Varsity Tutors

91 Reviews

91 Reviews on Varsity Tutors

  1. Farid Mahmoodi
    Jan 16, 2023

    I genuinely love it most of the time meme days

    The pay at the professional certification/licensing exam prep level is good. Students are slamming over every day. It’s your responsibility to make sure they fill up your calendar. Pay is two times a week and as consistent as clockwork. I genuinely love it most of the time meme days; the students aren’t in their best form; however, each is only temporary. Great retirement gig.

  2. Angie Barnes
    Dec 5, 2022

    This site is a rip-off

    This site is a rip-off. The tutor canceled four classes in a row without notice or email explanation. They eventually ended up canceling the entire class after a week of promising they would assign a new instructor. They gave a lovely exchange and a lot of one-on-one tutoring. They are friendly but don’t provide anything more than an apology. That’s all I’m going to say at the moment.

  3. Lesley Chandler
    Nov 28, 2022

    I'm not impressed with the tutors at varsity and would not recommend them

    I haven’t been able to locate a tutor for either of the two times I asked for, and the second evening the tutor who had been scheduled to meet at 5 pm but didn’t show up, and when I texted them, they said they could not make the time. The tutor was designed for another time but did not show up twice, even though I received an SMS stating that my lesson would start within 52 minutes. Someone was supposed to call the tutor and respond to me, but the tutor never responded; I’ve been requesting an amount of money back for the first payment, and the only thing I receive on time is a phone call to order the second installment. I’m not impressed with the tutors at varsity and would not recommend them.

  4. David Steele
    Nov 26, 2022

    The teacher is boring.

    This is the geography/culture course. The teacher is boring. It’s a children’s class. Therefore she can make it more enjoyable. It’s only an hour, and she talks and speaks in a monotone style. It’s not like what I used to.

  5. Claire Higgins
    Nov 25, 2022

    The quality of instructors/facilitators is from 0-5stars

    The quality of instructors/facilitators is from 0-5stars. In addition, many instructors only play videos on YT and not what we want for our youngsters. We loved Yeow! w/C.Peterson, Under the Sea, and Let’s get Buggy. The other videos are just a waste of time since our kids watch the same movies at their own pace.

  6. Danielle Williamson
    Nov 21, 2022

    Do not bother with this business

    Do not bother with this business if you’re looking for GRE preparation. I stayed on track by working with one of their instructors each week before my test. My quantitative score decreased from the first time I took the test.

  7. Sue Downie
    Nov 19, 2022

    Tutor Tugba is extremely punctual

    Tutor Tugba is highly punctual, even though she is in a different area from me. she developed a relationship with Sylvia and has maintained it till the present. She also appropriately uses various methods of teaching. The most important thing is that Slyvia loves her teaching style and is enthusiastic about it.

  8. Roger Bellis
    Nov 18, 2022

    both were both unprofessional

    I’ll spend two hours searching for the right tutor using instant tutoring, and when I do find one, they cannot solve any of the issues. I’ve had two tutors in person, and both were both unprofessional.

  9. Michael Pope
    Nov 10, 2022

    We didn't expect much from statistics

    We didn’t expect much from statistics. The presenter asked us what we would like to know… He said we needed to present our requirements for statistics. We gave him our information, but he was unsure what he could do to help us. He spoke more about machine learning. We were particularly interested in the statistics of supply chain and material management.

  10. Stephen Williams
    Oct 18, 2022

    The tutor is fantastic, but the company is irritating for 1200 for 24 hours

    The tutor is fantastic, but the company is irritating for 1200 for 24 hours. They cannot schedule Mondays and Fridays for the teacher as they claimed they would do when I signed up. So for the past 2 Fridays, we’ve been waiting for the tutor to show up on time because the lady has dropped the ball. This is frustrating because I realize that you have to pay 1200 for the tutor, and then you do it yourself. After these hours, I’ll look for a new firm that is less trouble.

  11. Natasha Bloomfield
    Oct 17, 2022

    There is a massive distinction between paid programs and free

    There is a massive distinction between paid programs and free. In the first lesson, it was fantastic, and he loved it. The instructor had to test and develop something because he could not demonstrate to the screen that he was working on Fundamentals. My son is high functioning autistic and had a hard time keeping up.

  12. Nick Allcock
    Oct 15, 2022

    We were very disappointed

    One of the appealing aspects I was attracted to was the possibility of using the time with any of my children on various topics. We were very disappointed when we discovered that the hours we bought expired before we could use the entire amount. Be aware of the small print. There was no mention that they were due to expire. It’s disappointing, to say the least, to have to forfeit several hundred dollars worth of credit due to the tiny print.

