StepChange Debt Charity

StepChange Debt Charity

38 Reviews
(2.0)
38 Reviews

StepChange Debt Charity

reviews(2.0)
Rating (2.0)
star
Poor!
1 Star
26
2 Star
3
3 Star
0
4 Star
1
5 Star
8

Q&A

Is StepChange Debt Charity legit?

StepChange Debt Charity has 38 reviews on 99consumer.com, with an average rating of 2.0 out of 5. This indicates that most consumers are dissatisfied with their business interactions and dealing. Therefore, caution is advised when considering purchases or engagements with the business.

How to reach StepChange Debt Charity customer care?

You can contact StepChange Debt Charity customer care via email at [email protected] or by calling them at 800 138 1111

Where is StepChange Debt Charity located?

StepChange Debt Charity is located at address 123 Albion Street, Leeds LS2 8ER, United Kingdom.

38 Reviews on StepChange Debt Charity

  1. Michelle S.
    2 rating

    Errors, Miscommunication, and Lost Trust

    Dec 21, 2023

    StepChange was fine initially, and it was able to sort breathing space, however I've experienced several errors from StepChange, including the most recent one. their breathing space related email advising me that Capital One had called them about my credit card and it was closed, so I'm not responsible. !!!!! It was totally wrong since I talked to Capital One to confirm. If I'd eliminated them from the program, it would be a disaster! Today, I'm going over each and every debt since I've lost trust and faith in these companies. This causes me anxiety and migraine, therefore for the moment I'm not going to give them any favorable feedback since my experience was not pleasant. I'm also going to warn others who are on socialMedia.

  2. Megan Wittman
    5 rating

    Excellent service

    May 29, 2023

    Excellent service and assistance all the way through. They were kind and understanding and gave me the confidence to feel happier about the situation. It's been a lengthy, laborious process of getting rid of debt. However, Stepchange has allowed me to live and enjoy life again.

  3. Sarah Murrey
    5 rating

    I'd recommend people consider this method

    May 29, 2023

    Very helpful. It helped take a lot of anxiety away from me by assisting with every correspondence on my behalf. Now, all my creditors are being paid back entirely. I'd recommend people consider this method if they feel stressed or struggling and want to settle the amount they owe.

  4. Caitlin Simpson
    5 rating

    Thanks from the deepest of my heart for helping me transform my life

    May 29, 2023

    Stepchange practically brought me back to life. The stress levels I had before the start of my DMP were extremely high. I was scared to death. I didn't know what to do to escape the situation that I was in. There was an increase in my excitement, and I could not bear it. It was a breeze for me, and I'm content that I've gotten my plans in time! Thanks from the deepest of my heart for helping me transform my life.

  5. Melissa brodeur
    5 rating

    The service is fantastic

    May 26, 2023

    If you're having trouble paying your debt, call or go online through Stepchange right now! The service is fantastic! They are incredibly polite and willing to help in any way they will! They were accommodating and could answer my concerns and meet my needs. It was so simple to complete! It's a great idea! Once I've gained the confidence and worked there for over a year, I'm due to pay one final installment and will soon be debt-free!

  6. Linda Hibbard
    5 rating

    Start enjoying your life

    May 1, 2023

    It took me some time to reach Stepchange due to anxiety about the unknown. I finally called them and started getting my debt paid. They are unique and go through the process for you at the pace you prefer, and when they find something unclear, they clarify everything for you quickly. After deciding what option is best for you, the following steps can be as simple. When you get started with this process, all anxiety goes away. If anyone is worried until they are dead, make contact with Stepchange so that you can start enjoying your life once more.

  7. David Schweizer
    1 rating

    Do not understand

    Apr 30, 2023

    I didn't have any luck finding Step Change helpful at all. I do not understand the great reviews. I had hoped to ask for the help I needed in my debt from fuel and inquired about the company's trust fund. I informed them that I'd had no offer like this before. When I asked if they would be able to help, they replied that it's up to me to advocate to be able to access this! What help could I get? They also stated that they could not as could notify the application. DON'T GO TO THEM.

  8. Suzi Ceowe
    5 rating

    Incredible company

    Apr 28, 2023

    I am one year old and have paid my DMP off, and I don't imagine where I'd be without the fantastic people who helped and aided me through difficult times. I will always be grateful for this moment next year when I will have paid off 8k of due to debt that I wouldn't have been able to pay without this incredible company.

  9. Niamh oreilly
    4 rating

    The assistance and guidance proved invaluable

    Apr 12, 2023

    The step change method took an enormous amount of stress from my thoughts. They put everything into perspective and set my path toward financial recovery. Initially, the assistance and guidance proved invaluable when dealing with creditors. However, I have to say that whenever difficulties arose in the DMP, I sought help and was advised on each occasion to resolve the issue by myself and talk to the creditor. This is why I highly recommend them for anyone having problems but prepare to tackle some of the work yourself on the road.

