The Hanover Insurance Group

32 Reviews

32 Reviews on The Hanover Insurance Group

  1. Doris A Williams
    Jan 6, 2023

    I have had a terrible experience with Hanover Insurance

    I have had a terrible experience with Hanover Insurance. After being in an accident caused by one of their policyholders, I was left to do all the leg work and could not get repairs done at their “guaranteed repair facilities” in my area. They also canceled my rental car reservation without notice, and my adjuster refused to answer calls. Overall, Hanover has been unreliable and unresponsive to my needs.

  2. David Harper
    Dec 6, 2022

    Consistent Long-Term Excellence

    My husband and I have been customers/insureds with Hanover Insurance for almost 39 years. Their customer support has always been outstanding. Changes to policies and additions have been clearly explained, and the homeowner claims have been carefully and efficiently processed.

  3. Gabrielle Nicholson
    Dec 3, 2022

    We were delighted with the service

    Our son recently received an insurance policy for his brand-new automobile from an agent named Sarah. Sarah was accommodating and provided clear and precise information to assist our son in making choices about his insurance. While talking to me, Sarah even found an offer of 5% off my current Hanover insurance policy for my car. We were delighted with the service we received from Hanover.

  4. Sarah Scott
    Dec 2, 2022

    Thanks Hanover for your support for my family and me!

    Life is unpredictable and not always easy. However, Hanover can make it more bearable. I’ve had companies abandon me due to just two incidents. However, not Hanover; I have a team standing by me and ready to help me whenever I fall. Thanks, Hanover, for your support for my family and me!

  5. John Cartwright
    Dec 1, 2022

    during one of the coldest weeks

    During one of the coldest months, we were forced to leave our home because of an unintentional gas leak in the building. Our insurance through Hanover paid for our stay in the Colonial Hotel for three days until we could move to our home.

  6. Charlene Doumani
    Nov 28, 2022

    Dawn walked me through the claim process

    Dawn guided me through the process of claiming repairs to jewelry and what documents and information she would require. She kept me informed with a phone or email every week to inquire about how the restoration was progressing.

  7. Dan Dighorker
    Nov 26, 2022

    Excellent service.

    The Hanover dealt with everything following my new car’s rear closed; they got the repairs going, put me in an automobile rental, and worked with the insurance company I had previously dealt with. Excellent service.

  8. Melinda Szilagyi
    Nov 23, 2022

    It was on time with up-to-date details on coverage

    It was on time with up-to-date details on coverage. The ring that was lost was not found, and we were disappointed. However, we could accept that there was no coverage for general misplacement. However, the need for foul play, breaking, or entering must be reported.

  9. Peter Scully
    Nov 21, 2022

    Not really helpful in solving my financial problems

    Not helpful in solving my financial problems. We went to a competitor of a lesser size who could focus on my situation and arrive at a solution. They didn’t even attempt to contact or contest the creditor but instead let my application go to the wall. If your case is complex, do not choose this firm and find a better option.

  10. Neil Epstein
    Nov 20, 2022

    Same great claim experience!

    I paid quickly. It was easy. The claim was easy to make except for the claim I made in Hanover regarding my car being destroyed in a parking area by a driver who was three months prior! Same great claim experience! Our Claims Manager was very easy to work with and knew exactly the difficulties we were facing in getting workers and a hoe which had an impact on us. straightforward precisely

  11. Rachel Sharp
    Nov 20, 2022

    I recently spoke with the rudest person

    The service is usually excellent, but I recently spoke with the rudest person I’ve ever met at Hanover. The person’s name is Kevin Schiltz, and he’s in the claims department. It was evident that he worked from home since it was possible to hear the TV blaring as it played in the background. He spoke of each sentence most rudely with loud shouts. It was a horrible experience.

  12. Gary Michell
    Nov 19, 2022

    Excellent value for cost

    Excellent value for the cost. When I call, I always connect with someone who can provide me with the required information. It’s easy to make payments using automatic withdrawal. My husband and I are pleased. Our kids now also use Hanover.

  13. Andreas Gulotta
    Nov 17, 2022

    Flexible and reasonable

    Flexible and reasonable. So far, I’ve had nothing but positive remarks to make about Hanover and have told my family and friends, who are all concerned about my situation. The person who was assigned the claim to me, Scott Bianchi, has been quick to respond and has answered my questions on time

  14. Saqib Hafeez
    Nov 15, 2022

    Excellent company!

