Gardening Direct

Gardening Direct

46 Reviews
(2.5)
46 Reviews

Gardening Direct

reviews(2.5)
Rating (2.5)
star
Poor!
1 Star
17
2 Star
10
3 Star
6
4 Star
7
5 Star
6

Q&A

Is Gardening Direct legit?

Gardening Direct has 46 reviews on 99consumer.com, with an average rating of 2.5 out of 5. This indicates that most consumers are dissatisfied with their business interactions and dealing. Therefore, caution is advised when considering purchases or engagements with the business.

How to reach Gardening Direct customer care?

You can contact Gardening Direct customer care via email at [email protected] or by calling them at

Where is Gardening Direct located?

Gardening Direct is located at address United Kingdom.

46 Reviews on Gardening Direct

  1. Carole connelly
    2 rating

    Multiple branches in disrepair

    Jun 5, 2023

    I purchased two identical plants. The first plant was delivered with multiple branches (including the entire head) in disrepair. After I provided photos, "We're ng the damage, but it will not be a problem for the plant that will grow to come'.

  2. Vanessa Kelley
    3 rating

    Unsatisfied

    May 8, 2023

    Unsatisfied after receiving sent an email on the weekend to confirm that my order had been delivered, and it arrived on Tuesday. The plants used for plugs have dried up (I guess it was because of an unintentional Bank Holiday )....feel a small amount of thought could have been employed on this occasion).

  3. Sara Newell
    1 rating

    Not receiving a response

    May 8, 2023

    I ordered my plants and haven't received them. I emailed them with no response; I tried the messaging system several times but not receiving a response. If I don't hear back from them within the next two days, I'll take them to trade the standards! If there was an issue regarding my purchase, they might have called me; I had to pay PS71.00 and will revise this review once I have some responses.

  4. Michael Musgrove
    4 rating

    A successful yield

    May 6, 2023

    I went with these in the past, and they were horrible. I contacted them, and they were able to replace them, and my trust in the Company was reinstated. I thought about trying again. They arrived pretty sound but were scorched and less than I expected. The plants are now being cultivated, and they're growing inside a greenhouse that is not heated. We can only hope for a successful yield.

  5. Daniel Tristan
    2 rating

    I was never assisted

    May 5, 2023

    The order was traced because it was supposed to be delivered to my address, but the package was not received. I was home the day it was accepted; no one had come to provide anything to my residence. I immediately wrote an email to customer service, but nobody responded to my email. I then called them after four days and explained the issue. However, I was never assisted. The staff told me I'd receive a response within two days, so I await to hear if the case will be addressed.

  6. Kristen Ferry
    3 rating

    Not impressed

    May 4, 2023

    The Mirabilis Jalapa arrived without guidelines regarding planting the tubers or caring for the plants. I was not impressed after looking at the web and followings to keep them in a container, and nothing occurred, not even a single green sprout visible. Not impressed.

  7. Randle Drane
    3 rating

    The compost are magnificent

    May 3, 2023

    Plum The tree and the compost are magnificent. The blueberry plants, as well as Tomato plants, aren't anything that you can write about. The raspberry canes are yet to begin sprouting. A greater emphasis on quality and fewer discounts of 10% is a good idea.

  8. Brian Olesen
    2 rating

    Just not thrilled

    May 2, 2023

    Six of the geraniums I purchased were snapped right by the root. They wouldn't last, one or two maybe, but six isn't; I'm not sure if this is due to the packing process or during delivery. And I'm just not thrilled.

  9. Tess Harris
    1 rating

    Poor shape

    May 1, 2023

    Plants arrived with dried compost, with broken leaves, and were in poor shape. Three died, and the remaining 22 out of 60 were lower than others. The company's representative, Busisiswe Ndlovu, could not be more helpful. This company has been a staple in our lives over time... but not anymore!!

  10. Phoenix Dawn
    1 rating

    Not as good

    Apr 15, 2023

    I was ordered in January for plants to make bedding. I received notice that my order had been delivered in March, but it never showed up. We contacted the company; the order was completed; however, without Impatiens since they were already sold out. I've received a part of my new order. However, I am still waiting for the begonias. I am usually satisfied with their service. However, they were not as good this time. I want to mention that I feel like the plant plants I received are of excellent quality.

  11. Michael Hsu
    3 rating

    The plants are of a typically high standard.

    Apr 1, 2023

    It was not up to the usual high standard. The box was left upside down on the doorstep and crushed/dropped when transported upon opening the package. In one of the cases that held the fuchsias, the contents taken out of the individual compartments were not damaged. The container that contained all the plants (60),30%, had been removed from the tray, luckily not damaged. The plants are of a typically high standard.

  12. Jeannette Joiner
    1 rating

    The poor service.