  10. Joel Feder
    1 rating

    Input the details of my budget that confirms I'm broken

    Mar 15, 2023

    I contacted StepChange following the suggestions from the EON debt rep. The person who answered the phone was a nightmare as he repeatedly asked repeated questions and over in a manner that was a bit threatening that resembled an interrogation. When he realized I had an internet connection, he wanted me off the line as quickly as possible and pointed me to the website. If they're in a relationship with EON, it's apparent that, the case that there's an e-, mail scam rolling through here!! Input the details of my budget that confirms I'm broken, the site offers no solutions, and I'm logged out!

  11. Andrew Zittleman
    1 rating

    Stepchange receives a percentage from creditors

    Mar 15, 2023

    Stepchange receives a percentage from creditors. I talked with these scammers about five years ago, who recommended I sign up for the payment plan. I paid for this plan for overtire year and thought itectitot e, nd, but it didn't. Then I was through the process once more my financial situation was utterly different from what I was told by the adviser to follow the same path. After that, I asked the advisor whether they could earn a profit in a certain way,d he said no do you know what happened after talking to the insolvency department? Don't be fooled by these low-life forms.

  12. Carrie McKendry
    1 rating

    My debt resolution was to live with what I've got.

    Mar 13, 2023

    Terrible. My debt resolution was to live with what I've got. The expense feature doesn't consider the minimum payments individuals must make to their creditors. Therefore my "left-over" amount is not proper of reality tried to use the chat feature thrice, but the advisors ceased the chat every time I asked the question.

  13. Laurie DuRocher
    1 rating

    I also refuse to close my account.

    Mar 10, 2023

    The advice I received was to take out an order to relieve my debts of less than PS1000. Citizens' advice told me this was excessive since it could damage my credit report. I am now receiving frequent uninvited mail from Stepchange, despite requests to be taken off their system. I also refuse to close my account.

  14. Carol Males
    1 rating

    It is impossible to communicate via live chat or by phone

    Mar 9, 2023

    It is impossible to communicate via live chat or by phone. I've tried it for more than one week. Every chat representative makes the same excuse that there's a "glitch" with the website. Each call I made was put in a wait for about 2 hours before being greeted with "Thank to yfor calling. Goodbye" before being disconnected. I'm desperate to get assistance. So I'll try to find more professional charities with tools that perform.

  15. Ralph Smith
    1 rating

    They continue to push you to sell your home through their mortgage brokers.

    Mar 8, 2023

    They were contacted to get debt advice, the right things, fill in an application for a budget, g, gote, and then asked to create a new budget via phone. If they make a mistake, you call them to discuss another debt that has popped up, and they don't believe you even if you provide them with the details from the letter. They want to.pho ne the company to talk about the debt. Nobody knows what they're doing or connects to any file, even when they share the same reference with a client. They continue to push you to sell your home through their mortgage brokers.

  16. Jerry Thornton
    2 rating

    I was in contact for assistance.

    Mar 6, 2023

    I've been waiting almost two weeks for the Iva team to reach me after being referred. I've received several emails and spoken to live chat, but no response was heard from me. It's very frustrating since I was in contact for assistance.

  17. Eileen Molloy
    1 rating

    Inferior customer service!

    Mar 5, 2023

    So I needed debt advice and contacted these guys. I filled the form in and emailed them, and they requested my reference number since I had to ask them to clarify something. Despite having sent them emails several times, they've never replied to me. It is also stressing me that I promised my creditors I'd provide them with an immediate reference number to repay loans. I'm highly unimpressed with StepChange, even though they're supposed to assist you and not take several days to reply. Inferior customer service!

  18. Jonathan Smith
    1 rating

    I've had many issues

    Mar 3, 2023

    I've had many issues with this business that is supposed to assist, but they have caused me more problems. Being in financial trouble is enough, but to be taken advantage of by a debt charity only makes it more difficult. I'm now forced to figure it all out on my own!

  19. Ellen Feinstein
    1 rating

    Hello Emily. Thanks for the response

    Mar 2, 2023

    Hello Emily. Thanks for the response. I've already filed an official complaint and received your final reply, which I'm not pleased with. So, I've decided to stop using Stechange. I won't pursue Stechange anymore as I want to safeguard my health.

  20. Cheri Bandy
    1 rating

    Now they're denying that they have the funds

    Mar 1, 2023

    I attempted to advise a family member against using Stepchange since they're a scam following a negative experience with them. Still, the person didn't take my advice and had to hunt down hundreds of pounds they took from his account once he made the payoff on loan. Now they're denying that they have the funds. Stepchange is probably aware that they won't spend money to take them to small claims court after having to scrimper asking for two months to settle the debt. So they've been able to get away with stealing from someone who went to them with good intentions to assist in managing debt.

