Care.com

Care.com

35 Reviews
(1.1)
35 Reviews
Rating (1.1)
star
Poor!
1 Star
33
2 Star
1
3 Star
1
4 Star
0
5 Star
0

Q&A

Is Care.com legit?

Care.com has 35 reviews on 99consumer.com, with an average rating of 1.1 out of 5. This indicates that most consumers are dissatisfied with their business interactions and dealing. Therefore, caution is advised when considering purchases or engagements with the business.

How to reach Care.com customer care?

You can contact Care.com customer care via email at [email protected] or by calling them at (877) 227-3115

Where is Care.com located?

Care.com is located at address Austin, TX, USA.

35 Reviews on Care.com

  1. Miland
    1 rating

    0 star for care.com

    Jul 5, 2023

    If I had to give it a zero-star rating, I would say that my experience with care.com has been highly disappointing.

    I signed up for their services about a year ago but ended up canceling because I couldn't find anyone to use them. I tried posting on their website but received no response, so I canceled.

    However, to my surprise, they charged me again in August this year, even though I didn't authorize it. I tried to contact them to discuss the unauthorized charge, but I couldn't find a phone number anywhere. I searched on Google but couldn't find any contact information to discuss the issue.

    So, I contacted my bank and asked them to cancel the charge. The bank representative suggested that I try balancing their platform again.

    I changed my password to access their platform and saw that they advised me to cancel after noticing the incorrect charge on my account statement. I thought the issue was resolved, but then I was charged again through care.com.

    My bank claimed that they had proof that I had canceled within a month of the charge. The problem is that I hadn't signed up with care.com again after the August charge, so how was I supposed to know when to cancel my account if I didn't authorize the charge in the first place?

    Now my bank is telling me I need to prove that I didn't enroll or cancel my account about a year ago. I must deal with care.com directly, even though I never consented to the charges.

  2. Jeff Mueller
    1 rating

    No support is ultimately a waste of time and cash

    Jun 5, 2023

    This is a terrible site. The site charges caregivers to create profiles as well as background checks. This is not the norm for caregivers! The inability to correct incorrect information and no support is ultimately a waste of time and cash. Could you not use the service as a caregiver? They'll steal your money, create a false profile, and not offer refunds. It's a complete ripoff of a website, and I'm not sure it still exists

  3. Justin Gohde
    1 rating

    Be careful!

    May 5, 2023

    Microsoft says that the business suffered a data breach, and my password had been leaked, so I attempted to log into my account and reset it but could not log in. Did they ask me to know my Social Security number in Oton... Then the password leaked? This is a huge no. It took them a few days to respond to me and inform me that my account had been removed at my request, which meant that I could not access the report and didn't get any bookings or reservations from them. Create your own business, and be careful! Don't lend money to anyone trying to earn money from your site.

  4. Soraya Renner
    1 rating

    Beware of caregivers and customers

    May 3, 2023

    If you're a caregiver when you register as a caregiver care.com, The information that you input about your charges and the types of services you provide do not necessarily reflect precisely what your customer sees from their perspective. You wonder whether you're getting any new jobs and known absurdity in the information you check about the customer or the family's side. If you attempt to seek help with the issue, they do not know and will make you provide screenshots and then explain the same thing over and over. Beware of caregivers and customers. Check out the bios of your patients, and don't depend on the information provided in a Google search. You're in for a shaky shot when dealing with them, and you should not even be able to trust the information they provide. It's a pity!!

  5. Jan Garvin
    1 rating

    Scam

    May 2, 2023

    Scam. They made me pay for services I was not able to access. They took my money, and the automated system alerted me I could not use the service. Their customer service team will take a week to reply to every message. There is no choice but to contact or escalate the issue to the manager. This is an aspect of their business practice. It would help if you got rid of this company.

  6. Henry Desmond
    1 rating

    Inferior customer service

    May 1, 2023

    I was able to locate pet sitters, but the only method to be able to see their messages as well as connect to potential sitters was to make an upgrade to my profile. If I made this upgrade and asked a sitter to meet me, I waited five days before receiving a cryptic message that said there was a security issue and that my request was canceled. There were no specifics, and when I attempted to contact you through chat (the only option is email), I received a BS response. They could not give me any additional details. It was untrue. My account will be billed the $38 monthly cost for their services: inferior customer service and support procedure.

