BetterHelp

100 Reviews

100 Reviews on BetterHelp

  1. Robert Hinshaw
    Jan 4, 2023

    I would not recommend their services

    I signed up for five sessions with BetterHelp, but I only received one after three weeks. The therapist frequently canceled or rescheduled appointments, and I struggled to find a time that worked for us. I received no response when I asked for a refund for the missed sessions. Additionally, the app frequently goes down,, and getting a refund is difficult without emailing support. Overall, my experience with BetterHelp was highly frustrating, and I would not recommend their services.

  2. Peter Rorbach
    Dec 5, 2022

    I was able to get better help and am extremely disappointed

    I got better help and am highly disappointed with how they collect clients’ money. I thought they would charge per session or appointment, but they do not. They bill you monthly even when your therapist states they do not exist for the following week, and you must wait for two weeks. So, you’re only able the chance to visit your counselor once each month, and they will take $340 off the credit card. I was required to change my therapy provider and start over. However, it was my fault. The therapist wasn’t available for the next week, and they charged $340 for the second time. The credit card charged a sum of $984 for just four appointments. This is a fraud. Do not use this service. Pay for commissions per appointment, not per month. The reviews on their websites do not mention this. They make you believe the rate is $60 per appointment; this is entirely untrue.

  3. Roy Calcutt
    Dec 4, 2022

    BetterHelp provides financial assistance that is also beneficial!

    I’ll tell you that as a user of Betterhelp, you’re bound to get through some shady experiences before finding an appropriate therapist. The first therapist I worked with did not even know my name. We were in the middle of three sessions already, and she didn’t help me figure out why I felt the way I was experiencing. The answer was usually, “well, have you tried just not thinking about it?” The therapist I worked with cooked dinner every night during the phone call or while running around.

    They didn’t seem to pay attention to the sessions, constantly resolving to say yes or imagining how it could cause them to feel, but there was no evidence to support the response. However, the therapist I am working with has been with me for a while and is fantastic, and it was worth the effort of going through two other therapists to discover her. If you are an ever-changing therapist, or you are considering one, and come to Alicia Fredericksen, I recommend her 100 100%:) Also, BetterHelp provides financial assistance that is also beneficial!

  4. Davy Harding
    Dec 2, 2022

    Stephanie Kandie kept canceling on me

    Stephanie Kandie kept canceling on me. There were more cancellations than sessions held. Also, she would cancel at the last minute or even 10 minutes before the scheduled session began. She blames her children for getting sick constantly, but she isn’t sure how to plan her time properlcorrectlyot happy to see you spending my precious time. I just sought therapy because I had money. However, it was an unnecessary waste of dollars and time. I want a full refund. I’d rather spend my time browsing Pinterest for motivational memes.

  5. Clive Henley
    Dec 1, 2022

    BetterHelp has made help more easily accessible

    BetterHelp has made help more easily accessible. I discovered this app during the worst moments I’ve experienced with my mental health problems. Therapy was always something I couldn’t afford. However, BetterHelp provided financial assistance to allow me to care for my health without spending the earth. Many various licensed therapists are available on their websites. It’s pretty easy to navigate. Thank you.

  6. Daniela Erdmann
    Nov 29, 2022

    This is not acceptable

    I left after two months. The first counselor was slow to respond and canceled just hours before the appointment and rescheduled me two weeks later. This is not acceptable for those who suffer from mental health problems. The second counselor we met with We had two good sessions in a month. However, she canceled at the last minute and then messed up the timing of our meetings twice, and missed the appointment. Inexcusable. She also clearly didn’t know anything about me from the second time we spoke. It wasn’t practical. I’ve been through therapy and don’t suggest this time-wasting method.

  7. Glynn Bellman
    Nov 27, 2022

    Poor service

    The initial counselor was not helpful and uninterested. I went on to find a different one and decided that I’d prefer to work with a woman, but the choices were primarily male and limited to the subjects I chose. The money was wasted, the subscription was canceled, and I would not recommend it. Live chat only one time the counselor was not there, but the conversation ended after 30 minutes—poor service.

  8. Mackenzie Vaughan
    Nov 22, 2022

    they won't speak directly

    The company redirected funds that were not authorized from my account instead of sending my bills to my insurance provider. They took $1,280 from my account but did not respond to the request for information. As a matter of fact, they won’t speak directly with you regarding these problems; they will instead contact you via email.

  9. Josh Stevens
    Nov 21, 2022

    The company is cold and unprofessional

    Suppose you need help; get a counselor who can’t respond to one single email. The company is cold and unprofessional. You’re ready to leave after two days and cannot receive any refund—a total scam. I felt worse than I did before. With no answer to a single question, there could be a money-back option.