    Mar 31, 2023

    I called today to find out I had already received my plants, and Yodel delivered them. I am still waiting on my order number, 11491425. I Yodelso told that yodel takYodelphoto of your address when they provided it. Still, it seems that no one from yodel visYodelmy home today since they are supposed to be delivered. Someone is telling porkies that this isn't me, but I am being told I am lying. The bottom line is that I will never use Garden Direct again due to the poor service.

  13. Cheryl Palumbo
    1 rating

    The description was of the petunias

    Mar 28, 2023

    I was informed that an address on the catalog wasn't correct, but I used the number listed on the website and have checked it since. The description was of the petunias, which is why the problem. I was told that the service was not satisfactory and therefore unsuitable to you, so I've been snubbed by someone other, and correspondence has been ongoing since I think the item I ordered is no longer available! They'll start blooming in the fall at this rate! What will I do if I don't get my plugs by the deadline?

  14. Shelley Rutledge
    1 rating

    It would be impossible

    Mar 27, 2023

    The package was taped on one side in the courier's tape. After opening the box, I noticed two plants were missing. I made contact with GD & sent a photo. They responded by saying they'd sent two missing plants but didn't consider whether all twelve plants had been removed and returned. It would be impossible to determine which one was missing. I asked them to replace the entire pack, and I've not heard from them since.

  15. Cindi gannon
    1 rating

    The plants and packaging were in good shape

    Mar 25, 2023

    There was no information about issues in plant availability until I rang, and I received misinformation and suggestions. The plants and packaging were in good shape, but the petunias were miniature, and two different plants were added to the black-eyed Susan collection that was not even climbers. One of the plants in the same batch also had an infestation on the back of the leaf. After many years of buying and recommending plants from the company to others, I am entirely deflated this year.

  16. Nicole Castillo
    4 rating

    The gazanias were perfectly fine.

    Mar 23, 2023

    The plants arrived and appeared to be well-packed. However, some plugs emerged from their tray. There were 60 plugs; 5 were fragile and might not make it through. The gazanias were perfectly fine.

  17. Shayne Lellis
    4 rating

    I want to order them again.

    Mar 22, 2023

    The fuchsias were delivered quickly, and, even though they hadn't been able to travel well, they were outside of their crates. They were fully recovered in just 24 hours after they were planted in pots. After only two days, they appear very healthy and have new shoots growing. I want to order them again.

  18. Darth Ewok
    2 rating

    The trailing begonias were a disaster.

    Mar 21, 2023

    The trailing begonias were a disaster. I only saved 45 out of 60. They are so tiny; they are supposed to be larger plugs, but they were smaller than the little garden begonias I purchased. Very dissatisfied again; I believe they were delivered too early, the trailing ones, that's which resulted in a loss of money.

  19. Tina Ford
    2 rating

    I'm still waiting on the other half of the order.

    Mar 20, 2023

    I'm still waiting on the other half of the order. The one I received contained all the plants smashed out of the tiny pots; it was a complete mess. Airbags were covered with plants too. I've saved most of my order, but I'll never purchase from you again. it'sIt'somplete mess; I hope that when I receive the remainder of my order, it's better than the initial one.

  20. Marcia Boyle
    1 rating

    It was the courier's blame.

    Mar 19, 2023

    The transport severely damaged plants and the packaging inside the box wasn't enough to hold the plants in place. Many of them were pushed out of the tray cells. I don't think it was the courier's blame.

  21. Travis Hamby
    4 rating

    I haven't received a response.

    Mar 18, 2023

    Petunias arrived in good shape and with total marks. There is one issue that I usually purchase gardening-ready plants. The catalog lists different size options from garden-ready plugs. However, the ordering section on the website does not mention the garden-ready plants. I've emailed about this, but I haven't received a response. That is the reason I have decided to give it four stars instead.

  22. Debbie Frederick
    1 rating

    Still waiting on the plant replacement.

    Mar 17, 2023

    Unfortunately, there were two problems with my order. One plant was missing - this is now resolved. But, the second problem that the plant is damaged and dead remains unsolved. After many emails and photos I sent to the garden direct; they informed me that the plant is covered by the lifetime guarantee, meaning it can replace... Still waiting on the plant replacement. I've also tried calling the customer helpline, only for the caller to pretend they can't hear me and cut off the call! I appreciate your help.

  23. Diana Hochberg
    5 rating

    I am very impressed

    Mar 16, 2023

    The first time I've placed an order with Gardening Direct, I wish I'd had them earlier! The plants arrived in good shape and excellent packaging as they were delivered. They were all larger than I had expected,d each one performed well and thrived after I put them in pots. I am very impressed and will purchase more shortly.