  7. Arched Bunni
    1 rating

    Avoid these companies

    Apr 14, 2023

    I'd rate it zero If I could. I was unaware of the quarterly fee I had to pay. I have already spent more than $400. I never even logged in to the site for an entire year. Therefore, I was not using the services they offer. If I reached the leadership of their company's leadership situation, I was sent an email from their "care supervisor" telling me they couldn't assist me. I was never given an address to call and speak to a representative. Avoid these companies! It's a profit-driven firm.

  8. Michelle Szczep
    1 rating

    Care.com is a total fraud.

    Jan 22, 2023

    Care.com is a total fraud. They require you to pay $45 for their first month, even to send a message to a potential caregiver. The app is a bit shaky and unresponsive. Additionally, they force you to sign a contract to pay for the service you want before meeting with the sitter. It's unbelievable that this person requires families to spend so many dollars on the process without having a conversation with the candidate or obtaining the assurance of taking care of them. I felt I shouldn't be paying for this service and will never do it again.

  9. Meera Budhan
    1 rating

    Fraudsters ripped me off

    Nov 8, 2022

    Similar experience to the one below me. Fraudsters ripped me off of a whole day of child care, and now I am in the hands of the nanny who lied to obtain an amount back. I would hate to be involved with the police, but I need my money returned.

  10. Natalie Tolson
    1 rating

    A lot of money but got no results

    Nov 6, 2022

    A lot of money but got no results. There was no caregiver for my mother there. And it was a straightforward task to cook and serve. I didn't even ask for light cleaning. Zero! Some caregivers are charging ridiculous fees while others have already working with their clients. I've been nearly one year with care.com as I have paid the total amount, but you can see that there are no new caregivers on the site. All the same people for the past ten months! Care.com is not able to attract new caregivers. Do your best to save your money, and do not bother joining.

  11. John Whitfield
    1 rating

    Absolutely a scam

    Nov 6, 2022

    Absolutely a scam; I was charged $77 for their Premium Membership, but the service promised was not offered. Agents on the internet are not very good at explaining policies. DO NOT USE THIS SITE. Check out the site before deciding to sign up. I am not happy, and I want my money returned.

  12. Denise Yorke
    1 rating

    I've been scammed

    Nov 4, 2022

    I thought about buying their product, but I searched for them before signing up. It's a complete fraud, and I cannot believe they are legal. I receive several emails daily stating that they have an applicant willing to help. The message is blurred until I sign up for $38 per month or a year-long subscription for more than $120, and I realize that I've been scammed. I've had my share of scams before, but not this time! ​

  13. Trevor Hodder
    1 rating

    The site is managed accounts are replaced by non-existent employers

    Nov 4, 2022

    The site is managed accounts are replaced by non-existent employers. I believe Care.com has a lot of fake profiles and jobs that don't exist. Finding jobs on their site is difficult, but they know how to debit your credit card every month. Consumer security should look into this Agency!

  14. John Waters
    1 rating

    A terrible service

    Nov 3, 2022

    A terrible service that is ineffective has low standards, and appears family-oriented even though they're not. They are after your money and don't value the customer or their experience.

  15. Mark Roxburgh
    1 rating

    The company is a fraud

    Nov 1, 2022

    The company is a fraud. It keeps charging monthly fees, even after you cancel and talk to representatives. Won't give you a refund. You only get to return half of your membership. The company claims it won't auto-renew, but it will. Avoid it.

  16. David Rawlings
    1 rating

    A terrible service

    Oct 29, 2022

    A terrible service. I paid for a year's "premium service" and tried to find sitters, but with no success. They were kind enough to let me downgrade to regular membership, but they did not take my money. Beware of the buyer. Thank you.

  17. Rhona Ferns
    2 rating

    The error and would be issuing the refund

    Oct 28, 2022

    I joined a subscription. Care.com issued three unauthorized charges on my credit card and the contract-based subscription. When I called Care.com, they said they could do nothing and advised me to dispute my credit company. They appeared unaffected by potential fraud/embezzlement in their business. I'm fighting the charges and reinstating my credit card to avoid further fraud. After a few days, I received a call from someone who contacted me to inform me that they'd found the error and would be issuing the refund.

  18. Peter Bunyan
    1 rating

    I want to give a ZERO-star review if I can

    Oct 25, 2022

    I want to give a ZERO-star review if I can. This site and service are fraudulent. Please don't sign up for an account at care.com; they'll charge you $155 without notifying the customer and will not offer a refund. There's no 1800 number, which should have been an alarm—the only means to reach the member's area via chat and email. The sitters I came across on this site were lower than the hiring quality.

