BOATERexam.com

36 Reviews

36 Reviews on BOATERexam.com

  1. Michael Plague
    Jan 24, 2023

    Purchased the course, but haven't been able to connect for months

    I purchased the course and then upgraded to the learned boat version costing $64.95 at the end of November. As of the date I wrote this review, I haven’t been able to access the course. I am constantly getting Error 500, regardless of whether I sign up through boaterexam.com as oreartoboat.com or the mobile app. After about a week of trying, I contacted them and was greeted by one of the female support representatives (I forgot t their name). She was unable to give me a solution for a solution ETA. I decided to leave it for another week, but no answer. Re-called and received no response. I sent an email to the support email address. Julia O responded on 11/18 and suggested trying the mobile application, but it was not working. Re-called several times and tried again. I sent more emails but no response. The last message (sent the day before) was to ask for a refund. I cannot comprehend the poor customer service, and I’m not able to understand how they could have a 5-star rating. Researching this company and altering your rating to reflect that it appears fraudulent is essential.

  2. Glyn Hughes
    Nov 5, 2022

    The most significant issue

    The most significant issue I’ve encountered is that following each video, there’s an extended period during which you cannot proceed to the next one for several seconds, and then you need to view the boaterexam.com logo. The longer the chapter is, the longer you must look at the stamp. This isn’t very pleasant. One episode was five minutes long, and I had to look at the logo for more than one minute.

  3. Deborah Southby
    Nov 4, 2022

    The quality of the video was outdated

    I’m not thrilled with this site. There are a lot of mistakes, and they didn’t make me feel a lot of faith in the site’s accuracy. Some questions have several answers, and it doesn’t matter which solution you pick. Sure, the responses were particular and were not part of the text. I am afraid I missed important information and ended up in a more excellent state of stress than needed.

  4. Amanda Lawn
    Nov 3, 2022

    it was very easy to use

    At 52, I wasn’t required to complete the course, but I thought brushing up on a few materials wouldn’t hurt. The system is packed with a ton of information, some of which isn’t relevant to our bodies of water in Minnesota; however, it was nice to be aware of. It was simple to follow, and if I needed to stop, I could return later. The only issue I faced was that it would stop midway through the chapter, and I was forced to return to refresh it by hitting play again. Apart from that, it was straightforward to use.

  5. Rachel Moore
    Nov 2, 2022

    I'm not thrilled with this site

    I’m not thrilled with this site. There are a lot of mistakes, and they didn’t make me feel a lot of faith in the site’s accuracy. Some questions have several answers, and it doesn’t matter which solution you pick. Sure, the responses were particular and were not part of the text. I am afraid I missed important information and ended up in a more excellent state of stress than needed.

  6. Jane Goodwin
    Nov 1, 2022

    I would have preferred to go to an educational facility for the day.

    The longest six minutes of my life…hate this, but I was forced to apply for the permit. It’s way too long and generally straightforward. It’s also a hassle to retake a section’s video and content if you fail the test within that particular section. It would help if you didn’t have to wait 30 seconds on slides when you’re a quick reader—horrible process. I would have preferred to go to an educational facility for the day.

  7. David Farage
    Oct 30, 2022

    I was disappointed

    I was looking for my license to operate a vessel on a lake. I was disappointed that most of the class was related to ocean boat driving, which is a significant distinction. As I did, certain people are quick readers and were forced to open pages to study (which I did not do.). Because of the three-hour requirement, I received 88% marks on the final test. The course was otherwise good. It’s not connected to driving on lakes. If I encounter an oil tanker on that lake in Manitoba, I’ll know exactly what to do.

  8. Sophie Collings
    Oct 29, 2022

    I wouldn't recommend

    Sure of the questions in the quiz I cannot locate within the chapters. I am not a fan; it’s tough and a waste of time. To get through. There is often no solution to the question on the test. However, at least in the chapter, you will benefit from a search on google. I wouldn’t recommend following this course unless you’ve got someone who is a professional or instructor by your side.

