Monterey Bay Herb Co

25 Reviews

25 Reviews on Monterey Bay Herb Co

  1. Former employee
    Jan 30, 2023

    Power hungry company

    If you want to know your money is going to good people avoid this company at all costs! Upper management is some of the worst people you will ever encounter. They treat all their employees with absolutely no respect. Constant lies, manipulation and gaslighting.

  2. Bryant
    Jan 28, 2023

    AVOID THIS COMPANY, FROM A FORMER EMPLOYEE

    I worked for a company called Ameriherb for 4.5 years. In the beginning of January 2022 we were informed that Monterey Bay was buying our company. The head of the Monterey flew out to have a special meeting with us!

    He promised us NOTHING WOULD CHANGE, and he promised us that he would make sure we all got to keep our jobs. These statements would turn out to be the furthest thing from the truth.

    Immediately they fired all part time employees. We were then asked to do what basically amounts to contractor work for the next three months. Instead of hiring professionals to turn the warehouse around into a new business model, they used us. We ship herbs. We don’t paint. We aren’t certified to use scissor lifts for commercial purposes, and we sure weren’t given the proper PPE to clean the YEARS of dust and debris that had build up (until we asked, you shouldn’t have to ask for safety materials).

    Then as soon as the warehouse is ready for the new business model they fired several employees including myself. Why? So they could save money on wages. Instead of keeping employees that had dedicated years to this company they threw us away like trash just to pay slave wages.

    That was last July. Over the last months they have slowly fired each and every last original employee that dedicated time and hard work. Today I got word they fired the last two employees and the rest walked out. This is not the kind of company you want to support. Ray if you’re reading this I hope you have trouble sleeping at night.

  3. Stephan Subero
    Jan 17, 2023

    I am a massive fan of this business

    I am a massive fan of this business. The customer service is excellent! The herbs are unique, and they’re well-packaged. The TEAS are fantastic. My orders have been delivered very quickly. The information on the web page is informative. Thank you for making the ordering of herbs easy.

  4. Olga
    Dec 12, 2022

    Bad product and Bad Herb

    I would not recommend getting their Herbs and Tea. Their support sucks, and they do not care about their client. I have been ordering for quite some time, but it was a nightmare when their herbs and tea. Nothing is good now.

  5. Katie Cronin
    Oct 9, 2022

    Inferior products

    I would have liked to have read the reviews. Then, I bought Cinnamon Sticks. They are not tasty or have a smell. They must be old. It smelled old. Decaf coffee smelled like detergent. When I sent an item back to them, I did not hear from them. Star Anise seemed fresh, so I gave it one star. I’m a first-time buyer and will be back shortly.

  6. Simon James
    Oct 8, 2022

    This isn't as easy as it seems!

    I love shopping generally. One issue I’m facing concerns that some items are not in stock for an indefinite period but are kept in the store (ex, the blueberry leaf). Also, I wouldn’t say I like that I can’t edit my cart from another page. I have to click on the carriage and then select for it to load on a different page. This isn’t as easy as it seems!

  7. Yvonne Stansfield
    Oct 8, 2022

    Shipping was previously much less expensive

    I’ve used I Herb and the former Monterey bay spice company for a few years, but the service is falling off the cliff. I’ll have to search for other sources, which is unfortunate since Monterey Bay was one of my top sources of botanicals for two years. Shipping was previously much less expensive, organics were would have been only a tiny fraction of the cost Pay pal was a nightmare to work with- not with other vendors, and took several days to finish. ; organics; organics; organics

  8. Derrick Sutlow
    Oct 6, 2022

    Page was an unanswered problem

    Page was an unanswered problem. Perhaps next time, it will be better comprehended. The teas I purchased before were of good quality. My sister is going to order the same thing and chopped/sifted ginger for her son, who has kidney failure, which is total. That’s the reason I’m back.

  9. Tracy Horlock
    Oct 4, 2022

    I was planning to buy more, but I ended up ordering less

    I find it to be a bit misleading advertising that says free shipping for $300, and then if someone has the coupon for a new customer, you need to pay more than $300 to receive free shipping. I nearly didn’t make my order due to this. It’s completely false and is a lie to claim that you are entitled to free shipping. Put the amount in your cart. However, after applying coupons, you will no longer receive free shipping for the same price until you have added more items to your cart to pay for the coupon. I was planning to buy more, but I ended up ordering less.

  10. Catherine Bamforth
    Oct 3, 2022

    there was an issue regarding the transaction

    The checkout process you used to use was much better and more understandable. These new pages for products are complicated to understand. There was a time when you offered discounts after a certain quantity of bags. It is unclear if you use this method or not. I received a message when I checked out, which initially seemed to suggest there was an issue regarding the transaction. I thought that I wouldn’t be able to complete the order and have to find a different vendor. As it appears that you’re no longer offering bulk discounts, I’ll likely look for another option shortly.

  11. Keith Smith
    Oct 1, 2022

    You guys need to give us beverage manufacturers wholesale

    It’s time to offer wholesale discounts for our beverage producers. I’ve donated to Herbco lots of money throughout the years, and I believe you do not care about my loyalty to your company. One of the things that herb co did to show its appreciation was to provide fiber samples for free. We offer discounts or even an extra 1 pound of tea. Or something significant to businesses that are loyal as I have been. Let us know that you appreciate your patronage. We’re looking for more than the occasional friendly letter or free fiber.

  12. John Kaye
    Oct 1, 2022

    The site displayed several unresolved error messages regarding my address

    The site displayed several unresolved error messages regarding my address. It was despite the address being right. This happened several times. It was not very beneficial. I was close to canceling the attempt to place an order, but I gave the order one more shot. Online orders must be quick and easy. If this happens again, I’ll decide to move to a different site. Your competitors do not have this irritating feature. Could you not contact me?