  13. Joseph Riddlemoor
    Oct 11, 2022

    I'm constantly trying to pronounce words, which is difficult for me to read often.

    The thing is, I was to take a test as part of my job, and I’m not great at reading, so I asked for a tutor to assist me with homework and studying for the test. I’m sure we didn’t have as many hours, but what we did was stulookr the test. She attempted to make me go through the book, and afterward, I would be asked questions. Still, it took me a long time to read a single page since I was having trouble reading, which is why I failed the test for my job because I’m plodding in reading, as I’m constantly trying to pronounce words, which is difficult for me to read often.

  14. Mike Liddell
    Oct 9, 2022

    The course was not as you expected

    The course was not as you expected. There were no strategies implemented. The tutor asked questions and did not know the answer or otherwise. One-to-one tutors are charged for classes that were not taught.

  15. Deborah Chalmers
    Oct 7, 2022

    had a varsity tutor guide me

    I had a tutor from varsity help me with various chemical assignments throughout the course in a word-for-word manner, and I ended up with an average of 65.6 percent, 88.5%, 83.8 percent, and 59.4 percent. Not worth the money that I spent.

  16. Helen Leach
    Oct 6, 2022

    This was a pity and unprofessional.

    Two classes, in the beginning, were canceled without prior notice. I was required to call to inquire about the reason for being late by 20 minutes. I was told I’d be reimbursed for the delay, but this isn’t why. I would’ve liked to have been informed before the start of class time. This was a pity and unprofessional.

  17. Daniel Gooding
    Oct 4, 2022

    I wouldn't suggest this to anyone. This needs to be changed.

    The classes were entertaining and educational, however, when I registered for a small group class, I requested a change of time, but they switched it to a ridiculous time at the beginning of the day. After we contacted them, they took three days to put me back on the path. I was charged $430 for the 28 hours of instruction! This is OUTRAGEOUS! I’m shocked! When we tried calling customer service, none of our calls were returned! THEY NEED MORE WORKERS! MY MOM PAID $430 FOR NOTHING! I wouldn’t suggest this to anyone. This needs to be changed.

  18. Hollie Baker
    Oct 2, 2022

    It wasnenjoyableant and didn't inspire me to buy any further service.

    I tried a free summer camp for Minecraft. You get what you get because it was a complete disaster. The first day was a total loss – three nine-year-olds sat in a classroom and ended up playing Minecraft that they knew because they were instructed by an “instructor” who barely said anything throughout the entire time and was helping those who could not download the game. The class ended up being “canceled” on the second day. There was no communication, and there were no instructions. It wasnenjoyableant and didn’t inspire me to buy any further service.

  19. Gillian Swancott
    Oct 1, 2022

    A bad experience

    A bad experience from the beginning until the end. The first tutor was great until she decided not to attend additional sessions. It wasn’t easy to communicate with the same person at the office twice to determine the new tutor. Two tutors were also recommended, but neither worked because of the lack of communication. I would not recommend them.

  20. Chris Longley
    Sep 27, 2022

    thoroughly disappointed

    After their sales team’s long and arduous selling pitch, I decided to go for 9 hours of tuition for my 7-year-old. I’ve scheduled three sessions with three tutors, and none of them could show up. My son of mine has been on the internet, enthusiastic, only to be thoroughly disappointed. THREE TIMES.

  21. Agnieszka Charzewska
    Sep 25, 2022

    This company ought to be ashamed of itself.

    I paid for six months of tutoring. We completed a few sessions, but the tutor vanished and didn’t respond. I contacted customer service, and they said they’d ask our account manager and the regional director to contact us. We never received any information. I called again and was told an individual who could approve an authorization for a refund would contact us within the next 48 hours. We never were there any communication. We paid $1600 for professional tutors who could assist our child with learning differences. Not only did she not get this, but she was now forced to start over with a different tutor. This company ought to be ashamed of itself.

  22. Carryl Petrie
    Sep 24, 2022

    This is an enigma

    This is an enigma. They charge you a great deal of money for poor tutors. They will take your money and then sell the subscription to you and won’t even be able to agree to cancel it. It is a scam. Please do not fall for it.

  23. Sandy Robertson
    Sep 22, 2022

    I'm waiting to receive a payment...

    The beginning of the session is an aggressive sales pitch to get clients to accept the $1200 price, and after I’ve signed up that I would pay $112.00 for a 90-minute session, I receive an email in the evening before the session has been canceled. I am responsible for contacting them to arrange a new date. I’m waiting to receive a payment…

  24. Pete Griffin
    Sep 21, 2022

    It's an issue with the tutors on VT, as they cannot understand.