  9. Hannah Nixon
    Oct 29, 2022

    not received a response

    I’ve made a few attempts to reach your company but have not received a response. I haven’t received my boat license card. I immediately contacted the company as I noticed that my apartment’s address was not listed on my account. In exchange for the money I paid, I find the lack of response very non-professional. I wouldn’t recommend your service to anyone else, and I would suggest people not use your scam that is priced too high.

  10. Lucy Colley
    Oct 27, 2022

    I'm very disappointed

    I paid the total amount for the online course, took 3 hours of study time, passed all the tests, took the final exam,m and passed it with 92%. Then I went to the website to print my temporary PCOC card. I was then redirected to the start of my course to begin the process again! I’ve called many times, but nobody has ever been in touch or replied to my email! I’m very disappointed that I spent the time and money, passed the test, and now I am without my PCOS.

  11. Darren Gilbert
    Oct 26, 2022

    wasting my money

    A few members of my group and I took this course and paid for it upfront. We all completed the course and were issued “temporary” certificates that said we’d receive permanent cards after five weeks. You can check their rating. It’s been over six months, but no cards nor any response after trying to get in touch with them. I wish I had done this before wasting my money.

  12. Mike Meadow
    Oct 23, 2022

    The content of the course is taught

    The content of the course is taught. It’s IMPOSSIBLE to reach them but. The number you dial allows you to call back even though the message says it is transferring you to a representative. The callback can take 2+ hours, and they will only call once before hanging up. This leaves you with no choice but to restart the hour process. I’ve spent a whole day trying to contact them. They’re not US and are based in the United States, which results in international bank fees.

  13. Barry Egdell
    Oct 23, 2022

    It was a waste of time

    Good content for the course. When I took the class, I could not receive a certificate for a short time because the link was in error. I contacted the company, who a month later told me “in Massachusetts, the class could only be used as a study guide” and that I’d still need to attend an eight-hour class that Massachusetts Environmental Police ran. They didn’t disclose this at the beginning. It was a waste of time.

  14. Mick Jackson
    Oct 22, 2022

    It was a bit disappointing

    The course content was excellent. It was a bit disappointing that I had to pay for an additional card when I paid to take the test. Why should I pay for a new card when I cannot get the original one?

  15. Spencer Brown
    Oct 21, 2022

    The class was great it was very efficient

    The class was great. It was very efficient and extremely interesting to study all things… When I finished the course, it refused to let me access the Transport Canada website to take the test. I contacted customer service, and they confirmed that there was a problem on the part of Transport Canada, and they assured me that it would be resolved within the next few hours. Today, I tried calling but was on hold for 20 mins and then hung up. I was very annoyed by the lack of information about the issue, either Boaterexam.com or Transport Canada.

  16. Peter Davis
    Oct 14, 2022

    The service on the internet is a fraud

    The service on the internet is a fraud. Instead of three hours, I spent nearly two days watching their limitations in the study of the next paragraph, and then when I opened the exam that was to be my final, it contained only a handful of questions from their documents. I took a majority of the water-related questions that were tested during the test I took first-time, and the majority of the instances of navigation were not listed even on their website. Instead of focusing on water slang and rules for navigation, they deceive people by focusing on drinking and environmental issues. There is no reason to believe them; I would rather waste my time analyzing their emails.

  17. Bruno Disandolo
    Oct 13, 2022

    The timer was usually more extended than the movie

    The timer was usually more extended than the movie. I waited long hours for the timer’s end before viewing another video. Additionally, the Nebraska-specific videos weren’t helpful. Further, the answer would describe something on both tests and the final exam, but the image wouldn’t correspond. It was difficult as one of the images would be correct. However, the caption was wrong. Another option could include the proper caption. However, the image did not match.