  13. Peter Kitching
    Sep 28, 2022

    Prices are much more expensive

    Prices are much more expensive for essential items, and similar quality items can be found at a lower cost elsewhere. Many of the items are discontinued or are no longer available. We are missing the old Monterey. What is the reason you have Gold Rush listed? You’ll never get it back. However, that’s fine. I came up with the formula and had a different company blend for me in large quantities.

  14. Brian Moore
    Sep 26, 2022

    The shipping cost was not disclosed

    The shipping cost was not disclosed until after you had paid via Paypal, and you were provided with the shipping zip number. The shipping cost must be displayed before making the payment. I know that you are paying for the expenses for labor and materials when shipping. I thought that 2 pounds shipped by USPS at $11 were a bit high Mullein is a European product and meets the criteria for being “organic,” which verifies that the requirements are being adhered to in a foreign country.

  15. Danny Malone
    Sep 22, 2022

    The most frustrating

    Ho-shu-woo’s top icon appeared as Cinnamon. I had to sign in my cart, not just once but three times, as it dropped my cart after I signed in as well as before. Some herbs were not working with the cart icon. Another item didn’t give me the option to click to purchase, and it did not display the cart icon, details, or other information. The most frustrating thing was making my most significant order, only to lose it time and time.

  16. Graham Bridges
    Sep 20, 2022

    A sloppy website

    A sloppy website that doesn’t support PO Box as the only USPS address that can be delivered. Incredibly high shipping costs are automatically applied—many backtracking steps to update auto-filled data. If you had made the shipping options clearer earlier, for example, UPS and USPS, there would be much less trouble.

  17. Paul Richardson
    Sep 18, 2022

    The website of Herb Co is straightforward to navigate

    The website of Herb Co is straightforward to navigate. My only issue is that you do not offer certificates or gift cards. The purchase is an anniversary present to my sibling, and I hope she enjoys the present I selected for her. Perhaps you can provide this option next year and let her choose her gift.

  18. Mark Stiemerling
    Sep 18, 2022

    Fix this issue for the long term

    I love your products and price, but I’m disappointed that I cannot access my account to make an order. It used to be that I called you, but now you’re charging to this. I suggest adding funds with various email addresses, but eventually, I’ll run out of emails. Fix this issue for the long term.

  19. Jenny Alcock
    Sep 15, 2022

    Correcting the credit card payment was difficult

    Correcting the credit card payment was difficult if I made a mistake in the last number. After fixing it and tapping to check out the correct number, it didn’t appear correctly on the final page. I made the same corrections by deleting and replacing the last number with the right number. I tapped to verify, but the previous page showed the credit card’s slot was empty. Then I tried the procedure over and over again.

  20. Jessica Black
    Aug 8, 2022

    Do your research before using this business

    Within 10 minutes of placing an order, I was trying to cancel the order. I was informed that my purchase was processed, and there was no option to stop the process. My account’s page stated that the order was not being taken care of. The company doesn’t care about maintaining customers and is unwilling to correct the situation. Customer service is inadequate at best. I had to cancel the order because I could find the product at a different location for much less expensive shipping. Do your research before using this business.

  21. Eleanor West
    Jul 26, 2022

    Very positive experience

    The very positive experience thus far. It’s easy to navigate, and the directions at the checkout are straightforward. I love the fact that they have details and information about every spice. I’m looking eagerly awaiting my order.

  22. Mary Myers
    Jul 16, 2022

    We're looking for more than an attractive letter or some free fiber

    It’s time to offer us wholesale discounts for our beverage producers. I’ve offered Herbco lots of money in the past and think you do not care about my loyalty to your company. One of the things that herb co did to show their appreciation was to give complimentary fiber samples.

    We offer discounts or even an extra 1 pound of tea. Or something significant to companies loyal to your business as I have been. We want to feel that you appreciate your patronage. We’re looking for more than an attractive letter or some free fiber.

  23. Barry English
    Jul 9, 2022

    I saved several hundred dollars.

    Of all the websites I’ve visited to purchase my teas (and there’s been many), this was the most simple. I like not having to scroll through 20 pages to find the tea I’m looking for. It’s a fantastic layout. I’m happy I made an effort to compare prices even though I did pay to ship (which I wouldn’t say I like doing). After reviewing the price, including shipping, I saved several hundred dollars.

  24. Iliana Soliz
    Jun 24, 2022

    Excellent customer service!

    Excellent customer service! I’ve retracted the one star because all the herbs I purchased were fresh and tasty. The old, stale product was immediately returned to me. My money, without needing me to replace it. They also told me they’d remove the item from their inventory to verify it since it was inside the “use-by” period. I’d certainly purchase from them again.

  25. Margaret Sperandeo
    May 11, 2022

    I've always loved shopping at Monterey Bay

    Shopping in Monterey Bay has always been a pleasure. This order will replace many medicinal herbs (pretty well everything I’ve purchased over the last couple of years) that I lost in a fire in February.

    With so much going on, I am trying to restock. Monterey Bay is still the only place that I buy from. We are grateful for all the help you have given us over the past two years. All my best wishes for these “interesting” days.

Write a review on Monterey Bay Herb Co

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

99Consumer for business

Customers' reviews are a great way to build trust and loyalty for your business.

About Monterey Bay Herb Co

Monterey Bay Herb Co. offers bulk herbs, spices, seasonings, teas, and essential oils.

8005006148
[email protected]
https://www.herbco.com
Watsonville, CA, United States