2023

    Services are often slow, with frequently interrupted buffering. Service interruptions frequently happen too. A monthly fee is excessive for undependable service. I can see how the conditions can impact services. But internet loss occurs almost daily, even when the weather is perfect. I'm an older person and also an unemployed. Because of the high price of TV and the lack of other media options currently ac, cess to the internet, including streaming, Facebook email, games, and news, as well as searching/downloading music, crafts, and crochet patterns. Therefore, I heavily rely on having access to the internet.

  3. Mario Friendy
    1 rating

    Poor customer service

    May 5, 2023

    Poor customer service. I was contacted to cancel my service on 3/21/23, but they told me to suspend it if required. They also said they would pay all charges within 90 days. After which, on the 30th day of being arrested/21/23, they billed my credit card to rent equipment for $26.25. Then I called the company to cancel my rental and receive a refund, but I was told that they couldn't return the money because I was annoyed and, if I was not, they should refund my money. It's a joke to blame the client for being misled and then having to take my time calling to cancel a service because they lied to me. Never recommend this company to anyone.

  4. Karen Mahoney
    4 rating

    No cell service

    May 5, 2023

    I loved the representative for customer service, who was able to assist me. He was extremely knowledgeable and accommodating, as I could understand something I could not comprehend immediately. There are some negatives. The cost of HughesNet is expensive. We want to be able to purchase an unlimited service. Our situation is a bit difficult due to the region that we are in. No cell service, not even cable. We have only satellite. However, HughesNet has done a fantastic job providing us with a satellite.

  5. Steve Grierson
    1 rating

    A hopeless situation

    May 3, 2023

    If you're here, then you're probably just similar to me. You will have no choice but to choose this provider to access the internet. This is the only choice I have in ruralization, and I've experienced no issues with their service! It's a slow service, and they will rob you of your data plans, so you'll need to purchase "Data Blocks"! Let me explain this! If you think that service sucks?? Customer service is 100x more sloppy than customer service! As I'm stuck in a hopeless situation, I cannot even make a phone call without an internet connection! However, I'm stuck.

  6. Chris Johnston
    3 rating

    Knowledgeable

    May 2, 2023

    The first phone call I made did not be a success. The person I spoke to didn't appear to be knowledgeable about HughesNet's services and how their billing process works. She wasn't a single bit helpful. I tried calling again and was greeted by an excellent young man who wanted to work with me to lower my monthly bill. I appreciated it. I wouldn't say I have liked HughesNet for over 20 increasing have had no issues until this past Don'tth. don't like the way it keeps rising and increases every month. I will give this a bit of time, and if it doesn't work, if I experience the same issues, you have other options for my situation.

  7. Kimber Finney
    1 rating

    It is cheaper

    May 2, 2023

    I have had HughesNet for five years. Prolonged service may also have dial-up speeds limited to a slow rate. You can't stream videos without being able to download the content. It costs up to 300.00 dollars to tighten the cable connection. The security system is constantly down. It is cheaper to use Starlink but more costly, with better speed with no data caps. Lower attitude satellites provide better service.

  8. Monica Poling
    5 rating

    Able to pay

    May 1, 2023

    I had only 75 GB but with 200 GB. It should continue longer when three people are connected to the internet. I wish that someone could have gotten back to me sooner. For just 10 dollars more, I'd be able to pay this, for It would be nice to have discounts for senior citizens.

  9. Jasmine Brown
    1 rating

    Cancel the service

    Apr 14, 2023

    I called to cancel my services. Because of faxes, my house is now destroyed. I called to cancel the service, but they are still trying to bill me $ 325.00 for balancing benefits for something I cannot control. I've had issues with my service from the time I first used the service. I've had service representatives come out several times. There was no resolution to the problems, I could not get servbenefitsmy home even though I was told they would get it, and I was forced to switch back to Comcast service. I was unable to get any services to arrive at my home. Since my house has been destroyed, they threatened to charge me cancellation fees.

  10. Randolph Haith
    5 rating

    I've never had a bad experience

    Jan 22, 2023

    I've never had a bad experience when I make a call to any technical assistance. Fortunately, I don't frequently need to call; however, when I do, I am confident that it ensures swift and courteous. The staff is always knowledgeable and quick to determine the issue. They're very adept at making sure I am aware of the problem and what I can do to solve it.