    I am a senior in college and take several higher levels of engineering classes with a reputation for failing students. Unfortunately, I cannot get back the hours I purchased. I’ve had five tutors and have not had a single session with one of them. This is because despite mentioning my class and the materials I’m using with it, tutors think of a different way to earn quick money and do not examine the subject until after the date. They then leave, declaring that they don’t have the knowledge to teach it, thus wasting my time and my dollars. It’s not an issue with the platform. It’s an issue with the tutors on VT, as they cannot understand.

  25. Grant Williamson
    Sep 20, 2022

    They don't do background checks on the tutors.

    They don’t do background checks on the tutors. They’re not telling the truth about their professions in their bios. I did a quick Google search on a tutor who claimed they were retired doctors. However, she was only in medical school and didn’t do anything in connection with it.

  26. William Slade
    Sep 19, 2022

    Our Varsity tutor and set up times to accommodate the tutor

    Our Varsity tutor and set up times to accommodate the tutor. The tutor arrived for three sessions but didn’t attend the rest times scheduled. My son failed his final class in his senior year at college, so Varsity Tutor offered to give him credit so that they could help him in the following semester… I’m not saying. I am in contact on behalf of my company, which handles credit cards, to obtain an entire refund. THANK you.

  27. Timothy Peake
    Sep 16, 2022

    We need better customer service.

    Continue to wait until 1 pm PDT. No host is available to call. There is no way to contact customer service to determine when the class is modified or canceled. We are heartbroken since we were trying to find this class. We need better customer service.

  28. Michelle Green
    Sep 15, 2022

    This isn't very pleasant!

    The first lesson devoted 30 minutes to downloading and uploading documents. We were told this process would be fast by holding the paper and the instructor snapping photos (it should take a few seconds). The last three sessions have been harsh. Today, our son was sitting for 20 minutes, despite the time allotted for the tutor. The instructor sends an email to inform him that he’s good. This is fine. However, it could have been discovered earlier. The week before, the tutor gives a cancellation notice minutes before the session without explanation. In the session before thabeforeis absent from the room, only to return thirty minutes later, like nothing occurred, with no reason. The sessions happened in the evening before the math test was scheduled. This isn’t very pleasant! !.

  29. Amanda Sheppard
    Sep 14, 2022

    extremely inexperienced

    The topics sound interesting. However, the classes we attended were led by inexperienced, young instructors. Many did not even display their faces—a boring format for young children in the 1st grade.

  30. Angie Matthews
    Sep 13, 2022

    Varsity tutors do their job in a non-exceptional manner

    My tutor was exceptional; however, finding her and learning that the credit was scheduled to “expire” after I pre-paid is genuinely awe-inspiring. Varsity tutors do their job in a non-exceptional manner; however, they can accomplish the task.

  31. Christine Carnie
    Sep 9, 2022

    This was the biggest cost in my life and time.

    This was the highest cost in my life and time. It is not appropriate to call themselves professional tutors if they’re not proficient in the subject in which you work with them and are not trained to help. My tutor couldn’t assist me with my homework in any way; he was able to tell me nothing about solving my math problems the way I knew. I’ve never been more dissatisfied or angry. I would advise against buying packages before you are sure if they will help you, as the only thing they did for me was spend my time and take my money.

  32. Karen Collier
    Sep 6, 2022

    Fired my tutor by accident by sending the wrong email

    My tutor accidentally fired me through an error in the email and didn’t even apologize to my teacher. Said it was a “misunderstanding”.”The email stated that I had fired heart from reaching me. They indicated they had approached me to increase my hours but didn’t. The only thing they could have done was to put me up with a tutor who is an absolute genius. It was a massive waste of money.

  33. Emma Christian
    Sep 5, 2022

    When it was time to start our session the first time

    When it was time to start our session the first time, the tutor complained that he needed more money because there were two children. Then, when it was time for our session, He was angry that I had paid $80.00 and he just paid $13.00 and declared it McDonald’s salary! Around noon, the tutor and I had a long conversation regarding the game’s goals and the game plans for both children.

  34. Debbie Beale
    Sep 3, 2022

    The most horrible experience

    The most horrible experience I’ve ever had. It was my daughter’s first experience with any education. In the end, she was crying every day in a one on one time with these women. This was something I was not told about. I was able to talk with four tutors. Each of them was not professional; they didn’t know that as a tutor, you aren’t supposed to behave like my child’s physiologist or therapist. They shared their opinions about my child’s education and why they thought she’d be at school after just one period in my home with me. I was treated poorly as an adult. I am absgusted.

