Varo Bank

23 Reviews

23 Reviews on Varo Bank

  1. Michelle Wakeley
    August 17th, 2022

    Varo is among the top online banks available

    Varo is among the top online banks available. There are no monthly fees for any item. Money is never available. and I’m aware of where my money is going. Everything I require is within the app. My only issue is the poor customer service and the absence of assistance from Varo. They have disabled my check deposit but haven’t provided me with the reason and said they won’t be able to enable it until they deactivate it. It’s a complete nonsense. How do you deactivate something and then make it available again. I’m not sure. Most of the time, they correct the issues that I face with no problem however this is one thing they were not clear on. Making changes to my account , without informing me about it or even stating the reason for it.

  2. Ubaldo Morales
    August 13th, 2022

    it's excellent overall

    I’ve been using Varo for quite a while and must say it’s excellent overall. I couldn’t rate it five stars due to the minor difficulties in becoming members of the Varo trust. Savings accounts and the possibility of earning interest from that savings account make banking much more accessible.

  3. Craig Fiedler
    August 9th, 2022

    I was awed by the Varo Bank until

    I was awed by the Varo Bank until I was told that I was unable to access the advanced feature. I have no idea why. Nothing has changed that I can tell, but I’m not able to receive any explanation on the reason. Apart from that, it’s an excellent bank that I will always recommend it anyone seeking a reliable bank that isn’t a burden of fees.

  4. June Mason
    August 5th, 2022

    The transaction isn't listed in the app

    The company has been stable. However, recently they’ve been canceling transactions and even stating “overpayment.” It’s impossible. Black Friday weekend and they took my final $50. The balance is taken out immediately regardless of pending transactions. The transaction isn’t listed in the app any longer. However, I have an acknowledgment from the seller who took the money and returned some.

  5. Steven Walker
    August 3rd, 2022

    Varo was an incredible online bank

    Varo was an incredible online bank until they acquired this “believe credit account.” I set up auto-pay for my account. Every time Varo transfers money from my checking account to the report, they believe the funds never show into the credit card. This isn’t very pleasant when it’s not your responsibility. I’ve called them numerous times regarding my account, and all they’ve been able to say is… I’m sorry for the inconvenience, and your account was increased. It’s the third week of my account, and I’m yet to receive my money.

  6. Lori Kellum
    August 1st, 2022

    Varo is a bank that's easy to use

    Varo is a bank that’s easy to use, for the most part. It’s also safe. I’ve had only one problem since I’ve had the account for a couple of years. The only issue is that I wasn’t given any assistance in getting my money back for a $300 transaction that was removed from my bank account through Google. I’ve never been able to get my money back from a statement I’ve never signed up for.. nor Google nor varo has been able to help me with anything for some reason.

  7. Chris Bryant
    July 28th, 2022

    I am a huge fan of this bank

    I am a massive fan of this bank. I’ve had the privilege of working with Varo Bank for a few years and have never had a problem or charge in the process! The customer service is fantastic because they don’t have physical branches.

    Best online bank ever! They constantly add new perks, including cash back options and early direct deposits. I have recommended the bank to numerous friends and family members, and many have dropped the other options they offer for banking at Varo Bank.

  8. John Hung
    July 26th, 2022

    THERE ARE NO WIRE OR SWIFT CODES!

    This is a good option when you use it to backup your bank account. THERE ARE NO WIRE OR SWIFT CODES! Don’t expect any service from the customer. In my experience with this particular bank, when they do not respond to emails. Their customer service staff does not know what’s happening. There are different reasons for this from various people, but little uniformity. It’s pretty average. A good savings account, but when you go over 5k, you’ll lose their rates of interest (which is currently five percent). Savings accounts are good, and checking accounts are outstanding, but you should not forget about them.

  9. Kay Gidley
    July 23rd, 2022

    Do not use this company

    My son needed cash in a hurry and lives across the border from me, so I told him I’d give it a shot with Varo since his girlfriend also has an account with Varo. Big mistake. I could have sent them a check, which could have been cashed before Varo took the money directly from the bank. Excellent customer service also. Do not use this company.