    Contacted to report an accident in the car and was treated with care about our health and instructed not to be worried and that they’d take care of everything, and they did. We have worked with Hanover Insurance for many years protecting our home and auto and have been extremely pleased. Excellent company!

  15. Fubar Bundy
    Nov 12, 2022

    The broken water pipe in

    My neighbor damaged my property due to a broken water pipe in Hanover. The Burton Agency sends somebody out immediately to repair the problem. They were not as bad, but the most critical aspect was that the water was dried quickly to avoid further damage or mold. Thank you.

  16. Joan Nicola
    Nov 11, 2022

    The inability to communicate and follow up is inexcusable

    The inability to communicate and follow up is inexcusable. No one calls or replies to emails, then sends out these blanket or automated emails to those who claim they’ve tried to contact you but cannot reach you to appear like they’re trying. It takes days for them to go from one stage in the auto-claim procedure to the next. I received one of these emails from someone who was not in the office for a week, and there’s no way the person who sent it sent me an email.

  17. Brian Thomas
    Nov 8, 2022

    Customer service is terrible!

    Customer service is terrible! I’ve been a loyal customer for a long time. Still, when it came time to repair my car after the accident, they could not correct all issues, even after the dealer provided several pictures and verified that the crash caused the damage. The claims adjuster, Robin Jackson, lied about the dealership’s details, saying there was nothing wrong, just regular wear and tear.

  18. Jason Williamson
    Nov 5, 2022

    I have retired. I no longer drive to work

    I have retired. I no longer drive to work. The previous company I worked for before switching to Hanover cut my tip because my work commute was reduced due to the transfer. I believe my premium should be lower.

  19. Sarah Rogers
    Nov 2, 2022

    They were a pleasure to work with.

    When I signed in with Hanover, I ran into an animal with my truck on my way out of town in Montana. They were quick to obtain an agreement so that I could swap the car and be back on the road. They were a pleasure to work with.

  20. Jade Norris
    Nov 1, 2022

    Unresponsive - You have to babysit your adjuster

    If I am in a unique situation, the entire experience is a disaster. I was involved in an accident caused by one of their employees, and they required me to complete all the legwork. Their guaranteed repair facilities have either stopped working or cannot provide repairs (in my particular area). God forbid you to have to get the services of a rental (they canceled my reservation with zero notification). The adjuster has refused to answer their phone. I can get an answer faster by calling random individuals within the department. I’m not sure if my experience is among many, but I did not have to see a babysitter at an insurance company before.

  21. Sue Chadwick
    Oct 26, 2022

    Disgusted!

    This insurance firm has served me for several years. My annual premium was up by $800 with no indication of any reason. I contacted the company and was informed that “everything is getting more expensive.” Wow! The company did not even bother to attempt to fix the problem. I immediately changed companies. I saved over $1500 when I switched. Hanover later billed me $69, which they couldn’t explain. Someone was looking into it and called me back. They never called me back, and after 30 days, I received a letter requesting legal collection for $69. I’m disgusted by the company’s decision not to be a faithful client for years. Disgusted!

  22. Chris Ramsey
    Oct 21, 2022

    I will never ever recommend them.

    As a long-time customer, my wife and I have five cars and home insurance with Hanover, and we had to file a claim on my new GMC At4 80K truck. The truck has a tire, mirror repair fender, and wheel liner. We’ve had no problems with the appraiser, who said, “This is a sign of two distinct issues we have to deal with. The truck was repaired, and I made a payment. They are now taking every step they can to pay us and treat us like criminals whenever they contact you. I will never recommend them.

  23. Cristy Daniell
    Jul 30, 2022

    Excellent customer service and precise

    I have worked with this company for years, and they have assisted us by providing top-quality service! Excellent customer service and precise. My son referred this company to me, and it’s been a great thing!

  24. Richard Swain
    Jul 14, 2022

    great benefit

    I lost the FOB key for my vehicle. The dealer replaced it with a new one, and the Hanover insurance policy reimbursed me for an impressive amount of sum. The claim was simple to process, and I received the money in two days—a great benefit.

  25. Steven Karp
    Jun 20, 2022

    The process of repairing my car was quick and easy

    I exceeded my expectations after someone struck my car in a parking space. The process of repairing my car was quick and easy. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  26. Jenny Kelley
    Jun 20, 2022

    the staff were very helpful

    I was pleased with the service when someone drove into my car in a parking space. The process of repairing my car was simple, and the staff was accommodating.

