Varsity Tutors

Varsity Tutors

128 Reviews
(3.1)
128 Reviews
Rating (3.1)
star
1 Star
38
2 Star
16
3 Star
18
4 Star
9
5 Star
47

Q&A

Is Varsity Tutors legit?

Varsity Tutors has 128 reviews on 99consumer.com, with an average rating of 3.1 out of 5. This indicates that most consumers are satisfied with their business interactions and dealing. Therefore, feel free considering purchases or engagements with the business.

How to reach Varsity Tutors customer care?

You can contact Varsity Tutors customer care via email at [email protected] or by calling them at (888) 888-0446

Where is Varsity Tutors located?

Varsity Tutors is located at address 101 S Hanley Rd, Clayton, St. Louis, MO 63105, United States.

128 Reviews on Varsity Tutors

  1. Jennifer Lang
    1 rating

    From the Tutor Side

    Feb 1, 2024

    Never work for these places. They want to use you and pay you trash money for your accomplishments. I have a PhD and they are offering me 13 bucks an hour. Work for Kaplan, or better yet, invest some time into freelance tutoring. This is just another company abusing the capitalist gig economy of education and devaluing the work of teachers. I would rather work at McDonalds.

    Not only this, but they don't seem to screen for education or knowledge. It seems like I could teach advanced coding of which I have moderate knowledge of, and it could go terribly wrong. I could also teach languages and technical/business writing and be screwed over with the most awful wages. No thanks!

  2. Wendy Benemerito
    1 rating

    Unpleasant Tutoring Experience

    Nov 14, 2023

    I recently had a frustrating experience with Varsity Tutors. Initially, I paid $348 for their services, but unfortunately, I wasn't satisfied with the tutors they provided. To my dismay, the company automatically deducted another $348 from my account without obtaining my authorization. To rectify the situation, I promptly called their customer service, only to be met with resistance as they refused to process a refund.

    Feeling cornered, I decided to cancel my membership altogether. Subsequently, I reached out to my bank to dispute the unauthorized charge. This incident has taught me the importance of thoroughly reviewing the fine print before committing to any membership, as it can save you from unexpected and unwarranted financial hassles.

  3. Cheryl LaClair
    1 rating

    Number was wholly unhelpful

    Jun 10, 2023

    The teacher for my son's calculus class was good. The problem is that you have to give them your credit card. They'll put your credit card "on hold" but never shut down the account. I needed to issue a new cc to avoid being added to the monthly charges. Be aware and vigilant, as they'll try to fool you. The person on the 888-888-581 number was wholly unhelpful and could not transfer my call to any other person for assistance. BEWARE THIS COMPANY

  4. Bobbi Davis
    2 rating

    It took a long time

    May 20, 2023

    One thing to note is that the staff rotates constantly and is challenging to communicate with. It took a long time to convince my daughter that she should get a direct email, and I'm still unsure whether she's receiving it all in one go. Also, I did not have access to anyone else that a tutor we connected to. He is a great tutor.

  5. Patrice Green
    1 rating

    No respond

    May 17, 2023

    Do not USE...If I had the option of rating zero, I'd. I was misled and told the only option I had to get was a monthly membership. I was charged almost 600 dollars for two minutes. The department billing me did not respond to my calls and wrote me an email saying that no refund would be given.

  6. Meredith Savill
    1 rating

    It's a horrible business

    May 16, 2023

    I submitted my application for the tutoring post and went through the entire application process but was informed that I am not eligible to apply as I'm a dual citizen. I've all the documents, but I cannot use them as I do not possess a US address. When I was asked if I could apply on I was on the UK part, I was told no and required a US address. I'd rate it a minus as it's a horrible business and wastes my time. It's not like I'm the only dual citizen of the world, and why would this scenario leave the company confused?

  7. Cheryl Spanier
    1 rating

    It's a scam

    Apr 26, 2023

    I will give it a zero if it has no rating I am interested in. It seems like an ad ! !! When you enroll, they will respond quickly when you pay. After payment, they stop immediately. TEREA JACKSON, who is a Varsity tutor, phoned me, and according to her promise, she did not call me after making the payment was made immediately. So far, we're waiting to hear from the teacher bu,t have not received any calls, messages, or emails. It's a fraud! Scam! Beware!

  8. Christopher Staub
    3 rating

    It's a fraud

    Apr 25, 2023

    The mom of a college student gives tutors to whom they cancel when tutoring has been completed, and after you cannot meet all hours, they are compensated. The best part is that they are due to expire the week before your college finals. It is acceptable to let hours pass if the account has been idle but then cancel them because you are why they are not being utilized. It's a fraud. When you call, they make appointment times, but they never hold. Be assured that if you phone them for a purchase of hours, they'll answer immediately. That's unacceptable to a company offering you $80 an hour for tutoring. This is one of several reasons I don't think they're worth the money.

