California Rehabilitation Institute

15 Reviews

15 Reviews on California Rehabilitation Institute

  1. Cheryl Loudd
    Jan 25, 2023

    This outpatient rehab center has the most professional staff

    California Rehabilitation Institute rehab center has the most professional staff and policies designed to assist the patient. The staff is friendly and helpful and very professional. I am looking forward to my physical therapy session there, as I am just beginning.

  2. Alison Kiphut
    Jan 25, 2023

    Cannot recommend the California Rehabilitation Institute for stroke recovery

    I cannot recommend the California Rehabilitation Institute for stroke recovery, particularly for those with speech impairments. While the food is decent and the location is pleasant, my family member’s experience was far from satisfactory.

    We encountered difficulties finding a therapist who spoke our primary language and needed to threaten to create a paper trail to receive a reasonable response from our case manager. It was clear that they had initially brushed us off and expected us to forget about it.

    Additionally, we were promised a speech therapist after leaving the facility but ended up on a waiting list at Torrance Memorial without being informed. We only found out after driving there and were told that the California Rehabilitation Institute had been informed of the situation, yet our case manager did nothing to assist us.

    The first months of recovery after a stroke are crucial. I find it hard to believe that a reputable hospital like Cedar Sinai would be affiliated with such a disaster. I suggest creating a paper trail for any promises made by case managers to ensure accountability for their actions or lack thereof.

  3. Terry Edwards
    Jan 23, 2023

    If I could award California Rehab Institute 10 stars

    If I could award California Rehab Institute 10 stars, I would. I go with my mom to the clinic to receive neurological physical therapy. We’ve tried numerous others clinics within LA, but none compares to it. Our therapist Emily is a blessing. She is highly professional, thorough, and yet extremely compassionate. The exercises and therapy she gives my mom have improved her mobility and overall quality of life. The whole experience has been positive. Maureen and the others at Front have all been accommodating and extremely friendly. It’s been a pleasure to work with everyone. They even verify parking spaces. I’m unaware of any clinics that do this. I strongly would recommend California Rehab Institute. We are incredibly grateful to be off the waiting list.

  4. Mary Krause
    Jan 23, 2023

    The patient was re-admitted to the hospital as a result of poor care.

    Perhaps the hospital is excellent for the rehabilitation of patients who are otherwise young and healthier. It’s clean and sleek, but the care offered to patients with health issues requires significant improvement. However, it is not an excellent service for the elderly. The hospital is disorganized and has grown at a rapid rate. The staff doesn’t work together or is coordinated. Information is not adequately communicated between shifts, and the staff is untrained. The caseworkers aren’t professional, compassionate, or friendly. The patient was re-admitted to the hospital as a result of poor care at this hospital.

  5. Tim Bradth
    Jan 23, 2023

    A Disappointing Experience With California Rehabilitation Institute

    I cannot recommend the California Rehabilitation Institute to anyone who cares about the well-being of their loved ones. During my visit, I witnessed a woman expressing her distress to staff over someone stealing from her husband’s room. Unfortunately, this was not an isolated incident as my loved one’s gifts from family were also stolen. These security concerns, coupled with the rude and unhelpful staff, led us to take our loved one out of the facility several days early.

    Most nurses were overworked and short-tempered, and the case workers were always getting involved. One case manager was particularly unprofessional, reminding me that they had lost my loved one’s CPAP cord and that it was the end of their shift. I found the cord sitting just a few feet away from the security desk after the staff had spent an hour searching for it and calling each other back and forth. I ate to see that the patients were not being cared for properly, with some being sent back to Cedar Sinai after falling due to the staff’s lack of attention.

    Since leaving, we have been unable to reach Dr. Brenton Winship to coordinate with our primary physician to obtain the medication that my loved one requires. I urge Cedar Sinai to investigate this facility and stop recommending it to patients.

