British Gas

British Gas

25 Reviews
(2.8)
25 Reviews
Rating (2.8)
star
Average!
1 Star
13
2 Star
0
3 Star
2
4 Star
0
5 Star
10

Q&A

Is British Gas legit?

British Gas has 25 reviews on 99consumer.com, with an average rating of 2.8 out of 5. This indicates that most consumers are dissatisfied with their business interactions and dealing. Therefore, caution is advised when considering purchases or engagements with the business.

How to reach British Gas customer care?

You can contact British Gas customer care via email at [email protected] or by calling them at

Where is British Gas located?

British Gas is located at address The Causeway, Staines TW18 3BF, United Kingdom.

25 Reviews on British Gas

  1. Pete Kalis
    1 rating

    Endless Issues and Frustration

    Dec 26, 2023

    The pay-as-you-go gas meter was not working, so we called BG to get guidance. They suggested that we move to a smarter meter which is why they installed gas and electric meters. They told them that a smart meter would receive the signals from the meters in 24 hours.

    Gas was fine however the display on the electric simply shows "waiting data". For the sake of keeping it short, we've talked to several customer support representatives as well as engineer that couldn't solve the issue.

    Another engineer we'd booked, but who did not show up, and finally we've heard that they will get in touch with us in the coming 14 'working days to discuss what next steps to take. After a few months, we're still unable to get the tiny device working effectively. It's very frustrating!

  2. Danielle Moore
    3 rating

    Service is already prohibitive

    May 30, 2023

    In these times of economic pressure and anxiety for most people, especially older adults, I find the latest rise in Homeserve insurance challenging. Pricing for this service is already prohibitive. I've canceled several insurances I own with other firms and am now contemplating canceling this one and searching for a different one. I've been a faithful customer for several years, and I would like to ask British Gas where their loyalty is for me.

  3. Jacob Mortell
    1 rating

    Mental health issues

    May 3, 2023

    We moved into our new home British Gas updated the property with the move-in readings. The bill was calculated. They asked me for my latest lessons. They still have an estimated amount - I've been in the process for four days. I've been going every day in circles. Have mental health issues that are making these issues worse. I'm considering changing to a different energy supplier before starting my relationship with British Gas.

  4. Jaron Daily
    1 rating

    A bullying method

    May 2, 2023

    This is a bullying method. It's a prank that continues to be a complaint for three years. Request that the complaint team reach me. I was told that the complaint team would contact me, but instead, I got the following. Contact us immediately about the amount due on your last electricity and gas bills. If we don't hear back from you within the next few days, we'll forward your information to a collection company and charge you to your bank account. To stop this from happening, pay your bill online or call us (Mon through Fri, 9 am to 5 pm) for more assistance. Thanks.

  5. Suzanne Hagle
    1 rating

    Pretty upset

    May 2, 2023

    I called on behalf of my mom, who's 82 years old and is bedridden, because she has a PS150 voucher she could redeem. They said they would contact us to call us back. The call never came, and she could not recover the funds because of the expiration date on her voucher. She will lose this money, and consequently, we're pretty upset.

  6. Jesse Ortega
    1 rating

    Waste pipe

    May 1, 2023

    I am covered at home with British Gas. I called for an inspection of a leak in my waste pipe and was given a plumbing expert instead. When I wrote a description of what was wrong, I stated the word "waste pipe" about the leak. In addition, I was told that it wouldn't be covered when the plumber arrived, and I was required to contact to inform British Gas that the correct person did not send the plumber. The blockage will be covered, but If your pipe has been damaged, you can repair it yourself, right?

  7. Jessica Aloisi
    1 rating

    Wouldn't recommend them

    Apr 13, 2023

    My father's in-law had an updated boiler heating his house, but it was too hot for his needs. They Rang and complained numerous times. He is very upset about the new system they installed in the house. He is in a worse state than before. They are now telling him that it needs a new radiator to operate effectively, which will cost a lot of dollars. The engineer doesn't have any. Many mistakes..wouldn't recommend them to anyone else due to poor customer service. Martin did not mention needing new radiators, which is a huge mistake.