  11. Debbie Parker
    5 rating

    I am grateful for Hughes Net's outstanding customer service from REIN and Andrew. Thank you.

    Dec 11, 2022

    The two representatives I talked to about my contract renewal were amiable, accommodating, and efficient: Rein and Andrew offered me the most excellent customer service! I'm 80, and I truly appreciate any assistance I can receive. I .a.m grateful for Hughes Net's outstanding customer service from REIN and Andrew. Thank you.

  12. Philip Cox
    5 rating

    I've been very impressed with Hughes and the employees

    Dec 7, 2022

    I've been very impressed with Hughes and the employees. The office staff and the ones on the field. This was particularly true for the installer (his initial nickname was "Chase"). The installation was clean, professional, and certainly worthy of applause. Chase was friendly, knowledgeable, efficient, and enjoyable to be around and to work with. I felt as if I was with "an old friend," although I'd never had the pleasure of meeting him. Chase relaxed me regarding the process since it was evident he'd done it several times before.

  13. Susan Campbell
    4 rating

    I am not happy that you can experience service

    Dec 4, 2022

    I am impressed with your speed and efficiency. I am not happy that you can experience service interruptions but come back quicker than CenturyLink. Additionally, I am impressed by the knowledge that your installation team has.

  14. Sarah Langdon
    1 rating

    The most horrible customer service!

    Dec 3, 2022

    It was the worst internet connection that I have ever experienced. It could not stream any apps, and connectivity issues were always present. Customer service was horrible, constantly insisting that it was the apps that were causing the problem and wouldn't load, told me that I had the best internet connection at 25 Mbps, even with the speed tests they have themselves, I got 5 Mbps at the highest and lowest was 1mbps or less, stupid me purchased the dish for four bills and then canceled. The highway is a robbery with the most horrible customer service! They're telling me that I'm still owed four more late cancellation charges, DO NOT use Hughesnet.

  15. Damian Byrne
    3 rating

    Do this to keep your customers satisfied.

    Dec 2, 2022

    Transferring tokens from the previous plan to upgrade to net fusion is a significant hassle. This shouldn't be as difficult. Limiting token transfers up to 20GB per calendar day seems ridiculous. It's been 3 hours, and we're not even done! Do this to keep your customers satisfied.

  16. Mariana Dantas
    1 rating

    I'm not sure if we'll be able to reschedule.

    Dec 1, 2022

    We planned an installation time of 8-11 am in a new house that we're planning to move into that is 2.5 hours away from our current home. The night before, at 8 pm, we received a message saying that it was changed to 11 am until 2 pm. After 1:30 pm, I called to see whether they'd be at the house at 2. The person who answered said there would be that they would be at a couple of places later, which would have been around 3:30. Around 45 minutes later, we received a message that said 8 pm when it would become pitch-black in the woods. We canceled for today. I'm not sure if we'll be able to reschedule.

  17. Gillian Gaskell
    1 rating

    You resembled her more

    Nov 30, 2022

    I purchased additional data tokens that were not put into my accounts. I had to contact eight times and obtain three different case numbers before the issue was solved. The only bright spot was the person who helped me. She has fixed the problem for me. You resembled her more.

  18. Becky McDougald
    1 rating

    Slow wifi

    Nov 29, 2022

    we only got Hughes because it was the service that came here. We have complained about how slow it is, so they gave us free tokens. They have tokens you can buy through the month and the speed picks up. But that can start costing a lot of money. Finally spectrum is putting their cable back here and we will have them. I never had this problem with spectrum. Never had it slow down and we had anywhere from 4-5 people using the data.

  19. Bazil Miller
    5 rating

    She was truly pleased

    Nov 28, 2022

    I completed my setup of the new information on my card with a professional who helped me out when I made a mistake. She was genuinely pleased to guide me through every step. I paid my bill and was informed of the payment

  20. Adina Neagu
    5 rating

    It isn't enjoyable. capacity

    Nov 26, 2022

    I find HughesNet okay, but I cannot access specific streaming platforms. I can stream these platforms on my phone, but watching them on my computer is impossible. It's as if HughesNet doesn't have enough bandwidth. It isn't enjoyable. capacity

  21. Lesley Cornick
    2 rating
    Nov 25, 2022

    Poor internet service. It's not working as it should. Keeps going down. We were also informed that the price would cost $55, and because the service was so poor, we needed to pay an additional $90 for a better speed service.

