Monterey Bay Herb Co

Monterey Bay Herb Co

31 Reviews
(2.9)
31 Reviews

Monterey Bay Herb Co

reviews(2.9)
Rating (2.9)
star
Average!
1 Star
9
2 Star
4
3 Star
6
4 Star
4
5 Star
8

Q&A

Is Monterey Bay Herb Co legit?

Monterey Bay Herb Co has 31 reviews on 99consumer.com, with an average rating of 2.9 out of 5. This indicates that most consumers are dissatisfied with their business interactions and dealing. Therefore, caution is advised when considering purchases or engagements with the business.

How to reach Monterey Bay Herb Co customer care?

You can contact Monterey Bay Herb Co customer care via email at [email protected] or by calling them at 8005006148

Where is Monterey Bay Herb Co located?

Monterey Bay Herb Co is located at address Watsonville, CA, United States.

31 Reviews on Monterey Bay Herb Co

  1. Daniel Lingner
    1 rating

    Terrible customer service

    Jul 11, 2023

    I recently placed an order that went to my old address. I called and inquired as to the policy when this happens. I did not expect you to eat the cost and reship due to my error. However, I was expecting a little compassion or consideration. The person who answered the phone sounded like they had just woken up, been on drugs, or had severe flu.

    They did not care whatsoever about the mishap. I asked if there was at least a discount code or something I could use as I would have to order again, which would double my price. She said no. She said reshipping was not policy, and the company would not do that either.

    She said arrogantly and insultingly that the website asks to confirm the address multiple times before placing an order...like I'm an idiot or something. Your customer service is terrible, noncaring, and smart-ass arrogant. I said I think I will order from another company that acts like they care. She responds with Okay...bye.

    Who is this person you are paying to do customer service? Not sure it's possible to make a worse choice. The person who answered my call literally makes me nauseated and my skin crawl. Expected a lot more from Herbco.

  2. Allison Larkin
    5 rating

    Quick delivery

    May 24, 2023

    Prices are excellent, and the quantity you buy, the variety of goods available, website user-friendly and quick delivery.

  3. Jess Arsenault
    5 rating

    High top quality

    May 24, 2023

    The herbs I buy are of high top quality. Pittsburgh used to have stores similar to that. Although limited, there aren't many options; even the ones in the area do not provide the same range of herb options. I've never had a problem with them. Thanks for the service you provide to my client.

  4. Richard Eckenwiler
    5 rating

    It's always fresh and powerful

    Apr 26, 2023

    I love your peppermint! It's always fresh and powerful. Contrary to nearly everyone else, I do not make tea from it. I've been drinking peppermint for many years. I don't know why the reason behind my "peppermint addiction," but your peppermint is fantastic!

  5. Alex Robinson
    5 rating

    It was recommended to me by a friend

    Apr 10, 2023

    So there are many choices with excellent accessibility. I've received several deliveries, and everything has performed flawlessly without difficulties at all. I've even priced compared to various companies, and Herbco has a better price. It was recommended to me by a friend, and I'm happy. I'll continue to buy without hesitation.

  6. Anisha Johnson
    1 rating

    Former employees

    Mar 9, 2023

    I just like to say first off. I would hate to eat anywhere with bad hygiene, neither would I order from a company that's doesn't clean. Not to mention they always have sick people working cause they won't give there employees days off to get better. this company use to be great before it was sold off. ameriherb generally cared about there customer and they answered there calls, wasn't rude, returned voice mails, didn't loose the customers checks or information. and you should also know most of there products where rock's, trash, toys even has been found in the herbs and all of it isn't kept at the proper temperature sometimes it was to cold for the herbs other times it's insanely hot in there for the herbs. I know this cause we work in these extreme temperatures. look this place doesn't value there customer or employees I don't know why anyone would shop with them.

  7. Former employee
    1 rating

    Power hungry company

    Jan 30, 2023

    If you want to know your money is going to good people avoid this company at all costs! Upper management is some of the worst people you will ever encounter. They treat all their employees with absolutely no respect. Constant lies, manipulation and gaslighting.