  35. Christelle Cockin
    Sep 1, 2022

    I was fascinated by the varsity tutors

    I was fascinated by the varsity tutors, but when I tried to sign up for Biology Boot Camp’s webinar, the date I was signed up for but the session never began, and neither did the. It’s not magic; Science class that didn’t get a place! I should have known that this free online course is not as good as it sounds; therefore, I’m hoping the next class will be better for me.

  36. Auria Roberts
    Aug 31, 2022

    A fantastic professional tutor

    A fantastic professional tutor adapted to my needs and learning style—an excellent instructor for the five-week course. I was able to get plenty of instruction and practice and also advice on an ongoing study plan each week before the date of my test.

  37. Caitlin Jones
    Aug 31, 2022

    She's very skilled and professional

    Our daughter’s tutor is highly engaging, helpful, and efficient! She’s very skilled and professional. She incorporates our daughter’s interests into the subjects she teaches. Our daughter comes out of the lessons with a greater sense of confidence. We’re incredibly grateful for the gains she’s made.

  38. Lulian
    Aug 31, 2022

    fantastic tutors!

    My twins used Varsity Tutors for test prep. Aaron, along with Guillermo, were fantastic tutors! Guillermo helped my son with his homework for a short period, and his score grew by about 200 points! It could take some while to determine the best for you, but once you’ve found it, this is worth it!

  39. Leo A Methe
    Aug 27, 2022

    I am thrilled by the improvements

    I am thrilled by the improvements my child has experienced over the past four months in working with his tutor at varsity. He is a good friend to her and is enjoying each session. In November, he was four letters below his reading level, and at the Spring conference, in March, he had gained ground and was just one letter behind the reading level. He’s confident about his math abilities and said to me that he’s looking forward to the tests that will be standardized and scheduled for this week. I couldn’t get more from him.

  40. Danielle Morgan
    Aug 26, 2022

    the customer service to be excellent

    I have been tutored by three Varsity Tutors who have guided my two boys. The tutors all were great. They assisted my children very extensively in learning and comprehending their work. They were friendly and proficient in working with children. I have also found the personnel in customer service to be extremely accommodating, knowledgeable, and pleasant. Overall I have observed the customer service to be excellent. Service.

  41. Leslie B. Keener
    Aug 25, 2022

    The app is a simple and user-friendly application that's amazing

    Varsity tutors have exceeded my expectations. They were efficient in assisting my son’s instructor. It was an ideal match. I’m confident that I have the option of changing or adding sessions that has a different tutor should the need arises. The app is a simple and user-friendly application that’s amazing.

  42. David Thompson
    Aug 22, 2022

    I would have liked to have started with Varsity Tutors earlier in my semester

    I would have liked to have started with Varsity Tutors earlier in my semester. I had a difficult time with my tax course until the mid-term break and sought feedback and help from my professor a few times but without success. I researched tutoring services then Varsity Tutors reached out to me straight away. I was assigned an instructor in just a few days and began relearning the material. As I approached the final exam course, it made much more sense than when I started.

  43. Yohannes Yilma
    Aug 20, 2022

    Varsity tutors have been a excellent opportunity for our students!

    Varsity tutors have been an excellent opportunity for our students! I contacted them to request a math tutor and promptly received a call from them. Within two hours, we were assigned an instructor. Jide came to us the following day to gather details about my son’s background. He began working with him in the week, and it’s been going very well. He has not only helped with understanding and problem-solving but also the confidence of my child. Great job!

  44. Alan Corso
    Aug 19, 2022

    I am very satisfied

    I am delighted with Varsity Tutors, their service, and tutors. I’m forced to end my tutoring sessions at the moment, but when I need to tutor, I contact them for my tutoring requirements.

  45. Justin Yglesias
    Aug 18, 2022

    I consulted Varsity Tutors for help in my college BioStatistic course

    I consulted Varsity Tutors for help in my college BioStatistic course. The course was very challenging, and since it was a requirement to fulfill the major I chose, I had to pass not only the system but also get an impressive grade. I completed the course and got an outstanding quality. But, I would be unable to reach either of these goals without Varsity tutors. My tutor and I reviewed the class each week and added any additional days I needed further assistance. I cannot express enough praise for my tutoring experience and my tutor!!

  46. Edward Klinovski
    Aug 15, 2022

    Guillermo were excellent tutors!

    My twins and I both utilized Varsity Tutors for test prep. Aaron, as well as Guillermo were excellent tutors! Guillermo helped my son with his homework for a couple of weeks, and his score was up by around 200 points! It could take a while to determine the perfect match; however, once you’ve found the right one, it’s worth it!