  8. Luis Vasquez
    1 rating

    AVOID

    Jan 19, 2023

    Recently, I moved into a new residence and changed my energy provider from British gas to the new home. The worst decision I've ever made. It took me more than two weeks to get someone out and connect my energy, and I haven't been able to get in touch to have an engineer come out to switch me to a different provider. The phone was hung up repeatedly on me as well as people who don't speak English and have a hard time answering phone calls and don't know what they're doing!! AVOID

  9. Mark Crielly
    1 rating

    Poor customer service

    Oct 2, 2022

    British Gas blocked the switch without my knowledge and didn't even ever communicate. They stopped it because there was a balance on my account due. After all, they did not set up my Direct Debit correctly. The company offered me a cheaper cost from a different supplier I decided to switch. Then I lost the price of the more affordable, and instead of assistance, their customer service almost blamed me for not contacting them earlier! The company is a disgrace with poor customer service.

  10. Marlene Potter
    5 rating

    Excellent engineer

    Oct 1, 2022

    Engineer Mo was highly informative regarding the job he carried out and the components he changed. He was professional and courteous, and patient. He explained to me that this was his first visit to inspect the boiler and the things he was doing to check. He flushed the radiator and then sealed the gas line that runs into the home and the boiler service.

  11. Simon Bailey
    5 rating

    Excellent service

    Sep 30, 2022

    A gas engineer installed the new smart meter. Excellent service. Satisfied with the service, I'd y suggest British Gas for efficiency every visit. Excellent explanation of the process in plain language and avoiding jargon. It was a very productive visit. They even explained why our cooker's center burner wouldn't remain lit. I've got the home care coverage and will contact them for repairs using the gas engineer's recommendations. I rate their overall visit a 10/10.

  12. Matt Harris
    5 rating

    The engineer was extremely helpful

    Sep 28, 2022

    The engineer was beneficial. And considerate. He took care of the boiler and inspected all radiators to ensure they worked. He was courteous and patient. And answered every single question I had regarding the heating system, etc. I'm thrilled as I can put my mind at ease. I'm able to unwind and relax in my warm home during winter.

  13. Mevan Perera
    5 rating

    My engineer was booked for service

    Sep 27, 2022

    My engineer was booked for service. An appointment was scheduled within two days. Texts were sent to confirm meetings once scheduled and the first thing on the day that engineer was due. Then a text to tell the engineer was on time, and another to inform him that the engineer was on his way. He came in and wiped his feet before coming into. Fast, friendly, and efficient. I have worked for 15 years with BG over 15 years and. I would never go anywhere else

  14. Elizabeth Brown
    3 rating

    The project to install it didn't go smoothly

    Sep 22, 2022

    The project to install it didn't go smoothly. The new Boiler had a fault when it was put in place, which meant no hot water was available on the first day. The engineers were polite and helpful; however, there was no communication from the so-called management. Also, members of the electrician team didn't show up. So the next day Engineer showed up to repair the Boiler at approximately 8.30 am. We had hot water only until 9.30 when I was waiting for the electrician to wire the thermostat etc. It Turned up around 11.. the job was completed by lunchtime on day 2...

  15. Steven Law
    5 rating

    Excellent service

    Sep 22, 2022

    Excellent service and support after Hillingdon homes and the council of Hillingdon left my son and daughter, who is autistic and were injured in an accident on the road, without hot or heated water and a way to keep their wounds clean. British gas isn't allowed to repair heating and hot water; however,r they have brought heaters into our home. We are at least able to enjoy the warmth we need. Thank you, British gas. Excellent service.

  16. Thomas Evans
    5 rating

    Excellent Service

    Sep 20, 2022

    British Gas Engineer provided detailed information while replacing a valve that serves the Central Heating and Hot Water systems. The work was completed quickly and efficiently, with minimal disturbance to my wife and me. Luke examined everything during his annual inspection and service. We were extremely pleased by the service as it assured us that all mechanisms were functioning properly following his departure from the house.

  17. Mary Belinda
    1 rating

    Service was abysmal

    Sep 18, 2022

    Service was abysmal. The original fault was discovered one year ago. Two repair visits were canceled. One repair visit could not fix it, and it took me eight weeks to obtain the correct part to allow the appointment to be canceled at the last minute! They increased my monthly payment from PS143/month up to PS507/month based on a review of my usage. This was from a gas meter that has not been operational over the last 12 months!

  18. Julie Nugent
    1 rating

    Really poor!