  6. Taunya Jones
    Jan 15, 2023

    The care and treatment I received at the California Rehabilitation Institute were outstanding

    The care and treatment I received at the California Rehabilitation Institute were outstanding. The 15 hours a week of occupational, physical, and speech therapy enabled me to walk, talk, and eat when I was leaving the institution. The ratio of patients to staff was so that I didn’t have to wait long for treatment. The facility was well-maintained and closely monitored. Of the many wonderfuoutstandingembers, four stood out. Doctor. Christopher Boudakian helped me reduce my anxiety by swiftly responding to my inquiries. Isabel Burrows PT provided community tools and exercises I could perform. Rosa Rodriguez, CNA, was patient and attentively attended to my requirements. Shannon helped me immensely with witimmenselyeech therapy, which allowed me to swallow my numerous pills.

  7. Jacqueline Jones
    Jan 9, 2023

    CRI was an utter disaster.

    Worst experience at California Rehabilitation Institute (CRI) for my family member’s recovery. We were disappointed with the care provided by the speech therapist, who failed to adapt the therapy to the individual patient’s needs.

    Since leaving CRI, we have found a more competent speech therapist at SBSTC in Torrance, and the difference in progress is noticeable. Furthermore, our primary physician informed us that our family member should have had physical therapy at home and speech therapy, which CRI never arranged.

    Overall, our experience at CRI was a colossal mistake, and we would not recommend the facility for stroke recovery. Cedar Sinai provided excellent care, but CRI was an utter disaster.

  8. Santo Bombaci
    Jan 1, 2023

    The place was clean, and the nurses were very friendly and helpful

    The place was clean, and the nurses were very friendly and helpful. However, the parking manager named EMERSON, does not seem to be the type of person this place requires. He charges me twice in one day for parking. To top it off the parking fee is very expensive. I had to pay for a single day of $32.00 DLLs! However, the nurses are great. This is why I gave them two stars.

  9. Lou Delisio
    Dec 25, 2022

    Clean and tidy, the nurses are extremely friendly

    Clean and tidy, the nurses are extremely friendly, and you see your Doctor frequently. On the 5th floor, I met Doctor. Turk and I found everyone there encouraging and helpful. Therapists adapted their programs to meet my particular needs and provided me with a lot of assistance—an excellent place to get urgent physical rehabilitation.

  10. Jeanette Battle
    Nov 22, 2022

    Thank you for everything

    I was in CRI, on the fourth floor. Everyone was kind to me. Dr. Cushing and his team were excellent. The nurses were all kind and extremely friendly. My PT Hannah was fantastic. She made sure I was getting stronger every day. My Case Manager Jody assisted me in getting everything I needed once I had to leave the premises. I believe it’s an excellent place to stay. Ritz of Rehabs, you get your room with a view of washrooms. Everyone is working to help make them stay comfortable. However, you must realize that this is the same as a “hospital,” and you won’t be able to enjoy that privacy. The day starts at seven every day, so it is best to rest at night If you can. It is also important to remember that you’re on intensive therapy sessions, which last for three hours every day. Your goal is to improve your health, and you must be persistent. I am grateful that I could stay here for three weeks following my surgery. Thank you for everything.

  11. Jason Terkelson
    Nov 4, 2022

    I would caution others to be careful

    I had a negative experience at a physical therapy facility after my spouse received treatment following a stroke. Upon discharge, there was no consultation with a medical doctor regarding medication, and my spouse was given a list of drugs that was not accurate. Furthermore, the medication list was sent to a pharmacy 130 miles from our home.

    As a result of these mistakes, my spouse’s test results were questioned, and all tests had to be repeated at another facility four weeks later. This caused significant delays in my spouse’s recovery process and raised concerns about the facility’s practices and staff competence.

    I would caution others to be careful when considering this facility for physical therapy to ask a lot of questions and keep a log of their experiences. I cannot recommend this facility based on my personal experience.

  12. Brian Jasko
    Oct 2, 2022

    The best experiences I had for myself and my 92-year-old mother

    The best experiences I had for myself and my 92-year-old mother. The staff of nurses, doctors, and other staff were excellent. One particular person I’d like to recognize and thank is Catie Lingelbach, our occupational therapist. She was highly attentive and accommodating with every query and even managed to venture out of the boundaries of her “territory” and help us resolve organizational issues at discharge. Her magical smile and gentle soul are striking. Catie is an exceptional person. Much gratitude from the Olshansky family

  13. Bettt Gardner
    Sep 24, 2022

    The food is the worst

    The rehab center appears to be extremely lovely. I’m in a private space, and the staff generally is pleasant and helpful. Rehabilitation therapists are top-of-the-line, but the food is the worst I’ve had. I’ll never consume what they serve me. It’s awful, and I’ll end up losing weight. Also, don’t expect issues to be resolved quickly. There have been issues with temperatures in the bathroom getting too hot to wash my hands. The soap dispenser was not working, but the only thing it needed was batteries. They called it engineering, and it didn’t come out. All the supplies are at the top of the stairs, and when required, they are moved to the second floor. It can take several hours to bring things up.