  9. Brandon Hatch
    1 rating

    Terrible service

    Apr 24, 2023

    The company is a disaster—very poor tutors. Professional, I called to cancel my account; however, it was rejected,d and stuck with a monthly bill of $500 for terrible service. Avoid hiring it as a scam. Teachers have poor internet connections and are unable to attend classes. This is the most frustrating experience.

  10. Jim Hornibrook
    4 rating

    Very well-established

    Apr 22, 2023

    The classes have been very well-established for two of the three disciplines. The first day of the varsity has been rough, and we hope the costs aren't too high. The tutor was not in time for the final course, and no explanations have been given.

  11. Alice Williams
    3 rating

    It was charged

    Apr 10, 2023

    I asked a question regarding payment for an extra hour of tutoring. The call was made, but I got a call from a different date. I inquired about the best way to pay for extra hours and was advised that I would receive an email before additional charges were added to my account to inform me of the exact amount. It was charged. However, I haven't received any email notification. I'm unsure what the price per hour will be for the additional hours.

  12. Mary Poissenot
    5 rating

    Thanks, Andreea!

    Feb 1, 2023

    I had a great experience studying to take my GRE together with Andreea. I would highly recommend that you tutor with her for anyone who wants to increase the quality of their GRE scores. My only concern is Varsity generally because I've heard tutors receive a meager amount of money even with the expensive rates per hour. This is a concern for me. However, the experience I had with this particular tutor was highly positive. I think she did everything to ensure that all my questions were addressed. Through the training sessions, I feel much better prepared for the test. Thanks, Andreea!

  13. Byron Carroll
    5 rating

    We were very impressed

    Jan 30, 2023

    We were very impressed with the latest Minecraft program, which Captain Sparklez led. He presented a great subject and demonstrated the techniques I did not have. I wasn't a fan of the contest that he held. The game required posting a photo on Instagram. There is no Instagram account, and I don't intend to create one; therefore because I can't be a bit late to participate in the contest.

  14. Melissa Zechiel
    5 rating

    This is the ideal place to get tutoring

    Jan 29, 2023

    This is the ideal place to get tutoring. The tutors are excellent. They are courteous and assist you in achieving the conditions you can't meet. I can guarantee that you'll be happy with the purchase.

  15. Michael Ramirez
    5 rating

    He has learned much new information

    Jan 28, 2023

    My eight-year son has been participating in the Varsity Tutors for the past month and loves it. He has learned much new information and is thrilled every when he hears that his next class will be coming in.

  16. Valerie Brooks
    4 rating

    High's been impressed

    Jan 26, 2023

    High's been impressed by the classes with celebrities, particularly Mayim Balik and Coyote Peterson. A few of the presenters and teachers are highly captivating and entertaining. In most cases, the audio and the visuals are just fantastic. There are occasions when they don't work correctly, but they can be resolved pretty quickly.

  17. Abriee Butler
    4 rating

    Varsity Tutors is a fantastic method to study various topics

    Jan 25, 2023

    Varsity Tutors is a fantastic method to study various topics. Furthermore, I liked how they test you to see your strengths vs. weaknesses, which gives me a supercalifragilisticexpialidocious start. However, the only drawback I can see is the instructor's notes and recordings, among others. Are not available for us to look at. I want to review messages if I have things I want to study. Overall, I would give Varsity Tutors 4/5, or 88%.
    I'm looking forward to positive changes that will benefit students of all ages...

  18. Linda Cooper
    5 rating

    I am a fan of Varsity Tutors and the whole idea behind their approach

    Jan 23, 2023

    I am a fan of Varsity Tutors and the whole idea behind their approach. I'm grateful that children or even adults have the option to improve their knowledge in a variety of disciplines. However, specific instructors require additional training or may not be the right choice for instructing or instructing. I'm sure feedback from the students is vital, and hopefully, it will help ize and reward the outstanding instructors who are part of Varsity tutors.

  19. Marie Zerhusen
    5 rating

    I want to give high school tutors a five-star rating for a specific reason

    Jan 21, 2023

    I want to give high school tutors a five-star rating for a specific reason. I signed up for a package of $1700 worth of tutoring. I could not use the box for various reasons, and I was forced to withdraw my money within the time limit for withdrawal. I was certainly not thrilled with the loss of funds and notified them of my concerns to the company. I was promptly called by one of their amiable customer service representatives (Sarah!), who understood the situation. She reiterated their aim of complete customer satisfaction and provided my $1000 even though I had spent some of the hours with a few tutors. This is an uncommon and trustworthy level of honesty by tutors from varsity schools, and I sincerely commend them for it. I wish them a lot of success in the coming years.