  47. Lisa A Cannon
    Aug 13, 2022

    I would highly recommend Varsity tutors

    The stress I experienced during exam time was so severe that I would draw a blank. I would highly recommend Varsity tutors, especially my tutor Benjamin Kaufman has done an outstanding job of helping me to bring my confidence levels up. Thanks to his knowledge, I am confident I’m headed towards the success I’ve always wanted. I’m hoping to have assistance from him even during my summer vacation.

  48. Debbie Gregor
    Aug 12, 2022

    My tutors are highly professional

    I chose to take an expert tutor from University tutors. I wasn’t expecting anything, but I was amazed when they assessed how I learn best and attempted to discover the strengths and weaknesses of my learning to match me with the right tutor. My tutors are highly professional, and I’m thrilled they successfully met my expectations.

  49. Joshua Shore
    Aug 12, 2022

    We are extremely grateful

    I am happy with our decision to let Varsity Tutoring help prepare for the SATs. We are incredibly grateful to Emily for her ongoing support, skill, and patience while teaching my daughter to prepare for SATs. I have noticed a boost in my child’s self-confidence and ability to communicate clearly and understand her difficulties. Emily also provides excellent, thorough feedback at the end of each session that can help assess my daughter’s progress.

  50. Alexis Pereira
    Aug 9, 2022

    more understanding of how the program operates

    I recently began a new job, and they’re using Autodesk Inventor. I’d never even heard of it before and soon realized I had to understand how it works. My teacher, Milan, was able to help me to gain more understanding of how the program operates.

  51. Wayne Gilliam
    Aug 7, 2022

    We are thrilled!

    Jessica has tutored my son since the beginning of the second quarter, and the results have been awe-inspiring. He scored an A C before training and is now achieving 90 marks on all his tests. We are thrilled!

  52. Edward Baumgartner
    Aug 5, 2022

    The Dr. Barbara Cooke has been an outstanding writing

    Dr. Barbara Cooke has been an outstanding writing tutor for graduate-level work. She brings humor and warmth to the daunting report very high degree. I strongly suggest her for students who require more writing expertise or need to improve their writing while preparing for graduate studies.

  53. Carolyn White
    Aug 4, 2022

    We were initially skeptical

    We’ve been using Varsity tutors for about three years at this point. Our son needed assistance in math, and the tutor informed us, after assessing his capabilities and abilities, that she believed the student should be able to achieve “A”s with just a bit of help. We were initially skeptical. However, sure enough, within two months, his scores had increased to the point that he was receiving “A”s. He continues to consult his tutor whenever he comes across areas that are difficult for him.

  54. Kimberly D. Stefancik
    Aug 2, 2022

    I would highly recommend

    The stress I felt on test days was so severe that I was prone to drawing a blank. I would highly recommend Varsity tutors, especially my tutor Benjamin Kaufman has done an outstanding job of helping me to bring my confidence up. Thanks to his knowledge, I’m confident I’m headed towards successful results. I’m planning to seek his assistance even during my summer vacation.

  55. John Yenges
    Jul 27, 2022

    They genuinely worry about your academic goals

    I contacted Varsity Tours to add structure to my goal of becoming proficient in my German language. I’m estimating I’m 60% skilled in my dream, but I’m still unable to organize my goals into goals and then frame these goals into a strategy of action. Varsity Tours provides that structure to help me formulate my plan of action. They have great educational advisors who are concerned about your needs. They genuinely worry about your academic goals and speak to you as if they were a friend via phone.

  56. Clifford Beveridge
    Jul 26, 2022

    Varsity Tutors have been a significant source of help

    Varsity Tutors have been a significant source of help in my son’s life. He has had the opportunity to work with various tutors in his time in the academic assistance program. Their support during college helped keep him focused during the numerous times that where he felt overwhelmed. For someone who has disabilities, Varsity Tutors continue to stimulate his development as an intellectual. In adulthood, he hopes to become an author, always striving to improve and enhance his writing.

  57. Thomas Neville
    Jul 21, 2022

    I'm extremely happy

    I’m thrilled with my teacher, Ashley. She has helped me stay focused and helped me with my study. She has given me suggestions for remembering information and has broken down complicated issues to make them accessible. I am more confident in my preparedness than when I did it alone.

  58. Latifa Lewis
    Jul 18, 2022

    It was beneficial to go over the test

    It was beneficial to go over the test and give suggestions for making the right choice. Also, there was more information in the questions. New theories were introduced and suggested studying for the following session.