  8. Bryant
    1 rating

    AVOID THIS COMPANY, FROM A FORMER EMPLOYEE

    Jan 28, 2023

    I worked for a company called Ameriherb for 4.5 years. In the beginning of January 2022 we were informed that Monterey Bay was buying our company. The head of the Monterey flew out to have a special meeting with us!

    He promised us NOTHING WOULD CHANGE, and he promised us that he would make sure we all got to keep our jobs. These statements would turn out to be the furthest thing from the truth.

    Immediately they fired all part time employees. We were then asked to do what basically amounts to contractor work for the next three months. Instead of hiring professionals to turn the warehouse around into a new business model, they used us. We ship herbs. We don’t paint. We aren’t certified to use scissor lifts for commercial purposes, and we sure weren’t given the proper PPE to clean the YEARS of dust and debris that had build up (until we asked, you shouldn’t have to ask for safety materials).

    Then as soon as the warehouse is ready for the new business model they fired several employees including myself. Why? So they could save money on wages. Instead of keeping employees that had dedicated years to this company they threw us away like trash just to pay slave wages.

    That was last July. Over the last months they have slowly fired each and every last original employee that dedicated time and hard work. Today I got word they fired the last two employees and the rest walked out. This is not the kind of company you want to support. Ray if you’re reading this I hope you have trouble sleeping at night.

  9. Stephan Subero
    5 rating

    I am a massive fan of this business

    Jan 17, 2023

    I am a massive fan of this business. The customer service is excellent! The herbs are unique, and they're well-packaged. The TEAS are fantastic. My orders have been delivered very quickly. The information on the web page is informative. Thank you for making the ordering of herbs easy.

  10. Olga
    1 rating

    Bad product and Bad Herb

    Dec 12, 2022

    I would not recommend getting their Herbs and Tea. Their support sucks, and they do not care about their client. I have been ordering for quite some time, but it was a nightmare when their herbs and tea. Nothing is good now.

  11. Katie Cronin
    1 rating

    Inferior products

    Oct 9, 2022

    I would have liked to have read the reviews. Then, I bought Cinnamon Sticks. They are not tasty or have a smell. They must be old. It smelled old. Decaf coffee smelled like detergent. When I sent an item back to them, I did not hear from them. Star Anise seemed fresh, so I gave it one star. I'm a first-time buyer and will be back shortly.

  12. Simon James
    4 rating

    This isn't as easy as it seems!

    Oct 8, 2022

    I love shopping generally. One issue I'm facing concerns that some items are not in stock for an indefinite period but are kept in the store (ex, the blueberry leaf). Also, I wouldn't say I like that I can't edit my cart from another page. I have to click on the carriage and then select for it to load on a different page. This isn't as easy as it seems!

  13. Yvonne Stansfield
    3 rating

    Shipping was previously much less expensive

    Oct 8, 2022

    I've used I Herb and the former Monterey bay spice company for a few years, but the service is falling off the cliff. I'll have to search for other sources, which is unfortunate since Monterey Bay was one of my top sources of botanicals for two years. Shipping was previously much less expensive, organics were would have been only a tiny fraction of the cost Pay pal was a nightmare to work with- not with other vendors, and took several days to finish. ; organics; organics; organics

  14. Derrick Sutlow
    4 rating

    Page was an unanswered problem

    Oct 6, 2022

    Page was an unanswered problem. Perhaps next time, it will be better comprehended. The teas I purchased before were of good quality. My sister is going to order the same thing and chopped/sifted ginger for her son, who has kidney failure, which is total. That's the reason I'm back.

  15. Tracy Horlock
    2 rating

    I was planning to buy more, but I ended up ordering less

    Oct 4, 2022

    I find it to be a bit misleading advertising that says free shipping for $300, and then if someone has the coupon for a new customer, you need to pay more than $300 to receive free shipping. I nearly didn't make my order due to this. It's completely false and is a lie to claim that you are entitled to free shipping. Put the amount in your cart. However, after applying coupons, you will no longer receive free shipping for the same price until you have added more items to your cart to pay for the coupon. I was planning to buy more, but I ended up ordering less.