  27. Maria P
    Jun 12, 2022

    Hanover has been consistently easy to deal

    The Hanover Insurance Group has been constructive to deal with. I have a home, auto, and umbrella insurance with Hanover Insurance. Everyone I’ve spoken to has been friendly, professional, and helpful. One thing that could benefit from improvements in the website, the site seems to be very leggy and old school.

  28. Nil P
    Jun 12, 2022

    Stay away of auto insurance of the hanover group.

    My wife and I were involved in an incident with a minor car, and it took her 24 days for Hanover to take my car into a repair shop. Then the process took between 10 and 14 days for an appraiser to be able to inspect the vehicle at the towing yard. I never had such an awful experience with an insurer.

    We received a phone call from the car rental company a few days ago, informing us that Hanover did not pay on the t. When we inquired, they told us the rental should have been paid for already in the auto body repair shop.

    When we phoned the body shop, they informed me that it took them 24 days for the vehicle for inspection, and the parts are on more extended time frames. They don’t even know what time it will take. The agent is not professional, and this business is a shame. Also, we have insurance on our home, other vehicles, and an umbrella policy. Do not ever repeat Hanover.

  29. Marilyn Ahlswede
    Jun 9, 2022

    Massive rise in their premiums

    I am amazed that those with claims do not claim a massive rise in their premiums; as a result, they claim. I’ve worked with Hanover since the year 2018. My home is insured with Hanover, and I also have two cars insured through Hanover.

    A large amount of cash has been given to them. I was involved in a tragic accident in the past year, which only involved my car. It was a reasonably small claim. The process of filing the lawsuit was smooth, but I was close to having a stroke when I received my bill.

    The claim cost was $296 for the car I had claimed on!! More than a 40 percent increase! My total cost went up by $349. I have reduced my insurance coverage to lessen the price, but I’ll be searching for an insurance company that does not charge you a penalty after you have paid in for five years and then increases your premiums for a small claim.

  30. Sadiya Aishu
    May 26, 2022

    Avoid this terrible company!

    My wife was in a minor car accident. It took Hanover 24 days to tow my vehicle to a body shop. The appraisal took ten days to get permission to inspect the car at the tow yard. I never had such a horrible experience with an insurance company.

    A few days ago, we received a call from Hanover’s rental car company informing us that Hanover had stopped paying for the rental. We called the body shop, and they said it took 24 days for the car to arrive. They also stated that parts could take longer lead times. They said it should have been done at the body shop when we called them.

    They don’t know how much time it will take. This company is an embarrassment for the agent. Hanover is not to be repeated. We also have a home policy covering our other vehicles and an umbrella policy.

    1. Gery Strong
      May 26, 2022

      Thank you for posting, it will help us decide!

    2. Sadiya Aishu
      May 26, 2022

      Good to know Gary.

  31. Gail Harriss
    May 11, 2022

    A Cellar Flood

    My water meter froze, exploded, and sprayed water everywhere I went while in rehab after surgery. There were about four inches of water on the cellar floor. I quickly called my insurance company to get an inspection and another visit from an adjuster. They laid the foundation for when I could hire a remediation company.

    Excellent work by the remediation company. The project is only days away from being completed. Next is the furnace. Hanover and its agents were extremely helpful throughout the entire process. It’s reassuring that disasters are handled with such care.

  32. paul lefebvre
    May 3, 2022

    Chase Coverage.

    Full disclosure: I am a Hanover agent. I also trust Hanover for my Home & Auto insurance. Consumers are becoming convinced that price is the only metric in today’s mass-marketing advertising for personal insurance (which has exceeded $5 billion). But price is not the only metric when their home has been destroyed, or an uninsured motorist injures them.

    Hanover, thank you for providing superior coverage at a competitive premium. Hanover’s impressive ranges are better than the mass-market policies and give me a restful night’s sleep. Client of 40+ years said it best: “I have always pursued coverage…never price, but I have never been disappointed.”

    1. Jeny Rand
      May 26, 2022

      Hey Pual,

      Could you please let me know if I can sign up with this company or not? Sadia’s review makes me a little nervous.

      Thank you

Write a review on The Hanover Insurance Group

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

99Consumer for business

Customers' reviews are a great way to build trust and loyalty for your business.

About The Hanover Insurance Group

The Hanover insurance group views insurance as an opportunity to customize a plan that offers value and peace of mind. This applies to your business, car, and home. We offer insurance coverage for small and medium-sized companies and personal property, cars, and homes. We will keep our promises and be there when it is most important. Every day we live by our values and show how we: CARE.

5088551000
[email protected]
https://www.hanover.com
United States