  21. Steven Schroeder
    1 rating

    I have received wrong information

    Feb 28, 2023

    I've been trying to negotiate the debt relief Order using Stepchange for approximately six months. I have received wrong information, contradicting information, and so on. I've found them almost impossible to contact and have waited for hours for a call, only until I am told they couldn't locate my documents. I'm not able to deal with them anymore. I'm deciding to remain within the (massive) debt. I'm struggling with mental health issues, and they've made it much worse. It is best to look to a different place for your debt problems to remhealthyalth.

  22. Holly Shillington
    2 rating

    I was left with a feeling of being stranded and vulnerable.

    Feb 27, 2023

    I'm not entirely sure of the value of this particular company. I was told they could not contact Scottish Power on my behalf (and SP is virtually uncontactable.) I was left with a feeling of being stranded and vulnerable.

  23. Heide Hoegl
    1 rating

    I called this company today after being recommended by a friend

    Feb 26, 2023

    I called this company today after being recommended by a friend; I thought they could assist me in coming up with a solution. However, the person who took my call was vulgar, did not understand, and was very judgmental. It seemed he was not listening to me or accusing me of being a victim. Stepchange didn't do anything, leaving me feeling so angry. If you are struggling with debt, Avoid the company entirely at costs. It would help if you went to National Debt Rel, which they are millions of times better.

  24. Jeffrey Anderson
    1 rating

    Hopeless. You'll hear a lot of falsehoods and do not put in the effort

    Feb 25, 2023

    Hopeless. You'll hear a lot of falsehoods and do not put in the effort. They did not inform me of an IVA, and I've spoken to J&R Financial Solutions after seeing their videos on Tiktok. I now have a guarantee IVA and will be debt-free within five years. It's worth it to shop shopping good deals; that's my takeaway from the story.

  25. Chris Hodgson
    1 rating

    A useless service that is designed to slow down and prolong suffering!

    Feb 23, 2023

    A useless service that is designed to slow down and prolong suffering! It took them nine days over my DRO time to inform me that I haven't made an application and that it'll take another two weeks before they send my application via email! I've experienced very aggressive bailiffs ringing my door, causing me to feel more anxious and stress-reducing Zops from the doctor. The result is to have them be twitchy and slow. They put off every step until my breathing becomes a struggle, and I'm left fighting bailiffs again!

  26. Steve Leisen
    1 rating

    I was not informed about this

    Feb 23, 2023

    I called an organization on Saturday after receiving my pay slip, which had an immediate earnings attachment. There was no other person to call then, and I was baffled because I was not informed about this. I'd suggest StepChange remove this information on their website since the person who took the phone had no idea of this or the steps to follow. I was on hold for over an hour and was then instructed that I should "call back when you're in debt." The DEA might suggest that I'm.

  27. Crystal Forwerck
    1 rating

    Disgusting.

    Feb 21, 2023

    Disgusting. I tried to assist my father with applying for DRO after Stepchange advised him that this was his only alternative. I began the application in March, and they only contacted me on the final day of August. I was told to get them to update his application since the balances due have grown to over six months of interest and late payment charges. Every time I call, I end up at the top spot in the line and am blocked. It has happened four times on different phone numbers, so it's not an isolated incident. It's now down to PS90 to download the app, and there is no contact information for Stepchange because they don't respond to emails.

  28. Tina Jackson
    1 rating

    We asked for assistance in the face of increasing bills and job loss.

    Feb 20, 2023

    We asked for assistance in the face of increasing bills and job loss. They took details about me, even financial information, after which they said they couldn't provide any service as the increasing energy costs were not something they could manage. They have refused to delete my data, which is concerning since they do not need the information to any extent—reported to ICO. I could know the need to protect my data if assistance or advice were offered. However, it's not.

  29. Nick Guerrero
    1 rating

    I spoke with one advisor.

    Feb 17, 2023

    I spoke with one advisor. The advisor was rude and uninterested. He cut me off. He didn't mention his name but had an Indian accent. He wHe wanted to cut the phone with me when he realized I didn't have cash. This isn't a charity. It's a company looking to prey upon the vulnerable and get their profit. I'm not sure how the conversation has caused me to feel. It was a tense situation that was beyond my control. Their adviser has made everything feel so more ful. It's probably the only word I could use to describe the place. I wouldn't recommend anyone to talk to this place. Do not do. Please do, and spare yourself the stress. They're just after money.

    1. Annette mcalinden

      Same

      Sep 13, 2023

      Hi I have gone through same just now and I wonder have I been dealing with the same person

  30. Ryan Lenton
    1 rating

    They continue to push you to sell your home through their mortgage brokers

    Feb 17, 2023

    They continue to push you to sell your home through their mortgage brokers. They were contacted to get debt advice, did the right things, filled in an application for a budget, and got advice later; please create a new budget by phone. If they make a mistake, you contact them as another credit card has been incurred, and they don't believe you are providing them with the details in the letter. They want to.pho ne the company to talk about this debt Nobo,dy knows what they're doing or how they connect any files, even when they share the same reference with a client.