  19. Kylie Musk
    1 rating

    Poorly constructed

    Oct 24, 2022

    Poorly constructed. I've spent days browsing for a suitable babysitter. If this wasn't hard enough, the vast majority of the listings say "not available for booking at this time" There ought to be a filter that can make this less of a problem. If you are unavailable, I do not have to look up your bio! There's something wrong here. I sent 48 messages in one day and got two responses. 2!!!! A ridiculous waste of time.

  20. Liam Jones
    1 rating

    The site isn't user-friendly

    Oct 21, 2022

    The site isn't user-friendly. The methods employed by care.com are very misleading. I'm losing money. It isn't easy to get in touch with an individual. I couldn't even access my profile on their site. It was just in the page "making your profile" section. I would not recommend this business.

  21. Alec Branton
    1 rating

    Scam!

    Oct 20, 2022

    Scam! I provided them with my debit card in error for background checks. Didn't get one. When I tried to cancel, I was told they did not have a information about me. I filled in the correct information. There is no chance to reset my password. This means I'm not able to change my password. Then they began to ask me to provide the social security numbers of my children. It is said that they need it to conduct background checks because they're working to protect individuals. They are scammers trying to take your identity. It's awry to request SS numbers. I had to remove my debit card after a an extreme discomfort. I filed a complaint with the federal trade commission, something I would recommend everyone do. Doubtful this will be reported publicly. Crooks. I didn't hear anything from them since I had figured it out before it was too late.

  22. Colin Bentick
    1 rating

    I would rate zero stars in the event

    Oct 10, 2022

    I would rate zero stars in the event that I could. I've contacted about 58 families within a span of two weeks, and not one response. It's not even polite, thank you. We have discovered a different family. This site isn't offering any sort of service, and it is charging us to waste our time. Based on my reviews, I assume I will be charged even though I've had my subscription cancelled. I attempted to request a refund but couldst not reach them. I've spent hours trying to locate a contact information however there isn't one. There are only dead ends. I believe this is deliberate since you won't be held responsible e if your clients cannot reach you. This business is operating on high-end professional fraud. Do not fall for it.

  23. Michelle Cullwick
    1 rating

    A complete cost and waste of time

    Oct 9, 2022

    A total cost and a waste of time. There aren't any good babysitters or nannies here. They don't care about providing babysitting for your family, and they will not respond if they aren't interested. I'm not sure why they registered on the website. Don't waste time or money. Our husband and I have tried a few times over the past few years but haven't found anyone. They all say they're not interested.

  24. Lynette Czerniak
    1 rating

    The service has been deteriorating since three years ago

    Oct 4, 2022

    The service has been deteriorating since we first tried it three years ago. There isn't any live help. There is no telephone assistance. There is no chat support. They will stop posting regularly every three weeks without notice. If you decide to post it, you will have to start over. It's not possible to reopen it. Their application has many bugs they, by themselves, acannotfix. It is too complicated and is not worth the effort or expense.

  25. Syafiq Amiruzan
    1 rating

    Terrible

    Oct 2, 2022

    Terrible. I had advertised for several months on Care.com to promote our care business. I received an email from Care.com earlier in the week to apologize for canceling the membership. I have never canceled my membership. When I tried to contact them, they told me they'd never heard from us! Despite being in constant contact with them for months and paying fees! livable! This company is a tiger with its head in the air!.. There's no support via phone, and there is nothing. We are trying desperately to fill our vacancies, which has been a complete disaster. Is there anyone who can help?

  26. Kathryn Mccormick
    1 rating

    Communication between caregivers is abysmal

    Oct 1, 2022

    I couldn't find a nanny from the numerous messages I left. Communication between caregivers is abysmal. Only four people responded to my email in the hundreds of messages I've sent. If the job isn't a good fit for them, the best thing to do is send a text message that they are declining. And to add to it, you can't remove the credit card information without first speaking to someone, and they keep charging you and then refuse to reimburse you.

  27. Carla Chandler
    1 rating

    Poor customer service

    Sep 28, 2022

    Don't - don't. I discovered an excellent cleaner for my home. However, I was charged after canceling my subscription through their app. The APP clearly stated that my subscription had been canceled. The email I received said I needed to cancel or manage my subscription through the Apple account. I then replied but received an email stating this problem was solved. Yes, it's resolved for them. In this manner, their app appears to be deceitful. Poor communication and poor customer service.