  22. Noel Flanagan
    1 rating

    Get away from them immediately

    Nov 24, 2022

    In every way and from. The installer changed his schedule and canceled on numerous occasions. It required three trips to my home and more than two weeks to install. After installation, the service performexceptionallyely slowly. It was slow and inconsistent. Its poor performance was acknowledged solely by its customer support department. Hughes's internet is a disaster. Get away from them immediately.

  23. Garry Hughes
    4 rating

    The customer service was outstanding

    Nov 23, 2022

    The customer service was outstanding. My issue is with the buffering of video and the slower speeds offered. If cox were provided for me, I'd choose it and stop using Hughes.net. Cox isn't dependent on weather conditions, is more reliable, and has quicker speed.

  24. Donna Hughes
    3 rating

    I am glad to avail servo ices.

    Nov 22, 2022

    Speed is slow and not ideal for streaming videos or using the Roku or Dire Stick. But, given my location, I am glad to avail servo ices.

  25. Andrew Hudson
    4 rating

    The way the representative handled my situation was absolutely magnificent

    Nov 20, 2022

    How the agent handled, my case was magnificent. If this were the only thing I had to rate, I would have rated it five stars. The reason I chose not to get five stars is quite simple. The length of time and procedures I had to take to speak to an actual person was, to me, unacceptable.

  26. Sean Bagguley
    4 rating

    Customer service has dramatically improved

    Nov 19, 2022

    Customer service has dramatically improved. My requirements as a valued customer were addressed with a level of care that prevented me from being able to leave. Regardless of the Dish Network promotion, I still cannot afford local TV. This additional service is way too expensive, and the plan does not offer the NFL Network of ESPN. As an avid consumer and customer, I cannot afford that!

  27. Kirsty Baker
    5 rating

    We are delighted with the experience of Hughes net.

    Nov 18, 2022

    We are in a tiny town, and Hughes net has given us many things we are happy with. Our Hughes network has been performing well for the last two months. We are delighted with the experience of Hughes net.

  28. Faraz Siddique
    1 rating

    THE WORST WIFI INTERNET SERVICE IVE EVER USED.

    Nov 14, 2022

    In the absence of lying, make sure you are honest. You offer the most unprofessional service available. No one would recommend you. You charge $100 monthly, then turn the service down three days after we've paid. It's still free, but you have to cost us. Television always claims internet speeds are good; that is a BIG LIE. I TOOK AN INDEPENDENT SPEED TEST. IT SAID SLOW. IT BARELY REGISTERED. YOU ARE A TERRIBLE COMPANY. YOU TAKE ADVANTAGE OF PEOPLE. YOUR CUSTOMER SERVICE SUCKS. THEY NEVER GET BACK TO YOU. THEY LIE ABOUT ALMOST ALL OF THE INFO WHILE YOU'RE SIGNING UP. DON'T USE HUGE; THEY ARE A MONEY PIT WITH NO SERVICE. THE WORST WIFI INTERNET SERVICE I'VE EVER USED.

  29. Liz Bennett
    5 rating

    Extremely polite and professional

    Nov 11, 2022

    I needed to sign into the app as I recently joined the account, but the app wouldn't accept my username or password, which we discussed over the phone a few months ago. Kenisha helped me reset my password within a few minutes and was extremely polite and professional.

  30. Valerie Bruce
    1 rating

    This is one of the worst companies ever

    Nov 8, 2022

    This is one of the worst companies ever. The CSRs have been tremendous and have tried to help. The company is corrupt. I cannot comprehend how they can get away with using the method they run their business. Horrible service, outrageous costs. This is the only option, or we would never have considered the service. We're supposed to be offered alternatives soon and are expected to be done with this business. How do you prove which information you've used? No matter what, ours isn't fully utilized until ten days after it begins over. Then it is fine until around five days before the month's end. They require you to purchase more data to receive any service. I can't wait to get finished with this company. I'm confused as to why there isn't a class action lawsuit against them.