  24. Rebecca Mandel
    1 rating

    Excellent service

    Mar 13, 2023

    A couple of weeks ago, I attempted to access my account only and was informed that it was canceled and that I needed to apply again. So, I placed an order for bulbs with my debit card. The bulbs arrived in good shape and with excellent service. You decide to purchase more, but no way. Trying three times, and each time, my debit card was declined. Don't like your business? There are many other garden stores available.

  25. Rosalind Alexander
    5 rating

    The order was handled quickly.

    Mar 12, 2023

    The other week, I talked to one of your customer service team regarding a problem with a lime tree I bought from—an amiable and accommodating woman. I sent photos of the lime ( 6 L ) and received a prompt response that a replacement was to be delivered. The lime arrived yesterday, and I am incredibly grateful and pleased with it and the blood orange which came in the first package. The order was handled quickly. No order number for replacement OR11773444 THANKYOU

  26. Sue Santoni
    4 rating

    I am satisfied with my garden

    Mar 10, 2023

    I was up-to-date with delivery dates and was pleased with the service. But I gave the service four stars as I was somewhat dissatisfied that a few dozen plants had been damaged and could not grow. Apart from that, I am satisfied with my garden. Thank you

  27. Mary Embry
    2 rating

    They were in a highly damaged state

    Mar 9, 2023

    My order I received was recently, and even though the plants were in good condition at the time they were taken away, by the moment they arrived at me, they were in a highly damaged state because of the poor packaging; I believe that it was due to the rough handling by the delivery drivers. Most plants were taken out of their containers and scattered throughout the box. Could you look into alternative packaging similar to the other suppliers? If yes, I'd look into purchasing other plants you sell.

  28. Chris Crawford
    5 rating

    They are always in good health and condition.

    Mar 8, 2023

    I've used Gardening Direct for years to supply my plants with plugs. I would strongly suggest them. They are always in good health and condition. There is no doubt that you will receive more plants for your budget. It is necessary to cultivate them for a time, so you need a greenhouse before planting them into the ground, so using either one or even a cold frame might be a good idea.

  29. Susan Jackson
    3 rating

    Hey were well-groomed plants perfewerefor

    Mar 6, 2023

    The delivery was delayed by three weeks than I had been advised, and I was planning to turn down my orders since they were late, and I was concerned that they might have been too tiny. But I was delighted when they arrived because they were well-groomed plants perfewerefor my hanging baskets.

  30. Douglas Pospisil
    2 rating

    Sustaining damage that was not repairable to over half

    Mar 5, 2023

    Very, very unhappy with my purchase. The packaging lacked care labels or plant labels and was hacked badly during transportation. As a result, (very dried out) plants were scattered throughout the box and nearly 25% of the tray, sustaining damage that was not repairable to over half. We will order from you again. ???? Thank you for your response. Ron.

  31. Frank Klein
    2 rating

    They're not yet old enough

    Mar 4, 2023

    Poor quality plants Some are too tiny to be sure which ones will endure, they're not yet old enough, and others have damaged leaves. In. Transport, I won't be able to use it again, but it is worth spending more for mature plants at nurseries; receiving a refund resulted in an invoice for credit, but not what I wanted.

  32. Rich Leaver
    3 rating

    This an error made by your company,

    Mar 2, 2023

    I've sent two emails to your customer support department. In addition to receiving an automated acknowledgment, I haven't received any response. I'm worried that Yodel shipped my order, but the box was empty! Is this an error made by your company, or was it someone from Yodel who removed the plants from the container? We do not know!

  33. Deborah Copson
    2 rating

    There is a need to make a change.

    Mar 1, 2023

    This was redelivery because the original one was damaged. The packaging was opened, and most of the plant materials were gone. The package that was delivered again had the same issue. However, this time, the plants weren't falling out, and luckily. It could be that the packaging isn't appropriate for the task or the container is rough. There is a need to make a change.

  34. Gary Igo
    1 rating

    I am waiting for a reply.

    Feb 28, 2023

    I was unhappy with my plant's many dead stems, which should have been cut back to allow for new growth. I have sent an email to Gardening Direct, & sent the photo, but I am waiting for a reply.

  35. Jeanne Bray
    1 rating

    Terrible customer service.

    Feb 26, 2023

    The delivery was made on the 20th of March during our holiday. It was put on the doorstep and was in a poor state when we returned four days later. There was no communication regarding delivery which was supposed to be delivered in March. Terrible customer service. I will never buy through Garden Direct again—a

  36. Kim johnson
    1 rating

    They were in deplorable condition and damaged

    Feb 24, 2023

    The begonia plants I ordered were delivered to an incorrect address since I live at 12 malts, and they went to the number 7 malts. After receiving an email confirming that my plants were born, I rang your company and was informed that one of your employees was told I was responsible for locating the plants. But when I received the plant five days later, they were in deplorable condition and damaged. Not happy.

