Fonus Mobile

Fonus Mobile

20 Reviews
(2.3)
20 Reviews
Rating (2.3)
star
Poor!
1 Star
11
2 Star
3
3 Star
0
4 Star
1
5 Star
5

Q&A

Is Fonus Mobile legit?

Fonus Mobile has 20 reviews on 99consumer.com, with an average rating of 2.3 out of 5. This indicates that most consumers are dissatisfied with their business interactions and dealing. Therefore, caution is advised when considering purchases or engagements with the business.

How to reach Fonus Mobile customer care?

You can contact Fonus Mobile customer care via email at [email protected] or by calling them at 514-567-3469

Where is Fonus Mobile located?

Fonus Mobile is located at address United States.

20 Reviews on Fonus Mobile

  1. Russel
    1 rating

    TOTAL SCAM!! Nonexistent Service

    Dec 31, 2023

    If I could give it a rating of zero or lower, it would count as my rating. A terrible company. Lies and thieves. They haven't provided service, and they won't even offer the refund.This is a scam that has no merit. Beware of the buyer.

  2. Russel Ostroff
    1 rating

    One star is really pushing what they are actually worth giving

    Dec 28, 2023

    This company is a pure scam. The most corrupt thief out there is their founder Simon the weasel. Customer service does not exist and they are thieves. No service provided and no refund provided, instead they tried to block me from chatting with them. Scam artist at work. Beware.

  3. Ronald Beaudet
    1 rating

    Be aware

    Jul 3, 2023

    Had 2 phones with Fonus, my wife and I, had both nos ported in April/2023 to Bell...no activity until we get billed June 29th and June 30th. Fonus says I did not cancel my wife's phone and late billing because they were undergoing changes to their system. They say after porting you must cancel which I thought I did but with their only means of communicating, I can't see old conversations.

    Stay away from Fonus....had all kinds of problems when I was trying to get set up with delayed porting...took weeks to resolve and we were already in USA where I really needed the service. They blamed someone else..Not worth all the aggravation!

  4. Christopher Mccue
    2 rating

    They weren't knowledgeable

    Jun 5, 2023

    The service is okay...but the way it is presented and the benefits seem not to be as clear. It is VOIP over data services. That signifies (for iPhone users) that services such as iMessage or WhatsApp can't be utilized with Fonus. (Note that these apps can use WiFi if you alter your account's username to an email address; however, that's not working with Fonus.) This also means that messages from devices with International limitations will also be unable to get through. The Customer service is satisfactory. However, the technical assistance is mediocre. But the main reason behind two stars on the score is that they weren't knowledgeable about the technical foundations of Fonus and its limitations. Prepare to work things out yourself. Own.

  5. Geir Watland
    1 rating

    It is a disaster

    May 5, 2023

    Service has not been available for three months. They did not reinstate service completely or provide refunds or credits. Don't waste cash or time. Their reception on cell phones is horrible and insecure, and the customer service they provide, or their lack of it, is a disaster. Avoid them at all costs.

  6. Patty Englert
    5 rating

    Highly impressed

    May 2, 2023

    I just discovered Fonus and am highly impressed. What I like most about Fonus is its emphasis on simplicity and cost-effectiveness. The mobile application is exceptionally very user-friendly and straightforward to navigate. Highly highly recommended!

  7. Isabel Nowicki
    1 rating

    Worried about it

    Apr 14, 2023

    They boast that they offer 5G phones when they are there. Two of my 5G pixels are on phones. One has an H20 SIM that can use the H20 5G service and has a good signal. H20 works on an AT&T network. Another phone comes with the Fonus SIM in it. My phone cannot display an option for accessing 5G if a Fonus sim is present. I've swapped the sim cards, and now whenever I connect to the H20 SIM on my phone with Fonus sim installed, I can connect 5G. So the issue with 5G isn't due to my phone. I own that Fonus sim in. us chat blaChatthe phone and claims they cannot resolve the issue with 5G. The signal on my 4G is not good in my area. Otherwise, I'd not be worried about it. Can anyone else on the planet connect to 5G? And if you encountered the same problem, How did you resolve it?