  31. Dan Summers
    3 rating

    The cost you are charging is too high for satellite services

    Nov 6, 2022

    The cost you are charging is too high for satellite services. My bill angers me. I've informed several of you that the only thing I do is watch the television since I'm a disabled veteran. I'm unable to do anything, so I only go to the movies, and when you give the bill off my head and thank me by the top of my account. I'm angry.

  32. Rachal Willett
    3 rating

    I chatted with agent to pay my bill a few days early

    Nov 4, 2022

    I spoke to the agent and asked him to settle my bills a couple of days earlier (you aren't able to pay your bill online before the deadline with a thumbs-down). I believed I had spent my bill in the total amount, as he claimed that he'd had my account pulled up. Then I realized I owed more than the amount that he said. I had a second conversation with another person a feral days later and shared my displeasure and confusion. In the middle of a conversation, here came across a different agent who asked me to repridiculouslous things

  33. Louise Carrothers
    1 rating

    We need GOVT regulation for these Clowns

    Nov 3, 2022

    No, it's the case that post is selling its bandwidth capabilities too much, not more. Unusual speeds, even with a FULL tank of gas, can be dl'd between 12 and 30 KBs! Slower than DIAL-UP; that was 20 years ago. Customer service is always trying to promote a new useless data plan. It's your modem, your router, your browser .....etc.

  34. Janet Duncton
    4 rating

    It's an excellent internet service overall.

    Nov 2, 2022

    It's an excellent internet service overall. It's pretty good! Yes, it is slightly annoying when the internet stops working when it starts raining, but aside from that, it's a fantastic service! It's nothing to write about; however, I recommend it!

  35. James Watters
    4 rating

    Overall, the experience was helpful.

    Nov 1, 2022

    The new modem resolved the issue we were experiencing. The majority of the people the whom we interacted were extremely accommodating. However, it took a long time every time we needed to contact them, and it can be very stressful as a senior. Overall, the experience was helpful.

  36. Sharon Knott
    3 rating

    It's cost me lots of money

    Oct 29, 2022

    Many things weren't clarified at the time of initial installation regarding how the system functions. It wasn't even explained when I first called regarding the services. I require internet access because I am a licensed Notary and regularly use my laptop. It's cost me lots of money, and since I have a fixed income, this is a huge pain.

  37. Adrian Bates
    3 rating

    The person I spoke to determined that I required an appointment for service

    Oct 27, 2022

    The person I spoke to determined that I required an appointment for service, and when your technician arrived, there was nothing to be found wrong with my equipment, so this whole process was unproductive of my time and time. Perhaps you should look into hiring a different person to handle this situation.

  38. Anne Surrey
    1 rating

    Never gave me my prepaid card that I was promised

    Oct 24, 2022

    I have done everything you asked for so that I could get my prepaid card after signing up with hughes.net for the first time. You assured me you would give me $300 for a credit card! They make them take the ringer seriously, and I did what you said. I downloaded the application and filled it out, then printed it off and needed to print it out, but it wasn't enough. Then you asked for two months. I had to wait for my services and prove that I'd received service for two months.

    My two bills were included in the application; I needed to send them in, which I printed, downloaded, then sent to you. And mailed it to your rebate Department regardless of the address that was in use at the time, and the next time I called to inquire about the location of my card, you told me it was likely to have been lost in the mail, so that's the only thing I have is the money you promised! There are no false promises! Never worry about getting lost again! What a convenience! It's a scam, or Hughes Net would make good on this. I am highly disappointed because I was forced to travel to download these files from my computer and print it. I'm still using your services, and there is something wrong. You must make this right!

  39. Simon Hollands
    3 rating

    We don't receive good service

    Oct 23, 2022

    I am not happy that we're located in an area where we don't receive good service. It shuts down or fails to function all the time. It's a necessity for my company, and it's not working most of the time. Poor business, and I will move to a different business if one becomes available.

  40. Jim Oliver
    1 rating

    This is among the most unprofessional service providers

    Oct 22, 2022

    This is among the most unprofessional service providers. There is only one TV, and the service will last only three days. This is only one film and a few TV shows. We're using the middle package and were told this is good for watching television. We are the only two at the house working during the week, so the TV isn't continuously on. We were told it would cost more than $400 to end the plan. I would not recommend this company in any way. My parents have Rise broadband and haven't had issues with service like this.