  31. John Arciszewski
    1 rating

    I was humiliated and sucked into tears.

    Feb 15, 2023

    I was directed to contact Stepchange concerning my financial debt and concerns. They told me I shouldn't give my son clothes or Christmas presents. I was shocked by the treatment I received. Never was I treated as an unworthy mother. I was humiliated and sucked into tears.

  32. Ash Chabra
    1 rating

    It was a disaster

    Feb 13, 2023

    It was a disaster. My debt resolution was to live with what I've got. The expense feature doesn't consider the minimum amount of payments individuals must pay to creditors, which means that my "left-over" balance isn't a fair representation of reality. I tried to utilize the chat feature extensively, but the advisors ceased the chat whenever I asked a question.

  33. Edward Mccabe
    1 rating

    Inaccessible to communicate

    Feb 11, 2023

    Inaccessible to communicate, either via live chat or by phone. I've tried it for more than an entire week. Every chat agent uses the same excuse that there's a "glitch" with the website, and each call I made was sat in a line for a couple of hours, followed by a message "Thank you for calling. Goodbye" before being disconnected. I'm desperate for assistance. Therefore, I'll search for charities that are more professional and whose tools perform

  34. Sandra Nuneman
    1 rating

    They also refusing to close my file

    Feb 10, 2023

    The advice I received was to take out an order for debt relief for less than PS1000. Citizens Advice advised me that it was an excessive move because it would damage my credit history. They also refused to close my file. Now I receive frequent, unsolicited emails from step change, despite requests to be taken off their system.

  35. Tyrone Akinnuoye
    1 rating

    It made my situation worse

    Jan 19, 2023

    It made my situation worse. After I contacted them for assistance with a few charges, they addressed my banks and later wrote me to say they would like to shut down my bank account due to this. I had funds in my account at the bank to pay my bills. My bank placed a hold on my account until they received a paper stating that I could not proceed in the dump through that charity. Due to this, I don't have funds to pay my top expenses like rent this month as the money is in my account on hold. This has led me to further debt. I cannot take out loans because they are added tis o my credit report even though I didn't start my plan. To further complicate matters, after I got them and told them that my bank was asking me to write to them saying I wasn't on any plan with them, they stated that this was not something they could do. Do yourself a favor and call the company directly to arrange an installment plan.

  36. Kendra Hunkler
    5 rating

    I ended up in massive debt

    Jul 18, 2022

    I ended up in massive debt, and I ended up struggling. I could not get help from anywhere, and the monthly sum I paid back only paid the interest. The balance wasn't going down. I was constantly anxious and always stressed and sick. My best choice was to connect to Step Change. They dealt with my debtors in a way that I could afford each month.

    After three years, I am debt free. One thing is sure I won't put me back in that situation. I plan to invest at least half of the amount I was paying for my debt for security purposes and emergencies. I will never use to use another credit card.

    If you're in the same situation, Don't hesitate to ask for help. Seek assistance before it gets into a crisis. You'll be amazed by how helpful your debtors are, and they are thrilled that you're working to settle your debt. Step Change has been extremely accommodating and supportive. They probably saved my life, and I am grateful for that. My heart isn't as heavy, and I can sleep until midnight.

  37. Shaun Middleton
    1 rating

    I was shocked as I was unaware of this

    Jun 27, 2022

    I contacted an organization on Saturday after receiving a pay slip with an immediate earnings attachment. There was no other person to call at the time, and I was shocked as I was unaware of this.

    I'd suggest StepChange remove this information from their website because the person who took the phone had no idea of this nor the steps to follow. I waited for over an hour and was then advised that I should "call back when you're in debt." The DEA might suggest that I'm.

  38. Peter Harrison
    5 rating

    Absolutely fantastic

    Jun 14, 2022

    So far, I've been able to establish an amp through the charity, and I am not complaining ever.

    I feel like an enormous weight was lifted off my shoulders.

    I noticed my payment was more than I had hoped for, so-called and got through to a beautiful man called Luke, who helped me with my expenses for the coming year and cut my repayments drastically.

    Fantastic, I wish I had done this sooner.

Write a review on StepChange Debt Charity

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Do you own StepChange Debt Charity?

Customer reviews are a powerful tool for building trust and loyalty. Claim your profile to become a verified business owner.

About StepChange Debt Charity

Our debt specialists assist 620,000 customers a year with their debt issues. With over 25 years of experience and a wealth of knowledge, you can trust that we'll provide you with the assistance, advice, and solutions to help you attain long-term financial control.

800 138 1111
123 Albion Street, Leeds LS2 8ER, United Kingdom
98 views