British Gas

18 Reviews

18 Reviews on British Gas

  1. Luis Vasquez
    Jan 19, 2023

    AVOID

    Recently, I moved into a new residence and changed my energy provider from British gas to the new home. The worst decision I’ve ever made. It took me more than two weeks to get someone out and connect my energy, and I haven’t been able to get in touch to have an engineer come out to switch me to a different provider. The phone was hung up repeatedly on me as well as people who don’t speak English and have a hard time answering phone calls and don’t know what they’re doing!! AVOID

  2. Mark Crielly
    Oct 2, 2022

    poor customer service

    British Gas blocked the switch without my knowledge and didn’t even ever communicate. They stopped it because there was a balance on my account due. After all, they did not set up my Direct Debit correctly. The company offered me a cheaper cost from a different supplier I decided to switch. Then I lost the price of the more affordable, and instead of assistance, their customer service almost blamed me for not contacting them earlier! The company is a disgrace with poor customer service.

  3. Marlene Potter
    Oct 1, 2022

    excellent engineer

    Engineer Mo was highly informative regarding the job he carried out and the components he changed. He was professional and courteous, and patient. He explained to me that this was his first visit to inspect the boiler and the things he was doing to check. He flushed the radiator and then sealed the gas line that runs into the home and the boiler service.

  4. Simon Bailey
    Sep 30, 2022

    Excellent service

    A gas engineer installed the new smart meter. Excellent service. Satisfied with the service, I’d y suggest British Gas for efficiency every visit. Excellent explanation of the process in plain language and avoiding jargon. It was a very productive visit. They even explained why our cooker’s center burner wouldn’t remain lit. I’ve got the home care coverage and will contact them for repairs using the gas engineer’s recommendations. I rate their overall visit a 10/10.

  5. Matt Harris
    Sep 28, 2022

    The engineer was extremely helpful

    The engineer was beneficial. And considerate. He took care of the boiler and inspected all radiators to ensure they worked. He was courteous and patient. And answered every single question I had regarding the heating system, etc. I’m thrilled as I can put my mind at ease. I’m able to unwind and relax in my warm home during winter.

  6. Mevan Perera
    Sep 27, 2022

    My engineer was booked for service

    My engineer was booked for service. An appointment was scheduled within two days. Texts were sent to confirm meetings once scheduled and the first thing on the day that engineer was due. Then a text to tell the engineer was on time, and another to inform him that the engineer was on his way. He came in and wiped his feet before coming into. Fast, friendly, and efficient. I have worked for 15 years with BG over 15 years and. I would never go anywhere else

  7. Elizabeth Brown
    Sep 22, 2022

    The project to install it didn't go smoothly

    The project to install it didn’t go smoothly. The new Boiler had a fault when it was put in place, which meant no hot water was available on the first day. The engineers were polite and helpful; however, there was no communication from the so-called management. Also, members of the electrician team didn’t show up. So the next day Engineer showed up to repair the Boiler at approximately 8.30 am. We had hot water only until 9.30 when I was waiting for the electrician to wire the thermostat etc. It Turned up around 11.. the job was completed by lunchtime on day 2…

  8. Steven Law
    Sep 22, 2022

    Excellent service

    Excellent service and support after Hillingdon homes and the council of Hillingdon left my son and daughter, who is autistic and were injured in an accident on the road, without hot or heated water and a way to keep their wounds clean. British gas isn’t allowed to repair heating and hot water; however,r they have brought heaters into our home. We are at least able to enjoy the warmth we need. Thank you, British gas. Excellent service.

  9. Thomas Evans
    Sep 20, 2022

    Excellent Service

    British Gas Engineer provided detailed information while replacing a valve that serves the Central Heating and Hot Water systems. The work was completed quickly and efficiently, with minimal disturbance to my wife and me. Luke examined everything during his annual inspection and service. We were extremely pleased by the service as it assured us that all mechanisms were functioning properly following his departure from the house.

  10. Mary Belinda
    Sep 18, 2022

    Service was abysmal

    Service was abysmal. The original fault was discovered one year ago. Two repair visits were canceled. One repair visit could not fix it, and it took me eight weeks to obtain the correct part to allow the appointment to be canceled at the last minute! They increased my monthly payment from PS143/month up to PS507/month based on a review of my usage. This was from a gas meter that has not been operational over the last 12 months!