  20. Joseph Centola
    5 rating

    Reminders are useful

    Jan 21, 2023

    Reminders are useful. Sending reminders before classes can help us stay organized. The overall structure creates a conducive environment for learning for our children.

  21. Gonzalo Chiriboga
    5 rating

    Varsity Tutors offered a variety of summer-time virtual sessions

    Jan 19, 2023

    Varsity Tutors offered a variety of summer-time virtual sessions. My children could select, depending on their passions, from things like nature (bites or stings) film making to drawing anime. This kept the kids interested.

  22. Steve Stone
    5 rating

    I am very impressed

    Jan 19, 2023

    I am very impressed with how the tutors break down the questions into smaller pieces to allow me to understand the question being asked. The tutors will enable me to think through my thoughts and process the questions without giving me the answer immediately. This helps me commit the process in my mind to be capable of doing it alone.

  23. Patricia Abshire
    5 rating

    I'm extremely grateful

    Jan 19, 2023

    I am presently taking a college statistic course. I'm incredibly grateful to my instructor, Pierre, who helps me to understand the material. I am patient and professional and am concerned about my success in this course. I'm sure I would have dropped the class had I hadn't had my tutor, who has greatly helped me.

  24. Rod Patton
    5 rating

    Varsity Tutors was a lifesaver for my two girls and me this summer!

    Jan 19, 2023

    Varsity Tutors was a lifesaver for my two girls and me this summer!! I was amazed by their offering free courses for children during this epidemic. Offering free courses across various disciplines (i.e., math, foreign language, science, social studies, art, filmmaking, for example. ) has prevented my daughters from becoming bored in the summer, making them more motivated and motivated to study whatever they could from the curriculum. The majority of students on the Varsity Tutor staff have been fantastic, guiding the class as many times as possible in the standard 5-hour lesson. We're planning to use them again soon for tutoring help! Thank Varsity Tutors for removing all my concerns concerning keeping my children away for summer.

  25. Kevin A Grisso
    5 rating

    Varsity tutors help fill the holes and correct any mistakes students may make

    Jan 18, 2023

    Varsity Tutors is an invaluable resource for preparing for the Series 65 exam. I was provided with excellent advice and advice that helped me improve my ability to learn effectively and understand the material. They reinforced the fact that there aren't any shortcuts. It is essential to read and understand every aspect of the subject. Varsity tutors help fill the holes and correct any mistakes students may make.

  26. Magen Aquino
    4 rating

    I enjoy Varsity tutors, classes, instructors

    Jan 17, 2023

    I enjoy Varsity tutors, classes, instructors, and all that; however, what they are missing for me is the webinar. Yes, they have a valid reason, so nobody can use the screens and not be appropriate. But I feel that a large part of the class enjoyment is the interaction with the instructor.

  27. Farid Mahmoodi
    4 rating

    I genuinely love it most of the time meme days

    Jan 16, 2023

    The pay at the professional certification/licensing exam prep level is good. Students are slamming over every day. It's your responsibility to make sure they fill up your calendar. Pay is two times a week and as consistent as clockwork. I genuinely love it most of the time meme days; the students aren't in their best form; however, each is only temporary. Great retirement gig.

  28. Julia Merritt
    5 rating

    Debbie was the most effective tutor I've had

    Jan 16, 2023

    Debbie was the most effective tutor I've had. If you require help writing your thesis APA template, table of contents format language, and the chapter's content, there is no more qualified teacher than Debbie.

  29. Susan Buchweitz
    4 rating

    I believe Varsity Tutors is excellent at working with the student's flexibility

    Jan 15, 2023

    I believe Varsity Tutors is excellent at working with the student's flexibility. However, I think that the quality of tutoring you receive depends on the instructor. I've had exceptional tutors. However, I've had some negative encounters with tutors. I believe, for the most part, if you are an instructor and don't only do one of the 15-minute brief tutoring sessions, you'll get a great tutor.
    Additionally, switching tutors is simple when you are not happy with the one you've chosen. But I do find it a bit costly. It's about 48 dollars per hour. But I'm aware that most college tutors charge 60 dollars per hour. For a college student, those aren't much.

  30. Michael Poissenot
    5 rating

    My lessons have been amazing so far!

    Jan 14, 2023

    My lessons have been amazing so far! My instructor, Emily I, is phenomenal! I am eager to return with a review of my final exam in the next few weeks to explain how I could pass my test, thanks to her assistance! She's honest, professional, and kind! What I have experienced with Varsity Tutors is a 9/10 from my perspective so far!