  37. Elaine Lochem
    1 rating

    The last time I'll be using this company

    Feb 23, 2023

    The customer service was terrible. A large order was placed. Despite several phone calls, it was shipped in March, but it wasn't received. There is no UK telephone number. I was constantly calling call centers located around the world! The last time I'll be using this company!

  38. Susan Hoover
    2 rating

    A cheque delivered to us without explanation

    Feb 22, 2023

    After many years of loyalty as customers, we encountered issues with our purchase; G.Direct missed an item in our order, even though we paid for them. After a phone call, they finally accepted that the item was missing from the order and was willing to add them. The order was delivered without the thing. We contacted G.Direct to inform them that the item was missing, and they assured us that the thing would be following. The week ended with a cheque delivered to us without explanation. We believe it was to pay for the item that was missing. The service was inferior.

  39. Amelia Johnson
    1 rating

    My second purchase was not right.

    Feb 21, 2023

    The order was not correct. I protested. My second purchase was not right. I protested. The third time I ordered was incorrect. I was frustrated and gave up. Customer service does not talk to the warehouse. They are simply on autopilot. GD did not receive money from this particular order. I did not receive the item I had paid for. Everyone loses.

  40. Susan Jensen
    1 rating

    Insulting customer service and rudeness

    Feb 20, 2023

    Don't bother. According to the order, they sent giant conifers instead of small, slow-growing spread rockery species. The plant I received did not include the species listed in the advert—insulting customer service and rudeness. The person who talks to you isn't listening and claims you aren't paying attention. I have NEVER had such poor customer service. There was no Resolution; PS25 was down the drain for trees of the enormous size I'll never plant within my rockery—a bunch of scammers. AVOID, AVOID, AVOID! I'm so mad I'm shaking. .... Now for Twitter!

  41. Stacy Summers
    5 rating

    Excellent service

    Jan 24, 2023

    I have been using gardening directly for my bedding and other plants for several years. You will get more value in return than at a garden center. They've never disappointed me Well packaged and always delivered in perfect quality. Excellent service

  42. Caleb Roth
    5 rating

    Its Customer Service and aftercare are exceptional

    Sep 24, 2022

    Its Customer Service and aftercare are exceptional. There was an issue with our furniture made of rattan,n and after talking to them and sending pictures,s we were given an entire replacement. This service is not often seen and to have it handled in two weeks is impressive. We will continue to work with Garden Direct and recommend them.

  43. Nancy Gneiting
    1 rating

    The tree was delivered with 6/7 broken stems

    Aug 1, 2022

    I purchased a lemon tree as a birthday gift for my mother. The tree was delivered with 6/7 broken stems. The container it was shipped in was too small. I've posted an email complete with images and contacted customer service, but I have not received any response from them.

  44. Terry Leach
    4 rating

    Excellent communication

    Jul 12, 2022

    Excellent communication regarding the arrival of the plants. The plants were delivered safely with no upside-down injuries. The lobelia in one tray looked quite different from the rest. It looked like the dead flowers were cut off. It seemed to be dying. It has been getting a lot to drink in our greenhouse and getting a better look. The other plants have been planted.

    The geraniums were less than we expected, so they were brought to the conservatory. The Rozanne Geranium was of a good size and was added to a trough in which the plants we have had for the past three years are developing. It's not as large as the one that was killed but we hope that next year, it will appear exactly the same.

  45. Dylan Zilbert
    5 rating

    Very content gardener

    Jun 28, 2022

    Living on the Scottish island, plants usually require longer to arrive, and, as you can imagine, you are either gasping for water or dying. However, these plants were in good condition and survived. Very content gardener

  46. Beverly Simpson
    4 rating

    Excellent value

    Jun 1, 2022

    The initial response was prompt to request that they not ship until following my Christmas break. My order was broken up into several deliveries, which is perfect except that the plants arrived two weeks following the other plants.

    Since they were unidentified varieties, I couldn't plant them after they came since I wanted to plant the shrubs first. (I had ordered gardening supplies to ensure that I didn't need to grow them in the first place, though they appear to be okay.

    Some of the mixed plants looked a bit unhealthy and seemed to have been crushed a bit during transit; however, the roots appear healthy, and they'll do fine.

    An inventory of mixed varieties would have been helpful - some of the pot labels were hard to read; however, they generally seem to be a reasonable price for the money.

Write a review on Gardening Direct

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Do you own Gardening Direct?

Customer reviews are a powerful tool for building trust and loyalty. Claim your profile to become a verified business owner.

About Gardening Direct

Gardening Direct is one of the leading Bedding Plant Suppliers in the UK. We also have a wide selection of Shrubs, Perennials and Bulbs, Accessories, and more!

https://gardeningdirect.co.uk
United Kingdom
85 views