  8. John don
    1 rating

    Scam.. still charge credit card even after port out and refuse to refund

    Mar 22, 2023

    Scam.. still charge credit card even after port out and refuse to refund. Unable to receive any message text from bank or other institutions. Unable to receive text for verification purposes. 3/4 of call drops. False advertising as data is not unlimited as advertised because they send warning email when you use 40 GB but the thing is all calls and text go through fonus apps which use a lot of data as fonus is not like traditional carrier, fonus use LTE data for calls and you will quickly reach the 40GB even if you don't stream video. Poorest customer service of all time.

  9. Rachel
    1 rating

    Scam company

    Feb 14, 2023

    Phone calls do not work, most drop after ten minutes. When they are working there is often a delay.
    Calls won’t actually come through on your device so you will miss a ton of calls.
    You will never get texts for two step authentification (like banks or resetting passwords)
    The ‘unlimited’ claim is BS, they will cancel your services if you stream videos or use apps, what they say is you can only use it for browsing web and sending messages.

    Terrible customer service. Terrible company. Total scam. Do not trust this company!!! If you do, READ ALL THE FINE PRINT!

  10. James Mcneil
    5 rating
    Jan 22, 2023

    Initially, I could not receive messages via text to one of my contacts. I'm not sure if this resulted from moving to Fonus Mobile. Other than that, everything else is fine. It's easy to change. Of course, a great price. Most likely, we'll continue the program.

  11. Nonclassical
    1 rating

    Once in there is no way out! SCAM COMPANY!

    Jan 1, 2023

    A Scam company. I have used it for 1 year.
    1-I highly suspect ( 99.9%) they sell customer information to scammers and random people would keep calling me to verify my personal info. That would happen once a month almost.
    2- The service stopped for a month and customer representatives did not even acknowledge it and would give random suggestions. After I contacted them 10th time they accepted that their service was off and noone could call me for an entire month and they did not fix it and did not care.
    3- It was impossible to port my number out. I tried 25 times almost and finally, they gave up and let me do it. Do you want proof ? Go to your account and look for your port out info and the page will give an error and you won't be able to view the port out info. It's all part of the ID and money theft plan. They won't let you go.
    4- I could not delete my account after I transferred my number and they were unresponsive to the emails. Proof? Try to go to your account and delete/cancel your account. You will see that the system won't let you do it and will direct you to an error page.
    5- To sum up. The reason this company exists is due to cartel and monopoly in mobile providers in Canada. They charge outrageous bills for mediocre services and that is why people sign up for this company. But this company provides Canadian citizens sensitive information to the hands of scammers.
    6- This company must be sued and banned in Canada. It's an illegal scam company with illegal operation practices.

    AT YOUR OWN RISK!

    1. Russel Ostroff
      Dec 28, 2023

      Please be as rude and vulgar as humanly possible with these thieves.

      Initially they refused a refund even though they never got the service working.

      I sat on the chat, and insulted them for 3 hours. They blocked me from entering the chat so I turned on my vpn and was back in touch.

      As i said, it only took 3 hours and i finally got a full refund. You just need to be persistent and aggressively rude for them to respond, and make sure you have a vpn so they cant block you.

      Good luck and dont be as stupid as i was giving these thieves money or info.

      *PS: I could never post here the kind of language that was required to get them off their asses and process the refund.

  12. Douglas pope
    1 rating

    Cannot receive calls since mid december

    Dec 26, 2022

    not happy, I cannot receive calls for weeks.

  13. Teresa
    2 rating

    Testing issues

    Dec 17, 2022

    Not a good start. Been on the focus app for less than three weeks and have had no text or calling services since Dec 10th. So far not impressed. Chat was beneficial the first few days, but now nothing, just an auto message.

    1. M Fry

      Same here!