  41. Neil Bartle
    1 rating

    What can anyone do to give this company a five rating?

    Oct 21, 2022

    What can anyone do to give this company a five rating? Rating...they are the most outrageous ripoff that I've seen...they promised my mother a $300 cash back if she signed up for their service. And they promised her the cashback in a single month...it's been at most four months, and every time she calls, they'll give her the go-around....she is 82 years old and has no patience with this scam. ....she needs and can use the money

  42. Richard Burrell
    1 rating

    My request not to forward any of my emails

    Oct 19, 2022

    Everything was fine until you emailed my old account using my new email address following my request not to forward any of my emails to it because my phone was not working. The other one was Hacked, which is precisely what You did with DISH. I'm not able to believe that both of you did it.

  43. Paul Rosser
    5 rating

    Hughes Net customer service representative was very accommodating

    Oct 17, 2022

    Hughes Net customer service representative was very accommodating. I had to update my credit card details, and she could do the task promptly and professionally. It was nice talking to someone who could understand what I needed to do and did it on one phone call.

  44. Anne Marcant
    5 rating

    This service is fantastic for WIFI.

    Oct 15, 2022

    The expert tech installed the equipment. This service is fantastic for WIFI. Our mountain home was among the 12 among 400 homes to survive the Troublesome wildfire, communication is vital, and HughesNet satellite WiFi keeps us connected thanks to your service.

  45. Lisa Purdey
    1 rating

    It is the most awful company I've ever dealt with

    Oct 14, 2022

    I called around the 22nd of March because I didn't have internet. I was informed that I had exhausted all the data on my internet. I agreed to take the following plan into place. I had internet access for two days, but then it stopped altogether. My computer was broken, and so were my two tablets. The tv would be on for about an hour, and then the audio would cease for around 30 seconds. Today, I am in the process of canceling my service with HughesNet. It is the most awful company I've ever dealt with.

  46. Fran Ludford
    4 rating

    The technician resolved my issue

    Oct 13, 2022

    The technician resolved my issue; however, when I requested an appointment to connect another router, I was told I didn't need help. Then all I needed to do was touch it, and it worked. The device was connected, but it was not working. Then I stopped working with this technology. I now have to use another router for some reason, so I'm not using the other router to connect to the television.

  47. James Beer
    2 rating

    Since the installation of our satellite network

    Oct 13, 2022

    Since the installation of our satellite network, we've seen a sporadic data speed. Most of the time, it's too slow to function. When it does work, it's fantastic. When it doesn't, it's useless.

  48. Helen Hearn
    4 rating

    Internet seems to be acceptable

    Oct 11, 2022

    The Internet seems to be acceptable. But we live in the forest, and connections will not be stable for very long. Some technological advancement that could make the relationship stronger has likely been developed by now. We haven't been informed about the new technology.! An examination of the manual could be done to rectify the situation.

  49. Marta Kompinska
    3 rating

    Hughesnet technical support is trying to be very helpful

    Oct 6, 2022

    Hughesnet technical support is trying to be very helpful. In other words, they are an excellent company. However, when they run the speed test, they don't do it often enough, or at the very least, to the location I'm getting my signal. It took seven days after calling them to discuss an issue before they could identify my problem. Then I'm forced to wait another 13 days until the technology arrives.

  50. Steven Leeder
    2 rating

    I'm curious to know the reason I'm dissatisfied.

    Oct 3, 2022

    I'm curious to know the reason I'm dissatisfied. The internet is too weak to function correctly. I pay more than $100.00 monthly fee for internet. And when I access it, it's gotten slow. If a more reliable internet comes my way, I will take it.

Write a review on HughesNet

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Do you own HughesNet?

Customer reviews are a powerful tool for building trust and loyalty. Claim your profile to become a verified business owner.

About HughesNet

HughesNet Gen5 provides a variety of plans featuring high-speed speeds, built-in Wi-Fi, and no hard Data Limits so that you can access more of what you love online. It is available wherever you are today, even in areas with low or no high-speed choices.

844 737 2700
https://www.hughesnet.com
United States
139 views