  18. Claire Greggor
    Oct 12, 2022

    Final exam completed and unable to take the exam certificate to print

    Final exam completed and unable to take the exam certificate to print. On hold for 2 hours to talk to someone to get help. It’s not a good experience. I finally spoke with the customer service representative, and it was clear that she was on her own. Please help her. …. I could not find her name, but she seemed extremely helpful and calm. Thank you miss

  19. Richard Peers
    Oct 10, 2022

    Don't be a waste of money

    I would not give it a star If I could. I took my course and passed the exam in July, but I haven’t received an acknowledgment of when I’ll get my certificate. When I sign in to the website, it states that I’ve passed my test, but that’s all it says. I’ve tried calling and emailing multiple times, including leaving the number for a callback, and I haven’t received any response. Don’t be a waste of money. Find your boating license anyplace but here.

  20. Matthew Yates
    Oct 7, 2022

    A waste of time and cash.

    I’ve written my final exam and claimed to have a pass with an 88% score. However, there is no action when I go to the webpage where I can receive my exam results and a printable version of my operator’s card. I cannot see my results or even print copies of my license. I’ve written emails and contacted customer service, but no response, no callback, nothing. A waste of time and cash. It’s a terrible experience.

  21. Mary Gaskin
    Oct 7, 2022

    This is inexcusable

    I’ve tried to reach the company on the phone for the entire week. The only way to contact them is to leave a contact number, but nobody has responded to my phone call. Please note that I’ve called four times in the week at the beginning of working hours. This is inexcusable. I also wrote to the company three days ago, but I did not get a response. I hope someone will reach out to me regarding a new boat license.

  22. Mike Parry
    Oct 4, 2022

    I wouldn't suggest this to anybody!

    I would rate them 0 stars, but that’s not an alternative. My son took the course just 18 months ago. Many emails were sent, but we have not received his certificate. In December, I got an email that said it was sent out and that I should receive it within three to four weeks…and it didn’t show up. The email attempted to blame the post offices for the delays. I’m not sure how it takes more than 18 months to mail an email with a card! I wouldn’t suggest this to anybody!

  23. Paul Collins
    Oct 2, 2022

    I was aware that this was the equivalent

    I was aware that this was the equivalent of a 3-hour course. It took me more than 9 hours to go through every chapter, sit for each chapter’s test, and then take the final examination. If it had been stated at the beginning that this was a more extended program, I could have done it with 9 hours; however, after I read that it took 3 hours, I didn’t allow myself enough time to finish the course to meet deadlines.

  24. Justina Hodge
    Oct 1, 2022

    I would not recommend it.

    The course materials didn’t provide adequate preparation for the test. I would not recom it. I passed my test but solely because it was an open book that I could refer to other sources to answer questions that usually bore no like the course material that Boaterexam.com provided.

  25. Nathan Womersley
    Sep 28, 2022

    This was a very frustrating

    This was a very frustrating course due to the 10-second sailboat intros on nearly every module! When I was in the 2nd or 3rd module, I was focused entirely on how to get between these introductions. This also slowed down the time required to go through each module and, consequently, the entire course! The idea was dropped in the final few modules, and it worked better since I had stopped wallowing about trying to skip the lengthy introduction!

  26. Dawn Evans
    Sep 27, 2022

    wasting my money

    A couple of acquaintances and I took the course and paid for it upfront. We all completed the course and received our “temporary” certificates that said we’d get permanent cards five weeks later. It’s been more than six months, but no cards nor any response after trying to get in touch with them. You can check their rating. I would have done it before wasting my money.

  27. Susan Moore
    Sep 23, 2022

    It would be wonderful to have an email address to reach me.

    I obtained my license several years ago, but I’ve struggled for months to find a replacement for the stolen support. I’ve tried over 12 times. The same issue, never responds to the phone or email. There is still no answer on this website to address their posted question. Also, I’m not listing my contact number. It would be wonderful to have an email address to reach me.