  10. Judy Diamond
    July 22nd, 2022

    I was awed by Varo at first, but everything seemed to be okay

    I was awed by Varo at first, but everything seemed to be okay. However, I travel for work, which is my second bank account. I have started using this account than one account to be my primary one; however, if a hotel or other event places a hold on your account, they won’t take it off until ten working days. They will require evidence of the fact that the bill for the hotel was paid. In most banks, it’s a three-day hold, not a 10. They keep your cash on hold for ten days, and they are unprofessional when you try to take the handle off. This has occurred in my case twice. I keep sending out the receipt, but I keep getting pathetic emails asking for proof of purchase that I have sent several times. We are ready to move on from them.

  11. Betty Odom
    July 17th, 2022

    They didn't make this clear

    They didn’t make this clear in their offers until you read the small print. Be on the lookout for your maximum ACH transfer of $200. If their high-yield account attracts you, you’ll be spending all your time moving your cash each time.

  12. Marco Hernandez
    July 13th, 2022

    You can run as fast as you possibly can

    I had signed up for a Varo account. I was looking forward to my permanent account arriving through the post. Please tell me the reason. I received my card, called to activate it, and was informed that it had 200.00 to the downside. I had not even received my card. No, I didn’t use my card as a temporary purchase. The phone rang, and I spoke to Daylin. She not only spoke to me as if I wasn’t at her level but also told me that I would get my cash in my account within three to four business days. It wasn’t deposited into my account since she had shut the account the moment we ended the call. My lawyer, however, is excited about this matter because he’s sure to be paid!

  13. Suzie Wagner
    July 11th, 2022

    Varo bank is a joke

    Varo bank is a joke. I wouldn’t recommend them to anyone. I’ve been trying to bet by contacting customer service for a few sometime now. They placed a hold on my card until I confirmed the details. Then I did not use the accounts for about a month because I opened a local checking account. My stimulus money was transferred to the card. I’ve tried to WITHDRAWAL it, but it will tell me that call financial transaction were denied. I spoke to my lawyer to take care of the situation since I’m close to snapping.

  14. James Clark
    July 8th, 2022

    Terrible Customer Service

    Varo Bank has a prolonged response time when you make a call. The response time was much better before their merger with Varo Bank. My March statement was in some way compromised in the process of transition. Therefore, I am unable to see any transactions from March. I’ve been on hold for nearly four hours. This is not acceptable. Employ more employees for phone banking. I’ve had a relationship with Varo since the beginning of 2018. The worst experience I’ve ever encountered with Varo. Terrible Customer Service.

  15. Angelo Gabriel
    July 7th, 2022

    the most unpleasant banking experiences you can imagine

    You can look up the Varo money subreddit to see precisely what I’m talking about. Since most of the reviews have to be automated and paid for through Varo management, I’ll say it plainly and plainly… Do not OPEN A BANK ACCOUNT HERE. Support for customers is virtually absent. The wait time is 60 minutes plus. The possibility of a two-day advance paycheck is not worth the hassles associated with this bank. It’s best to select the local, well-known branch. If not, you’ll be in for one of the most unpleasant banking experiences you can imagine.

  16. Mike Machonkin
    July 3rd, 2022

    I'm experiencing problems with my account

    It started well; however, now I’m experiencing problems with my account. My card was stolen, and I ordered another one. That’s where my issue began, they did not close the old account but instead transferred d.ds to the current version, but this month, they are lying to me that they returned it to the bank. However, they say they’ve seen that it was processed through Varo. However, I’m unable to get someone on the phone.

  17. Wilda Dennis
    July 1st, 2022

    The customer is the one who must deal with the result

    I’ve heard good positive reviews regarding this company. But, I was told that they were unable to confirm my identity. I was not given an upload link for my driver’s license or other documents. There could be a problem with their server. The customer is the one who must deal with the result.

  18. Lydia Waller
    July 1st, 2022

    I'll never use their mobile deposit services again!