  31. Tony Llanusa
    5 rating

    Stephanie is wonderful!

    Jan 13, 2023

    Stephanie has taught my son, who is 13, 3D modeling over the last three months, and she has certainly exceeded my expectations and hopes. He comes out of the class every week not only to gain a lot of knowledge but is also excited and eager to put those modeling talents to use. Contrary to regular tutoring, which is meant to support the school curriculum, It is an extracurricular passion of my son's. As a result, Stephanie was required to create the entire program. Stephanie introduced my son to Maya, a powerful program that allows 3D modeling and has designed a range of super-interesting assignments for the week. She's encouraging, positive, and kind in her approach. The experience was so positive that my son has begun independently studying different languages on the computer. Stephanie is wonderful!

  32. Dianna Hovland
    5 rating

    Marissa is a fantastic instructor

    Jan 13, 2023

    Marissa is a fantastic instructor. She has a wealth of expertise in her subject. When I contacted her for help, she was eager to assist me in acquiring the knowledge I needed to complete my anatomy and physiology course. She has excellent tutoring skills and a wonderful personality matched with expertise, focusing on particulars and ensuring students understand everything. She's highly adaptable and was able to work around my busy schedule. I'm fortunate to have her as a teacher and will likely utilize her talents in my anatomy/biology classes.

  33. Karin Clemetson
    5 rating

    I'm hoping to continue learning! ​

    Jan 9, 2023

    I've made many improvements in my ability to learn Japanese, and I'm happy with the results.) The tutor is highly understanding and flexible. He's easy to talk to and easy to communicate with! His methods of teaching complement my learning strategies perfectly. I'm pleased with what I've learned to this point. I'm hoping to continue learning! ​

  34. Frank Newcomb
    5 rating

    Varsity Tutors is an excellent source

    Jan 7, 2023

    Varsity Tutors is an excellent source. I wish I'd discovered them earlier. It's the best tutoring website I've so far, and I've tried at least five other sites. Mainly, Daniel S. was extremely useful in helping me comprehend the fundamentals of chemical chemistry. It was clear that he was well-versed in the topic.

  35. Dawn Garcia
    5 rating

    We look forward to becoming more fluent in Spanish along with you!

    Jan 7, 2023

    Alfredo! Mr. Alfredo Silva does an outstanding job with my seven years old boys. Sessions are always enjoyable for him, and he keeps his attention throughout the session. The thing I like the most is that Mr. Alfredo has taken the time to understand his personality and what he's attracted to and has made his lessons specific to his areas of interest to ensure that the Spanish he's studying apply to his daily life and passions. Thank you very much, Alfredo.
    We look forward to becoming more fluent in Spanish along with you!

  36. Andrew Doom
    4 rating

    We have been delighted with some of the classes provided by the varsity tutors

    Jan 3, 2023

    We have been delighted with some of the classes provided by the varsity tutors. We only had one type we did not enjoy. We believe that the course was intended for a child of a certain age. typeThe kids love the interactions with their teachers, the videos, the challenges to Kahoot, and more! Every other class has been entertaining, enjoyable, and fun.

  37. Jason E Rodgers
    5 rating

    The overall experience was pleasant.

    Jan 2, 2023

    Varsity Tutors is an excellent online resource for students who need to locate tutors. Staff members are friendly and helpful, and the tutors they provide are experts in their field. The overall experience was pleasant.

  38. Rebecca A Kaiser
    5 rating

    Highly recommend him as well as tutors at varsity.

    Jan 1, 2023

    I just utilized Liban to assist me with my statistical review. He's amazing. He was able to help me with over 60 issues and was familiar with every formula and how to use the calculator to obtain the correct answers. Highly recommend him as well as tutors at varsity.

  39. Angie Barnes
    1 rating

    This site is a rip-off

    Dec 5, 2022

    This site is a rip-off. The tutor canceled four classes in a row without notice or email explanation. They eventually ended up canceling the entire class after a week of promising they would assign a new instructor. They gave a lovely exchange and a lot of one-on-one tutoring. They are friendly but don't provide anything more than an apology. That's all I'm going to say at the moment.

  40. Lesley Chandler
    1 rating

    I'm not impressed with the tutors at varsity and would not recommend them

    Nov 28, 2022

    I haven't been able to locate a tutor for either of the two times I asked for, and the second evening the tutor who had been scheduled to meet at 5 pm but didn't show up, and when I texted them, they said they could not make the time. The tutor was designed for another time but did not show up twice, even though I received an SMS stating that my lesson would start within 52 minutes. Someone was supposed to call the tutor and respond to me, but the tutor never responded; I've been requesting an amount of money back for the first payment, and the only thing I receive on time is a phone call to order the second installment. I'm not impressed with the tutors at varsity and would not recommend them.