  16. Catherine Bamforth
    1 rating

    There was an issue regarding the transaction

    Oct 3, 2022

    The checkout process you used to use was much better and more understandable. These new pages for products are complicated to understand. There was a time when you offered discounts after a certain quantity of bags. It is unclear if you use this method or not. I received a message when I checked out, which initially seemed to suggest there was an issue regarding the transaction. I thought that I wouldn't be able to complete the order and have to find a different vendor. As it appears that you're no longer offering bulk discounts, I'll likely look for another option shortly.

  17. Keith Smith
    3 rating

    You guys need to give us beverage manufacturers wholesale

    Oct 1, 2022

    It's time to offer wholesale discounts for our beverage producers. I've donated to Herbco lots of money throughout the years, and I believe you do not care about my loyalty to your company. One of the things that herb co did to show its appreciation was to provide fiber samples for free. We offer discounts or even an extra 1 pound of tea. Or something significant to businesses that are loyal as I have been. Let us know that you appreciate your patronage. We're looking for more than the occasional friendly letter or free fiber.

  18. John Kaye
    1 rating

    The site displayed several unresolved error messages regarding my address

    Oct 1, 2022

    The site displayed several unresolved error messages regarding my address. It was despite the address being right. This happened several times. It was not very beneficial. I was close to canceling the attempt to place an order, but I gave the order one more shot. Online orders must be quick and easy. If this happens again, I'll decide to move to a different site. Your competitors do not have this irritating feature. Could you not contact me?

  19. Peter Kitching
    3 rating

    Prices are much more expensive

    Sep 28, 2022

    Prices are much more expensive for essential items, and similar quality items can be found at a lower cost elsewhere. Many of the items are discontinued or are no longer available. We are missing the old Monterey. What is the reason you have Gold Rush listed? You'll never get it back. However, that's fine. I came up with the formula and had a different company blend for me in large quantities.

  20. Brian Moore
    2 rating

    The shipping cost was not disclosed

    Sep 26, 2022

    The shipping cost was not disclosed until after you had paid via Paypal, and you were provided with the shipping zip number. The shipping cost must be displayed before making the payment. I know that you are paying for the expenses for labor and materials when shipping. I thought that 2 pounds shipped by USPS at $11 were a bit high Mullein is a European product and meets the criteria for being "organic," which verifies that the requirements are being adhered to in a foreign country.

  21. Danny Malone
    2 rating

    The most frustrating

    Sep 22, 2022

    Ho-shu-woo's top icon appeared as Cinnamon. I had to sign in my cart, not just once but three times, as it dropped my cart after I signed in as well as before. Some herbs were not working with the cart icon. Another item didn't give me the option to click to purchase, and it did not display the cart icon, details, or other information. The most frustrating thing was making my most significant order, only to lose it time and time.

  22. Graham Bridges
    2 rating

    A sloppy website

    Sep 20, 2022

    A sloppy website that doesn't support PO Box as the only USPS address that can be delivered. Incredibly high shipping costs are automatically applied—many backtracking steps to update auto-filled data. If you had made the shipping options clearer earlier, for example, UPS and USPS, there would be much less trouble.

  23. Paul Richardson
    4 rating

    The website of Herb Co is straightforward to navigate

    Sep 18, 2022

    The website of Herb Co is straightforward to navigate. My only issue is that you do not offer certificates or gift cards. The purchase is an anniversary present to my sibling, and I hope she enjoys the present I selected for her. Perhaps you can provide this option next year and let her choose her gift.

  24. Mark Stiemerling
    3 rating

    Fix this issue for the long term

    Sep 18, 2022

    I love your products and price, but I'm disappointed that I cannot access my account to make an order. It used to be that I called you, but now you're charging to this. I suggest adding funds with various email addresses, but eventually, I'll run out of emails. Fix this issue for the long term.