    I am from Colorado, and I made an amount ($32) reimbursement check through the State of Colorado Treasury Department by using a mobile deposit on August 1st, 2022. The following day, I received an email confirmation from Vero bank stating that my check was accepted and that the money would be available by August 11th! I’ll never use their mobile deposit services again! Why is it almost two weeks for a government check (not an individual one) less than $50 to be cleared?

  19. Jessica Ledesma
    June 28th, 2022

    I'm not happy with Varo Bank

    I’m not happy with Varo Bank. At first, I was thrilled by their humble beginnings in the form of an internet-based bank. But, despite having a Varo account (without difficulties) for more than two years, Varo shut down my account within a short time after I completed a substantial cash transfer. However, I could recover my money back, but I think I was fortunate. Let me warn others about this – Varo is not a good choice for customers. I suggest other major players – like American Express and Ally Bank that are more reliable and provide better customer service and guidelines.

  20. Ricky Harris
    June 27th, 2022

    this bank won't let you deposit more than $2000

    It was a good account that I started. However, this bank won’t let you deposit more than $2000, which is absurd for a bank. An online bank is closing the account I’ve had for over three years, so it’s time to complete this bank as an unreliable institution.

  21. Hala Zanoun
    June 27th, 2022

    Varo isn't a safe bank to work with

    Varo isn’t a safe bank to work with. I’ve talked about the bank for about a month and have recommended people. After I was done, they shut my account, which had hundreds of dollars, without any explanation. After I call, I’m informed, ” you’ll have to wait for an email, and unfortunately, your account has been closed and cannot be opened again.

    After that, I ask about the status of my account, and they hang at the end of the line. I then called Varo twice, insisting on the issue and trying to find out why they had to close their account even though there was nothing suspicious going on but the same results. It’s better to go to a bank you can walk into and talk to someone to take your money. Otherwise, you’ll stress yourself out trying to recover your money, especially if your real money is in a Varo account.

  22. Joshua Hecht
    May 14th, 2022

    Varo was a great place

    This is my second bank account, as I travel for work. Although I used more initially, they won’t remove a hold for your account for 10 days if placed by a hotel or other entity. They will need proof that the hotel bill was paid. It’s usually a three-day hold. Varo was a great place to live, and everything seemed perfect initially.

    They will hold your money hostage for ten days and be rude when you request them to release the hold. This has happened twice to me. I keep sending the receipt, but keep getting crap replies back asking for documentation. This has happened multiple times. I am ready to move on.

  23. Emmett
    April 20th, 2022

    Varo Believe card

    To rebuild my credit, my money was put into a credit line. I then used it to purchase $900, and I paid it back into my account. For example, I made a $1000 deposit and used the card to buy $900, and the statement I received required me to pay $900 back. Varo will keep the $900 you have paid, but your money of $1000 won’t be credited to your account once you have made the payment. So Varo reported to Transunion Bureau that I had paid $900. Varo could take a portion of $900 from me as a service fee.

    Varo would charge $400 from $900 for their service. They take the entire amount, and I theoretically gave them money. This is how it helps me build my credit. It wasn’t Varo’s money that was deposited in the beginning. It was mine. It should have been returned to me, and a part of it put into my credit card. Varo didn’t give me any credit lines. This is not something I would recommend to anyone.

    Although the intention is to rebuild credit, it is not all that seems. While I understand that the Varo Believe Credit Card will have to make money, keeping the entire amount paid towards the account should not be possible. I learned my lesson. I will no longer use the card, but it will remain my last resort. Varo Believe Credit Card is a great way to rebuild your credit. If you decide to use it, make sure you don’t deposit more than $100. When it comes time to pay, you can say goodbye to the card. That $100 will not be returned to your credit card.

Write a review on Varo Bank

Your email address will not be published.

99Consumer for business

Customers' reviews are a great way to build trust and grow your business.

About Varo Bank

The mobile banking app allows you to deposit early, save money, and avoid account fees. You can also get up to 55,000+ ATMs for free. Available for Android and iOS.

8008276526
[email protected]
https://www.varomoney.com
San Francisco, CA, United States