  41. David Steele
    2 rating

    The teacher is boring.

    Nov 26, 2022

    This is the geography/culture course. The teacher is boring. It's a children's class. Therefore she can make it more enjoyable. It's only an hour, and she talks and speaks in a monotone style. It's not like what I used to.

  42. Claire Higgins
    3 rating

    The quality of instructors/facilitators is from 0-5stars

    Nov 25, 2022

    The quality of instructors/facilitators is from 0-5stars. In addition, many instructors only play videos on YT and not what we want for our youngsters. We loved Yeow! w/C.Peterson, Under the Sea, and Let's get Buggy. The other videos are just a waste of time since our kids watch the same movies at their own pace.

  43. Danielle Williamson
    1 rating

    Do not bother with this business

    Nov 21, 2022

    Do not bother with this business if you're looking for GRE preparation. I stayed on track by working with one of their instructors each week before my test. My quantitative score decreased from the first time I took the test.

  44. Sue Downie
    1 rating

    Tutor Tugba is extremely punctual

    Nov 19, 2022

    Tutor Tugba is highly punctual, even though she is in a different area from me. she developed a relationship with Sylvia and has maintained it till the present. She also appropriately uses various methods of teaching. The most important thing is that Slyvia loves her teaching style and is enthusiastic about it.

  45. Roger Bellis
    1 rating

    Both were both unprofessional

    Nov 18, 2022

    I'll spend two hours searching for the right tutor using instant tutoring, and when I do find one, they cannot solve any of the issues. I've had two tutors in person, and both were both unprofessional.

  46. Michael Pope
    2 rating

    We didn't expect much from statistics

    Nov 10, 2022

    We didn't expect much from statistics. The presenter asked us what we would like to know... He said we needed to present our requirements for statistics. We gave him our information, but he was unsure what he could do to help us. He spoke more about machine learning. We were particularly interested in the statistics of supply chain and material management.

  47. Stephen Williams
    2 rating

    The tutor is fantastic, but the company is irritating for 1200 for 24 hours

    Oct 18, 2022

    The tutor is fantastic, but the company is irritating for 1200 for 24 hours. They cannot schedule Mondays and Fridays for the teacher as they claimed they would do when I signed up. So for the past 2 Fridays, we've been waiting for the tutor to show up on time because the lady has dropped the ball. This is frustrating because I realize that you have to pay 1200 for the tutor, and then you do it yourself. After these hours, I'll look for a new firm that is less trouble.

  48. Natasha Bloomfield
    2 rating

    There is a massive distinction between paid programs and free

    Oct 17, 2022

    There is a massive distinction between paid programs and free. In the first lesson, it was fantastic, and he loved it. The instructor had to test and develop something because he could not demonstrate to the screen that he was working on Fundamentals. My son is high functioning autistic and had a hard time keeping up.

  49. Nick Allcock
    2 rating

    We were very disappointed

    Oct 15, 2022

    One of the appealing aspects I was attracted to was the possibility of using the time with any of my children on various topics. We were very disappointed when we discovered that the hours we bought expired before we could use the entire amount. Be aware of the small print. There was no mention that they were due to expire. It's disappointing, to say the least, to have to forfeit several hundred dollars worth of credit due to the tiny print.

  50. Joseph Riddlemoor
    2 rating

    I'm constantly trying to pronounce words, which is difficult for me to read often.

    Oct 11, 2022

    The thing is, I was to take a test as part of my job, and I'm not great at reading, so I asked for a tutor to assist me with homework and studying for the test. I'm sure we didn't have as many hours, but what we did was stulookr the test. She attempted to make me go through the book, and afterward, I would be asked questions. Still, it took me a long time to read a single page since I was having trouble reading, which is why I failed the test for my job because I'm plodding in reading, as I'm constantly trying to pronounce words, which is difficult for me to read often.

Write a review on Varsity Tutors

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Do you own Varsity Tutors?

Customer reviews are a powerful tool for building trust and loyalty. Claim your profile to become a verified business owner.

About Varsity Tutors

Varsity Tutors, an innovative technology company in education, is changing how professionals and students learn. Our digital platforms allow us to connect individuals to the best professionals and personal instruction. We are focused on each individual's needs.

(888) 888-0446
https://www.varsitytutors.com
101 S Hanley Rd, Clayton, St. Louis, MO 63105, United States
294 views