  59. Brad Kearney
    Jul 16, 2022

    It wouldn't have been possible without him

    Mr. Seifert had done an incredible job when it came to breaking down concepts and encouraging me as a student to master the concepts quickly. I needed help in a few areas, and he promptly honed the areas of concern. It wouldn’t have been possible without him.

  60. Adrienne Barge
    Jul 11, 2022

    extremely pleased with our tutor

    We had a lot of difficulties finding a tutor suitable to our needs, and when we found one, we felt she was a GO-TO! We have been extremely pleased with our tutor and feel she has been awe-inspiring in her interactions with our kids.

  61. Barsha Little
    Jul 8, 2022

    the grade level and even higher

    Thomas Schlauch has been working with Jacob for five weeks. His methods of teaching work with Jacob. He is eager for each session and hopes to be excited to return to math as school begins. He’s on the East coast now, and I believe that Thomas will be able to keep bringing Jacob to the grade level and even higher.

  62. Derek Owen
    Jun 4, 2022

    They were extremely quick

    They were swift to get the sum of $1600+ from me. I was promised tutoring for 24hrs before taking my exam. It was a few weeks; the exams were coming up… There was no tutor. Following that, I was promised the services of an outside teacher. This never came to pass. In the end, I alleged they had scammed me and got the money I had paid back. I passed my test without them. It’s possible that they won’t even take your money until you’re ready to start!

  63. Gezim Marinaj
    Jun 1, 2022

    They will call you a lot and will never get your bank statements right

    I was informed that I could receive my money back if I did not achieve the score I set to perform. Ensure you read the fine print in the agreement regarding getting the money back. They will call you often and never get your bank statements right.

  64. Kristen Brooks
    May 28, 2022

    I was also disappointed

    The experience I had working with Varsity Tutors was excellent! However, I was dissatisfied that they didn’t permit me to participate in an online meeting—a zoom conference. I was able only to watch the meeting live! (A course taken from Coyote Peterson). Yes, it allowed me to talk (ask the questions I had) and respond to the tutor’s questions using the available options. Overall.. I’ll give it three stars. I was also disappointed that even though I checked the “Remember me” box, it didn’t work.

  65. Craig Birch
    May 28, 2022

    My daughter had a great time and has improved!

    My daughter had a great time and has improved! The office must improve subscriptions. They often attempt to charge more than they do because their tutors have more time than they are allotted. Needs to improve communication with their tutors and staff to serve their customers better! I am pretty disappointed with the customer service we’ve received regarding billing! Every time you call, you never connect to the billing person.

  66. Brian Jackson
    May 27, 2022

    Middle ground

    I’ve been working for the company for around one year. My first tutors were dull and disinterested, making me feel uneasy about asking questions and understanding the subject matter. In one instance, I had an instructor waste my entire hour because of her family. Don’t be misled; I do not have any responsibility for her. The two tutors I have had were exceptional! They helped me get better at the college application after three months of being stuck, and it came out better than I expected! However, I didn’t acquire the information I needed to know…

  67. Wendy Rogers
    May 25, 2022

    Overall, the staff is friendly and welcoming.

    Varsity tutors are great for specific topics or tutoring needs in the grade or high school. However, when it comes to extensive standardized tests, it is best to start learning on your own or taking a preparation training course focused on the test you have been preparing for. However, this is a great alternative when you’re working on a standard Izard test and require individual assistance. The available MCAT study materials are not as good as the MCAT, yet they can assist with basic information. Overall, the staff is friendly and welcoming.

  68. Maria Swaby
    May 24, 2022

    I was constantly delayed

    Unfortunately, the tutoring did not succeed. I was constantly delayed. My tutor quit, and my tutor only got one hour of tutoring time for my son. The tutoring fees were incurred for the hours of days without tutoring. The hour I was given was fantastic. However, the lack of reliability was not ideal.

  69. Carl Johan
    May 23, 2022

    I missed his call or didn't call the day the man said

    I am delighted with the choice of tutors and the high quality of the instructor. The company I am with appears to be a little aggressive. Additionally, I was informed that there would be a rise and the gentleman told me he’d call to confirm. I missed his call or didn’t call the day the man said. I believe Varsity Tutor is about the same as other businesses. It is the tutor that makes the business superior to other companies. In that regard, I am happy that I went with Varsity Tutors.

  70. Stuart Wilson
    May 22, 2022

    horrible experience

    It’s been a horrible experience using the program. The first Tutor didn’t show up for sessions. The second Tutor has canceled two sessions at the last minute and hasn’t contacted me in more than one week to change the schedule. Also, she didn’t know the best way to instruct a three-year-old, as she kept writing the words in Spanish, but my daughter hadn’t learned how to read. The new Tutor was forced to stop our third lesson, so there are a couple more weeks between sessions. We’ve only been in this for two months but have already missed a whole month of sessions.