  14. Laura Moldovan
    Aug 25, 2022

    The food quality isn't excellent but treatment is awesome

    After my spinal fusion surgery, I had a truly incredible experience at California Rehabilitation Institute (CRI). I was transferred to CRI on July 21st, and from the moment I arrived, I was impressed with the compassionate care provided by all of the staff on the fourth floor.

    The hospital was clean and quiet, and the bed was comfortable. The private room was spacious and well-equipped with everything I needed for my recovery. I was visited by three remarkable doctors daily and was off all pain medication within the first week—a massive shoutout to Dr. Cushing, Dr. Kavian, and Dr. Li for their exceptional care.

    The nurses, nursing assistants, and technicians were also incredible. Nurse Nuria, Nurse Venus, Nurse Nebby, Nurse Myrna, Nurse Ruth, Nurse Manal, Nurse Jasmin, Nurse Nova, Nurse Talisa, Nurse Jacqueline, Nurse Peitra, Nurse Cheryl, Nurse Geoffrey, Nurse Cindy, CNA Javier, and other CNAs, and Technician Marcelino were all fantastic. They were all “rock stars” and deserve recognition for their dedication and care.

    I also had daily visits from dedicated physical and occupational therapists who helped me recover. Physical & Occupational Therapists Julio, Nick, Greg, Mario, Tiffany, Elizabeth, Jenna, Megan, Allison, and Kazue were all excellent, and I can’t thank them enough for their help.

    I also had a rare episode of the vestibular room spinning dizziness, addressed by the vestibular specialist Jennifer, who could diagnose and treat my issue correctly. I also want to thank the now-deceased Dr. John Epley, who invented the Epley Maneuver, which helped me recover.

    The food at CRI was decent; there were daily specials and a wide variety of options. The facilities were also great, including an excellent gym for my therapy workouts and a mock car to teach me how to get in and out of properly.

    I want to give a special thanks to Franco, who helped me pack up and wheeled me down to my ride going home.

    Overall, I highly recommend CRI as a recovery hospital for anyone needing physical therapy. The facilities are spotlessly clean, the staff is caring and dedicated, and the recovery process is truly incredible.

  15. Vittorio Grattan
    Jun 6, 2022

    The place was highly uncomfortable

    My pops were at this joint because he had a stroke. The therapy was excellent, but he wasn’t feeling the spot because it was uncomfortable. The bedding was rough and felt like it had been used a million times. Shoutout to Ken, the OT, though. He was patient with my dad.

    But the PT, I can’t even remember her name, was a real cold fish when it came to dealing with my pops. I get that patients can be a handful, but my dad looked like a homeless dude. No one was shaving him or keeping him clean. He was rockin’ the same clothes for three days straight. We offered to bring in a service animal for him, but they wouldn’t let him keep it in his room, so we had to respect the rules.

    When I reached out to the supervisor, Danielle, to inquire about all of this, she said she needed permission from someone else before getting back to me, but I never heard from her. I expected this place to be top-notch since it’s in a fancy area, but it was a significant letdown.

Write a review on California Rehabilitation Inst...

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

99Consumer for business

Customers' reviews are a great way to build trust and loyalty for your business.

About California Rehabilitation Institute

California Rehabilitation Institute offers individuals an array of outpatient services and programs. Our occupational, physical, and speech specialists offer unbeatable clinical care and evidence-based treatments. These cutting-edge programs build upon the progress made by individuals and offer a continuum of treatment and a long-term follow-up for those suffering from stroke and spinal cord injuries and brain injuries and amputations as well as neurological diseases, the orthopedic and musculoskeletal conditions.

424 522 7100
[email protected]
https://www.californiarehabinstitute.com
2070 Century Park East, Los Angeles, CA 90067, USA