      Dec 29, 2022

      I just realized that is the exact same time my phone stopped working! It is maddening! I will cancel. Textnow is free with 99 cent purchase of a SIM card. I can buy data doe less from then then the $30 I spent with Fonus.

  14. Kevin Eaton
    5 rating

    Highly recommended

    Nov 3, 2022

    I looked into several travel sim providers for a recent multi-month trip and decided to go with Focus. Since I was new to setting up a new service, it took me a while to get it right, and then I ran into some issues. The SIM card was delivered promptly. Bonus tech support was able to get me running in a flash. The service is performed according to the promises throughout Canada, the US, and Mexico. For a monthly cost of 30 bucks, the service for unlimited data and continuous service trulygenuinelyed me. Highly recommended, and I am planning to renew the service to travel with me.

  15. Adrienne Fearn
    4 rating

    It is very frustrating

    Nov 2, 2022

    It's been six days since I purchased and put in my chip. We've contacted them through messenger and constantly told them that we're working on it and will keep in contact via email. But no activation. When I attempt to access the system, I get a message saying there are billing issues. Contact them. It is very frustrating.

  16. Jason Butcher
    1 rating

    It is very frustrating

    Nov 2, 2022

    It's been six days since I purchased and put in my chip. We've contacted them through messenger and constantly told them that we're working on it and will keep in contact via email. But no activation. When I attempt to access the system, I get a message saying there are billing issues. Contact them. It is very frustrating.

  17. Marc Heyrmam
    2 rating

    The price, coverage, and data services are far beyond what we had hoped

    Sep 21, 2022

    After months of using and using, I am experiencing the extremes with FIS. The price, coverage, and data services are far beyond what we had hoped. However, phone calls are usually of poor quality. We have two iPhones that use these, and my wife's cell phone often goes to voicemail. Another problem is that when I attempt to connect to her phone using my phone, it appears as if there is a problem, and the call won't connect. It even got me to switch the phones to an upgrade. But no improvement. The suggested solution is to restart the phone. I'm wondering how many times per month, week, or day we'll have for this to be played to solve these technical issues. I want to see that our relationship that has been in place for over six months, Fonus, was addressed correctly!

  18. Tyrone Flowers
    5 rating

    I have been using FON in my phone for several months

    Jul 23, 2022

    I have been using FON on my phone for several months. My only issue is that it drops the majority of incoming calls. I've tried to reset the app several times according to the suggestions each time I make a complaint. However, it does not answer most calls after one phone ring, and I am required to call back. I also would like them to allow my SIM card to work on the iPad Air.

  19. Robert Uland
    5 rating

    I highly recommend Fonus Mobile

    Jul 12, 2022

    I set up my phone within 5 minutes. I now have unlimited data in Canada, the USA, and Mexico. For 30usd /month. There was a minor issue when I entered the incorrect APN. I was assisted via chat on their website within two minutes. Excellent customer service. I highly recommend Fonus Mobile.

  20. Daniel Buss
    1 rating

    Data service is good

    Jun 14, 2022

    What is the reason I haven't removed my previous comments? I continue to post reviews after removing them.

    It isn't recommended to Canadians Avoid this company. The only data service is good as it is provided via Rogers, But the Phone and Txt service is not good.

    You pay C$40+ for 20GB of data. It is impossible to receive or make calls or send text messages using their app.

    Fonus's app is rubbish. I am developing a VoIP service no for new subscribers from Canada. I've lost my subscription and do not want other people to fail. So stay away

Write a review on Fonus Mobile

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Do you own Fonus Mobile?

Customer reviews are a powerful tool for building trust and loyalty. Claim your profile to become a verified business owner.

About Fonus Mobile

Fonus Mobile offers global wireless carrier services. They provide unlimited data, calls, and texts in many countries worldwide, starting at $19.99 a month. Their plans feature no roaming or long-distance fees and support 5G speeds in selected areas. Fonus also offer physical SIM and eSIM support, visual voicemail, and Wi-Fi calling and texts.

514-567-3469
https://www.fonusmobile.com
United States
1613 views