  71. William Benson
    May 21, 2022

    Overall, it was a decent experience

    I’ve had some terrible tutors as well as some great ones. I’m not a fan of the frequency with which they call me and request that I read their work, but since my time is up, I’ll write an assessment… I had a great in-person Spanish tutor, but most of my tutors could not assist me; they just made me feel more confused… The tutors online were generally beneficial and helped me with my homework and other things. Overall, it was a decent experience, but I’m not sure I’ll get additional hours.

  72. Tracie East
    May 20, 2022

    I signed up for 32 hours of SAT training for my son

    I signed up for 32 hours of SAT training for my son. They offered a 100 percent money-back assurance if the son’s SAT score didn’t improve. The tutor worked for only 22 hours with my son before the SAT. My son’s score did not increase, and I’ve had to call Varsity Tutors multiple times for my money back; they tell me that I’m not eligible for refunds because their tutor did not complete the 32 hours I bought. Really!

  73. Paulina Mania
    May 19, 2022

    Privacy concerns

    My main concern is the fact that other students can watch every camera of a student, so you will see parents sneaking in, moms often leaning against their children’s backs with their shirts hanging down to expose themselves without knowing as it is free and . Everyoneble to join the group, what is stopping predators from joining in and exposing themselves. It is imperative to ensure that only teachers can view the students who are too dangerous, I cannot allow my child to do it on their own because I am not sure what they might see when an unintentional person appears on the video.

  74. Linsey Jones
    May 18, 2022

    Terrible Experience

    I needed help urgently. The phone was not answered, and when I rang, I was told I’d be contacted. There was no response, so I called and was transferred to the department for international. When I finally got through, they had left for the day and did the office, which I had to call back. So I tried another one—terrible Experience.

  75. Ryan Williams
    May 18, 2022

    answering practice questions

    The tutor provided excellent support and was a great help for practice questions, test-taking strategies, and other things. The only thing I didn’t like was the lack of a brief review of content before answering practice questions.

    Even though you may have completed as many practice questions as possible, if the content material is not clear to you, they won’t be of much help.

    I found one-on-one tutoring to be a great way to learn and was more beneficial than anything. It was being able. To talk to the tutor and ask any questions was a huge plus. It was a great experience all around. It was an excellent match for my learning style.

  76. Libby Davies
    May 17, 2022

    Several classes my children are taking don't align

    The classes my kids are in don’t match the descriptions of the types. Intro to Medicine was more about taking exams and SAT preparation. Creative Writing has been written in a narrative style, Pre-algebra has only covered one formula, and my daughter is very bored.

  77. Mick Rickards
    May 17, 2022

    not an enjoyable experience

    If you visit this site, what you see is exactly what you will receive. With that said, If you schedule a meeting with a tutor but the first couple of minutes of the sessions are unprofessional or not what you planned, take note of it and send a message to your tutor. The manner of the tutor will not change, and if they’re similar, even after having a conversation with them, you can alter your schedule and your tutor without penalty. I did that with my initial tutor, which was not an enjoyable experience. However, my next tutor was utterly different, and everything ran smoothly.

  78. Christine Kelly
    May 16, 2022

    SHADY!

    Student at a college with ADHD and problems with math. When I asked about financial aid, she entered into a lengthy discussion, telling me there’s an aid section for financial needs on their website that can help with this issue. She told me applicants are given 50-75 percent of tutoring costs. I couldn’t find anything on the site, so I emailed them and was informed in the reply that they did not provide any help. SHADY! I was deceived as a way to get my credit card information completed.

  79. Justine Edgerton
    May 13, 2022

    He was slightly disappointed

    The lesson we learned from our math tutor was a pleasant one. He was slightly disappointed that he had to retire to pursue a different career route. The new tutor appears to be working very well. My son has had only just a few sessions. The ELA tutor we started with was unsatisfactory. After just a couple of sessions and my son was enjoying their time together, he vanished! He didn’t return messages or calls. We’re working with an upcoming ELA tutor, and everything is going smoothly. My son appears to be doing great. I am yet to observe the effects of his consistent tutors in our brief time with them. It will be interesting to see. We will take on Varsity Tutors to maintain a consistent approach and see improvement in our son’s academic achievements.

  80. Sarah Marks
    May 12, 2022

    A huge expense and a complete waste of money

    A considerable expense and a complete waste of money. We had several tutors, but none of them was effective or professional. They didn’t always know the subject. This is a scam.