    Sep 14, 2022

    The app is always on and off, and I'm unaware of my usage, but it's now fixed. I've checked my account, and initially, it said that my gas account had been canceled, which is why I had to chase it to reinstate it, which is now functioning and shows that I'm debited, and I haven't paid anything in the time between May and August. This is odd since I've had my money taken for a while! Isn't it? FCA should work with your company since they have access to millions of accounts in banks.

  19. Frances Tubby
    1 rating

    They never returned

    Sep 11, 2022

    On me. This is the third time the British gas boiler engineer canceled last minute without reason. The first two times I was, forced to take time off, they never returned. However, they gave meh an extra 18 hours of notice, a slight improvement this time. The work is supposed to be a straightforward replacement of a part discovered during servicing(it took me some time to get it booked into the system and get it all).

  20. Kevin Furmston
    5 rating

    Amazing customer service

    Sep 8, 2022

    Amazing customer service. This is what I would call customer support. The advisor I spoke to was fantastic. He understood my situation, provided me with the various possibilities available, and ensured that all was completed before the time when the call ended. I emerged from the conversation feeling calm and satisfied with the result. Thank you to the advisor who helped me.

  21. Besim Pullazha
    5 rating

    The engineer was fantastic

    Sep 4, 2022

    The engineer was fantastic. We felt secure that he would provide accurate and complete information. Even when he criticized our boiler, he offered a solid explanation and suggested the salesperson be scheduled sooner rather than later since there was no central heating. He gave me more faith in British gas's capacity to manage this issue and advised us to stay with them since we were well taken care of.

  22. Eamonn Shanks
    5 rating

    It's time to solve the issue

    Sep 2, 2022

    Duncan Engineer Duncan was friendly, efficient, and courteous. The issue was identified, and advice was given. I'm thrilled. Even though the service was poor in my attempt to call British Gas, I had to make a reservation online even though this was an urgent situation. The electrical circuit was constantly tripping. The chat function wasn't working neither did the chat function. It's time to solve the issue.

  23. Louise Wickens
    1 rating

    Thirteen Customer Services are genuinely awful

    Sep 1, 2022

    Thirteen Customer Services are genuinely awful. They record complaints, don't do anything, and even cancel the complaint without notice. Letters never appear in the complaint. Our issues with the multiple MPAN non-reply letters in our residence are ignored, yet we cannot move suppliers. And managers are never accessible or willing to call back. We are stuck in a rut and extremely annoyed and dissatisfied. No one at British Gas helps, but they pass the blame. For the past 14 months, it's ended in death.

  24. Ismail Teladia
    5 rating

    They were all fantastic professionals, friendly, and compassionate

    Sep 1, 2022

    I can't think of anything but praise and praise for the service technicians who helped me solve my complex boiler issue. They were all fantastic professionals, friendly, and compassionate. It would be nice to pick one particular person - Sean Cox from Portishead near Bristol. He found the root of the issue and worked on the case. If I had ten stars, I would!

  25. John Henderson
    1 rating

    Very poor service

    May 31, 2022

    Inferior service. Now and again, the engineer who came to our aid was incorrect. He hung the heater at the wrong height and the boiler at an inaccurate measurement.

    Finally, he made a hole in the wall at an incorrect height and then mixed the pipes. He took 12 hours to fix it, and we were without gas for five days. We received an inferior service from them.

    We were very disappointed and dissatisfied that we couldn't get in touch with any decision-maker. Moreover, the engineer sent was the same one who fixed everything.

    The manager promised to contact us after the repair. Unfortunately, that didn't happen. You can probably find a better company to replace your boiler. It isn't worth it.

Write a review on British Gas

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Do you own British Gas?

Customer reviews are a powerful tool for building trust and loyalty. Claim your profile to become a verified business owner.

About British Gas

British Gas has been caring for the homes of Britain since its inception. We have been heating kitchens, lighting lamps, and many other services. Since our inception, we have had one goal: to serve British businesses and homes and find better ways to make home life easier and more efficient. British Gas, which serves around 11 million households, is the UK's largest energy supplier. We offer a wide range of services, including installing boilers, servicing electrical systems and appliances, plumbing, and drains. For more information, visit our website.

Read More
https://www.britishgas.co.uk
The Causeway, Staines TW18 3BF, United Kingdom
86 views