  11. Julie Nugent
    Sep 14, 2022

    Really poor!

    The app is always on and off, and I’m unaware of my usage, but it’s now fixed. I’ve checked my account, and initially, it said that my gas account had been canceled, which is why I had to chase it to reinstate it, which is now functioning and shows that I’m debited, and I haven’t paid anything in the time between May and August. This is odd since I’ve had my money taken for a while! Isn’t it? FCA should work with your company since they have access to millions of accounts in banks.

  12. Frances Tubby
    Sep 11, 2022

    they never returned

    On me. This is the third time the British gas boiler engineer canceled last minute without reason. The first two times I was, forced to take time off, they never returned. However, they gave meh an extra 18 hours of notice, a slight improvement this time. The work is supposed to be a straightforward replacement of a part discovered during servicing(it took me some time to get it booked into the system and get it all).

  13. Kevin Furmston
    Sep 8, 2022

    Amazing customer service

    Amazing customer service. This is what I would call customer support. The advisor I spoke to was fantastic. He understood my situation, provided me with the various possibilities available, and ensured that all was completed before the time when the call ended. I emerged from the conversation feeling calm and satisfied with the result. Thank you to the advisor who helped me.

  14. Besim Pullazha
    Sep 4, 2022

    The engineer was fantastic

    The engineer was fantastic. We felt secure that he would provide accurate and complete information. Even when he criticized our boiler, he offered a solid explanation and suggested the salesperson be scheduled sooner rather than later since there was no central heating. He gave me more faith in British gas’s capacity to manage this issue and advised us to stay with them since we were well taken care of.

  15. Eamonn Shanks
    Sep 2, 2022

    It's time to solve the issue

    Duncan Engineer Duncan was friendly, efficient, and courteous. The issue was identified, and advice was given. I’m thrilled. Even though the service was poor in my attempt to call British Gas, I had to make a reservation online even though this was an urgent situation. The electrical circuit was constantly tripping. The chat function wasn’t working neither did the chat function. It’s time to solve the issue.

  16. Louise Wickens
    Sep 1, 2022

    Thirteen Customer Services are genuinely awful

    Thirteen Customer Services are genuinely awful. They record complaints, don’t do anything, and even cancel the complaint without notice. Letters never appear in the complaint. Our issues with the multiple MPAN non-reply letters in our residence are ignored, yet we cannot move suppliers. And managers are never accessible or willing to call back. We are stuck in a rut and extremely annoyed and dissatisfied. No one at British Gas helps, but they pass the blame. For the past 14 months, it’s ended in death.

  17. Ismail Teladia
    Sep 1, 2022

    They were all fantastic professionals, friendly, and compassionate

    I can’t think of anything but praise and praise for the service technicians who helped me solve my complex boiler issue. They were all fantastic professionals, friendly, and compassionate. It would be nice to pick one particular person – Sean Cox from Portishead near Bristol. He found the root of the issue and worked on the case. If I had ten stars, I would!

  18. John Henderson
    May 31, 2022

    Very poor service

    Inferior service. Now and again, the engineer who came to our aid was incorrect. He hung the heater at the wrong height and the boiler at an inaccurate measurement.

    Finally, he made a hole in the wall at an incorrect height and then mixed the pipes. He took 12 hours to fix it, and we were without gas for five days. We received an inferior service from them.

    We were very disappointed and dissatisfied that we couldn’t get in touch with any decision-maker. Moreover, the engineer sent was the same one who fixed everything.

    The manager promised to contact us after the repair. Unfortunately, that didn’t happen. You can probably find a better company to replace your boiler. It isn’t worth it.

Write a review on British Gas

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

99Consumer for business

Customers' reviews are a great way to build trust and loyalty for your business.

About British Gas

British Gas has been caring for the homes of Britain since its inception. We have been heating kitchens, lighting lamps, and many other services. Since our inception, we have had one goal: to serve British businesses and homes and find better ways to make home life easier and more efficient. British Gas, which serves around 11 million households, is the UK's largest energy supplier. We offer a wide range of services, including installing boilers, servicing electrical systems and appliances, plumbing, and drains. For more information, visit our website.

[email protected]
https://www.britishgas.co.uk
The Causeway, Staines TW18 3BF, United Kingdom