  81. Debbie Norton
    May 10, 2022

    I can't recommend this business

    I can’t recommend this business. They don’t care if they are getting value for your money. They’re just looking for your money. I have signed my daughter up for AP Chemistry tutoring. It took two weeks to find the initial tutor who wasn’t up to the task. She was very talkative but wouldn’t allow my daughter to ask her questions. She even yelled at my daughter as she tried asking questions. It took the company nearly two weeks to locate another tutor, who gave one lesson and went out of town for one week. My daughter was done with the company, but the thirty-day guarantee had expired. What is the point of a 30-day guarantee if it takes more than 30 days before they can find an instructor willing to work with you? We paid for 22 hours. Of tutoring, we received two. The money went down the drain. Beware of this business.

  82. Linda Whitehead
    May 9, 2022

    they weren't necessarily acquainted

    Varsity tutors have been intelligent tutors; however, they weren’t necessarily acquainted with the national curriculum for the subject I requested. Our current tutor appears to be slightly more knowledgeable on Regent’s particular strategies and contents.

  83. Digby Owen
    May 8, 2022

    Beware of them

    They canceled a tutoring session with sufficient notice given, and I am still waiting to get my refund. Beware of them at all costs since you won’t return your money once they take it.

  84. Ethan Smith
    May 7, 2022

    He had no idea about the exam

    When I received the message offering me Varsity Tutors, they informed me that I would be given a tutor who was a specialist in the CELPIP exam. He had no idea about the exam. He assisted me in English and grammar however it wasn’t what I expected.

  85. Philip Vohmann
    May 6, 2022

    The result was not the score I was looking for

    At first, I was under the impression that if I didn’t achieve a higher score and scored one point more, I’d get a refund of my funds. The result was not the score I was looking for, and I did not make any progress, so I am now trying to get my money back, and they are refusing to return my money. They won’t accept responsibility for their errors in discussing the alternatives with me. Although they won’t return my money, I am forced to contact the program’s phone number. They also won’t give me the number of a manager’s call, which is very annoying and non-professional. I should have read the reviews and what other customers had to say about them before deciding to give them an opportunity.

  86. Mark Jeynes
    May 5, 2022

    I am awestruck by the range of courses for free

    I am amazed by the range of courses for free. The majority of classes have been good. However, the language courses offered by free programs aren’t my favorite. The instructors do not give the student anything to aid them in speaking the language.

  87. James Cook
    May 4, 2022

    It took me 2.5hr to talk to someone regarding tutoring services

    It took me 2.5hr to talk to someone regarding tutoring services. They would call me and then end the call. Then, I would receive an email about a suitable time to call, and I would reply with “now” and still not receive a phone call.

  88. Cliff Robertson
    May 3, 2022

    the internet connection was poor and was a waste of time

    The tutors were excellent. However, they must devise a way to make the experience more enjoyable or thrilling. The internet connection was poor and was a waste of time, even with a perfect internet connection

  89. Emma Lindley
    May 2, 2022

    Horrible experience

    Horrible experience. We were promised quick and efficient instruction for our son’s math class in grade 12. The first session took 1.5 weeks to arrange (instead of the three days promised during the extremely smooth beginning “sales” call). The tutor did not show up and then canceled the appointment at the last minute. It’s been two weeks, and we’re still waiting for scheduled tutoring sessions. It’s been three days since an account manager was supposed to call me (again, I was promised that someone would call me on the same day), but no one has contacted me for three days! This place is an untruth to me.

  90. Penny Green
    May 1, 2022

    Varsity Tutors immediately remedied the problem

    The experience started rough because the tutor we had been assigned was not a “no-show.” Varsity Tutors immediately remedied the problem by locating a replacement who was a perfect match for us.

  91. Anonymous
    Apr 28, 2022

    I am very pleased with the progress

    My son’s progress with his tutor has been remarkable. He enjoys each session and has made connections with her. He was reading at four letters below his reading level in November.

    By March, he had caught up to his reading level and was reading at only one letter. He is confident in his math skills and told me today that he is excited for the standardized exams that will be taking place this week. I couldn’t ask for more.

Write a review on Varsity Tutors

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

99Consumer for business

Customers' reviews are a great way to build trust and loyalty for your business.

About Varsity Tutors

Varsity Tutors, an innovative technology company in education, is changing how professionals and students learn. Our digital platforms allow us to connect individuals to the best professionals and personal instruction. We are focused on each individual's needs.

(888) 888-0446
[email protected]
https://www.varsitytutors.com
101 S Hanley Rd, Clayton, St. Louis, MO 63105, United States