  25. Jenny Alcock
    3 rating

    Correcting the credit card payment was difficult

    Sep 15, 2022

    Correcting the credit card payment was difficult if I made a mistake in the last number. After fixing it and tapping to check out the correct number, it didn't appear correctly on the final page. I made the same corrections by deleting and replacing the last number with the right number. I tapped to verify, but the previous page showed the credit card's slot was empty. Then I tried the procedure over and over again.

  26. Jessica Black
    1 rating

    Do your research before using this business

    Aug 8, 2022

    Within 10 minutes of placing an order, I was trying to cancel the order. I was informed that my purchase was processed, and there was no option to stop the process. My account's page stated that the order was not being taken care of. The company doesn't care about maintaining customers and is unwilling to correct the situation. Customer service is inadequate at best. I had to cancel the order because I could find the product at a different location for much less expensive shipping. Do your research before using this business.

  27. Eleanor West
    5 rating

    Very positive experience

    Jul 26, 2022

    The very positive experience thus far. It's easy to navigate, and the directions at the checkout are straightforward. I love the fact that they have details and information about every spice. I'm looking eagerly awaiting my order.

  28. Mary Myers
    3 rating

    We're looking for more than an attractive letter or some free fiber

    Jul 16, 2022

    It's time to offer us wholesale discounts for our beverage producers. I've offered Herbco lots of money in the past and think you do not care about my loyalty to your company. One of the things that herb co did to show their appreciation was to give complimentary fiber samples.

    We offer discounts or even an extra 1 pound of tea. Or something significant to companies loyal to your business as I have been. We want to feel that you appreciate your patronage. We're looking for more than an attractive letter or some free fiber.

  29. Barry English
    5 rating

    I saved several hundred dollars.

    Jul 9, 2022

    Of all the websites I've visited to purchase my teas (and there's been many), this was the most simple. I like not having to scroll through 20 pages to find the tea I'm looking for. It's a fantastic layout. I'm happy I made an effort to compare prices even though I did pay to ship (which I wouldn't say I like doing). After reviewing the price, including shipping, I saved several hundred dollars.

  30. Iliana Soliz
    4 rating

    Excellent customer service!

    Jun 24, 2022

    Excellent customer service! I've retracted the one star because all the herbs I purchased were fresh and tasty. The old, stale product was immediately returned to me. My money, without needing me to replace it. They also told me they'd remove the item from their inventory to verify it since it was inside the "use-by" period. I'd certainly purchase from them again.

  31. Margaret Sperandeo
    5 rating

    I've always loved shopping at Monterey Bay

    May 11, 2022

    Shopping in Monterey Bay has always been a pleasure. This order will replace many medicinal herbs (pretty well everything I've purchased over the last couple of years) that I lost in a fire in February.

    With so much going on, I am trying to restock. Monterey Bay is still the only place that I buy from. We are grateful for all the help you have given us over the past two years. All my best wishes for these "interesting" days.

Write a review on Monterey Bay Herb Co

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Do you own Monterey Bay Herb Co?

Customer reviews are a powerful tool for building trust and loyalty. Claim your profile to become a verified business owner.

Do you own Monterey Bay Herb Co?

Customer reviews are a powerful tool for building trust and loyalty. Claim your profile to become a verified business owner.

About Monterey Bay Herb Co

Monterey Bay Herb Co. provides botanical products, offering a diverse range of over 600 items. Established in 1997, the company has grown from a small operation in a garage to a significant player in the industry, serving various customers from tea shops to skincare brands. Their product portfolio includes conventional, wild-crafted, organic herbs and spices and a curated selection of loose-leaf and bagged teas. They also stock over 100 varieties of certified organic herbs and spices. Monterey Bay Herb Co. is known for its high-quality standards, with its products independently verified by third parties. They maintain a high in-stock level, ensuring orders are typically dispatched within two business days. The company's business philosophy is centered around supporting small businesses and acknowledging the power of herbs to impact everyday wellness. They offer competitive pricing and ensure all orders are shipped promptly from their facility. Their commitment to their customers and respect for botanicals' power sets Monterey Bay Herb Co. apart in their industry.

Read More
8005006148
https://www.herbco.com
Watsonville, CA, United States
523 views