  28. Adie Bishop
    1 rating

    If I could rate this as a zero-star rating

    Sep 25, 2022

    If I could rate this as a zero-star rating, I would. It's the 2nd time that I have signed up. Yes, I should have known better the first time around. You can cancel everything you wish from their site. However, you must contact them for them to stop making money off of you. It is necessary to notify them. They are thieves and are so insincere. I have worked hard for my money and had someone steal it and then not return it. I will never make use of these services again. I learned the lesson after a second time. Shame on you for taking care.com

  29. Alison Riches
    1 rating

    It's an excellent site to find the services you require

    Sep 15, 2022

    It's an excellent site to find the services you require. However, despite trying to find caregivers for multiple reasons (senior care or child care, pet care), I was able to find unresponsive people who would not respond to my messages or hat would claim they were available, only to come back just a few days later to declare that they are booked. I didn't get anything from care.com and wasted many hours searching for caregivers on their website (and it cost me a tiny small amount of money - a massive waste!)

  30. Joanne Macleod
    1 rating

    I wouldn't recommend this business

    Sep 11, 2022

    My email was sold or shared without my consent. This is evident because I haven't found other "care" related searches. I canceled my three-month membership. Care.com has been my only option, and I'm getting emails about the importance of caring for older people and receiving a medical certificate for home care. In this regard, I wouldn't recommend this business.

  31. Eileen Ryan
    1 rating

    Their app doesn't work

    Sep 10, 2022

    Their app doesn't work. Care sent me texts to reply to fake job inquiries. It was an attempt to make me join to be paid through Care. This is an incredibly creepy idea, as their customer support isn't there. The entire website is a mess. They're like Nazis with your personal information, impossible to update and edit. A very confusing website to navigate. I'll do my advertisement as a tutor, nanny, and pet sitter. The CARE website is a scam, and you cannot speak to someone by phone with problems regarding how their website functions.

  32. Charlie Arnold
    1 rating

    I would rate them as zero

    Sep 8, 2022

    I would rate them as zero. I was charged the premium cost, have not found a single individual willing to work two days per week and was immunized for the entire year. At the close of the year, I was not contacted to determine whether I wanted to continue the service and was then charged a second time. Don't use their service. This is a scam! The site is not professional and very difficult to work with.

  33. Stephen Burkin
    1 rating

    This is a scam!

    Sep 2, 2022

    A lot of money for basically letting you contact people. We have got hundreds of people, and around 4 of them replied. Two said they would not do further work, and two did not fit. It was a total cost-cutting exercise. Advertise in your local newspaper, or place an advert on nextdoor.com for free. This is a scam!

  34. Bernadette Mann
    1 rating

    Terrible feature

    May 20, 2022

    It's funny. Nearly every negative review here is about auto-renewal. This is a terrible feature for any company website.

    This is misleading, and it can be challenging to find a place where you can cancel your automatic renewal service.

    What about giving customers a heads-up before automatic charges are made to their credit cards? This is a scam. It's not true.

    Care.com has been my go-to service for years. I have paid all of my fees, and even though I had canceled in good time, they refused to refund me.

    They refused to change their minds when times were tough, with inflation in every area. I refuse to use this service.

  35. Steve Mayer
    3 rating

    Do not trust Katie Klein as your nanny

    May 4, 2022

    Warning: Katie Klein (Katherine Klein) is a dangerous girl. She is a nanny, even though she hasn’t worked as a nanny in many years. She is also extremely violent. She is the most selfish, evil person I have ever seen in my entire life.

    It would help if you did not consider hiring her as a care.com nanny. She has a history of attacking strangers, attacking me, my friend, and even attacking her mother. Even more frightening is that she will be having a baby in just two months.

Write a review on Care.com

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Do you own Care.com?

Customer reviews are a powerful tool for building trust and loyalty. Claim your profile to become a verified business owner.

About Care.com

Care.com, available in over 20 countries, is the leading platform for managing and finding high-quality family caregivers. Care.com was created to meet the changing needs of caregivers and families. It offers everything you need, including customized corporate benefits packages, household tax, payroll services, and tailored corporate benefits packages to cover the care needs of working families.

Read More
(877) 227-3115
https://www.care.com
Austin, TX, USA
190 views