  28. Kim Calvarese
    Sep 22, 2022

    Overall it was a great experience

    While studying the course, I took a bit of time to realize that what I text under the captions contains the same as the captions. The captions were very quick, and I became frustrated as I didn’t have the time to go through the entire document. I purchased the book to ensure that I could read at my own pace, and I discovered that the information included in the book didn’t align with that of the course online. There’s a lot of helpful information in the book, and I think this online program could be improved slightly to provide more details. For instance, several questions are not relevant to the test. Overall it was a great experience. I am confident that I can handle my boat. I appreciate your help.

  29. Claire Atkinson
    Sep 18, 2022

    Glitches and gotchas

    Between website glitches and the necessary time for video runs, this took 3 hours to complete. Don’t plan to test and click. It is essential to listen to the tutorials on the various types of PFDs. If you’d like a certificate that will not expire, take advantage of a $5.00 chance to win at the end. Of course, having a boat at 5.00 isn’t an unreasonable request, but it makes people mad.

  30. Erika Jakins
    Sep 16, 2022

    I didn't get any responses either

    After I passed the test this year site stopped working, and I could not receive my scores. I called and emailed the boaters ‘ exam but got no response. The web link connecting me to Transport Canada through my Boater Exam account isn’t working on my computer, and I tried contacting and calling back, but I didn’t get any responses either. I had forgotten of it up until just recently and attempted to take my test again as I didn’t score my marks last year. Retake my testretake my testretake my test

  31. Steve Swift
    Sep 12, 2022

    I was awestruck from beginning

    I was amazed from the beginning to the point that I was not provided with the option to deliver my license to a specific address. The call-back feature does not make calls. There is no response to messages, and the chat function on their website goes down and then shuts itself down. I’m sure you’ll like the music on hold because this is all you’ll receive if you remain on the phone.

  32. Graham Morrison
    Sep 11, 2022

    This was a very frustrating course

    This was a very frustrating course due to the 10-second sailboat intros on nearly every module! This also slowed down the time required to go through each module and, consequently, the entire course! The idea was dropped in the final few modules, and it worked better since I had stopped wallowing about trying to skip the lengthy introduction! At the point I was in the 2nd or 3rd module, I was wholly focused on how to get between these introdWhenfocused entirely

  33. Sarah Vincent
    Sep 9, 2022

    I passed this course

    I passed this course, and I gave my final test. I received an email to confirm that I had passed. However, they provided me the link to download the certificate, but it was not working. The website didn’t give me the certification I needed to print or download when I passed the final test. It directed me to the exam center online with only advertisements. This seems like a fraud to me! Then they paid me, and I spent hours studying the course, but the page did not provide evidence of my completion.

  34. Jackie Kilbride
    Sep 5, 2022

    Customer service is awful

    I’ve been having an issue regarding Boater Exam not transferring my paperwork for my license to my state so I could get the official certificate. The case has been for more than five months with no resolution. Whenever I attempt to contact supervisors, they reply with “none available.” Don’t use Boater Exam! Customer service is awful. The customer service is horrible!

  35. Maritsa Nelson
    Jul 4, 2022

    wasting my money

    A couple of acquaintances and I took the course and paid in advance. All of us passed the course and received our “temporary” certificates that said we’d get permanent cards after five weeks later. Review their rating, which I would have done before wasting my money. It’s been over six months, and no cards or an answer after trying to reach them.

  36. Neville Aguilar
    Jun 10, 2022

    the fantastic training

    I was a bit rusty in Chapter One. I was unsure of the distinction between Outboard and Stern Drive motors. Outboard and Stern motors that drive.

    After completing Chapter One, I began following the narration and written text.

    Sometimes, I would stop and review the chapter became a routine, and I could gain a better understanding of the chapter’s topic.

    I was awarded a grade of 94%, something I’m extremely proud of.

    Thank you, Boaterexam, for the excellent training you’ve given me.

Write a review on BOATERexam.com

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

99Consumer for business

Customers' reviews are a great way to build trust and loyalty for your business.

About BOATERexam.com

BOATERexam.com assists boaters in getting their boating permit or educational card on the internet.

866 764 2628
[email protected]
https://www.boaterexam.com
[email protected]