  10. Stephen Goodyear
    Nov 20, 2022

    I've had extremely bad experiences

    I’ve had horrible experiences with this website, and I don’t have the impression of working with a professional whenever I deal with them. I’ve not received any assistance for over two weeks and am still assessed a fee, which is a complete rip-off. My therapist was dumping me and requested that I look for someone else. This isn’t the best way to conduct therapy. Therefore it’s a poor substitute for treatment that could be highly harmful. It’s an inferior service that causes more harm than good. It also forced me to pay for sessions I didn’t have or was my fault. It isn’t easy to give them a star since they are not worthy of one in the least—a terrible service.

  11. Sarah Colburn
    Nov 18, 2022

    I had a horrible encounter with BetterHelp

    I had a horrible encounter with BetterHelp. The counselor to whom I was assigned had a constrained schedule for sessions. We were forced to cancel the second session because of something that happened, and when I tried to schedule a new session, my counselor wasn’t available for another nine days. I planned for this day. However, my counselor didn’t arrive until five minutes left during the time slot. Thus, out of the four weeks I signed up for, I had only one 30-minute meeting with my counselor. This was inexcusable and a complete waste of my time and money.

  12. Manish Kabra
    Nov 16, 2022

    It was a complete disappointment.

    The price was $320, a month-long service that I was told would include four sessions. Because you can’t book multiple sessions, and the therapists have only limited availability, I’ll receive just two sessions. This is because they’ve given me another week to convince me not to quit! I’ve changed therapists three times due to the lack of appointments available. I don’t believe therapist-hopping is the way to get the best outcomes! I won’t ever utilize messaging or other options, which means I’ve squandered several hundred dollars. It was a complete disappointment.

  13. Andrew Chapman
    Nov 14, 2022

    Terrible.

    I wrote a bad review about my previous counselor, and they didn’t publish it!! Terrible. Their review process is ineffective. What are we supposed to do to determine if a counselor is an appropriate fit for us if only they post favorable reviews through their platforms? Smh…

  14. Marie Tobin
    Nov 11, 2022

    This is a considerable expense and certainly not worth it.

    The first therapist I saw worked as a social worker. She didn’t respond to my messages during the conversation, which I found to be rude. She didn’t help even a bit. Then I found a different therapy provider who was a counselor. He was accommodating, but the only time he was available was biweekly, and the sessions cost about $150 per session. This is a considerable expense and certainly not worth it.

  15. Helen Collins
    Nov 11, 2022

    I was extremely eager to begin my counseling journey

    I was extremely eager to begin my counseling journey, and enrolling was an enormous decision. I waited longer than usual to find a therapist, which I was okay with as I was looking for the best one. However, when reaching out to support via email to ask a few questions regarding the process, my concerns were not answered, and I was only given an apology. Still, there was no acknowledgment that they had even read my email.

  16. Alex Maurier
    Nov 9, 2022

    Therapists aren't professional

    Therapists aren’t professional. They answer calls while driving after dropping their children off. The background noise is loud. Sessions last 50 minutes instead of 60 minutes. You request video sessions, and they can convert them into Audio sessions (again so that they can work simultaneously while giving therapy). They say they possess PhDs and Psyds, but when you inquire about one, support usually says there’s no availability. Overall, not a great experience. I also requested a refund; I was only given a small one. Avoid.

  17. Desmond Neville
    Nov 8, 2022

    The "concept" of Better Help is good

    “The “concept” of Better Help is great. However, I gave it three chances before ultimately crashing out. I was either ridiculed and dismissed for speaking in plain and felt disregarded due to my political views, which I didn’t agree with, or not adequately communicated. The assistance through “contact us” did what they could, but “Better Help” needs better support, more open-mindedness and less political comparisons, and a greater focus on psychological issues that communicates at a level that is in line with expectations. These should be shared realistically and laid out promptly.

  18. Helen Barnes
    Nov 8, 2022

    I'm very unhappy.

    I’m not sure if I have been a victim of the wrong therapist after the many positive reviews, but at times, I felt as if I was speaking to myself. I would detail my feelings and get an answer in one sentence every two days, he didn’t ask me questions or concerns, and I felt bored of having things to share… Everything I had to say, I did not respond to or ignore those parts, and I replied with an e-mail. One review said it was like a bot. I’m beginning to believe that’s the case. I’m depressed.

  19. Samantha Martin
    Nov 8, 2022

    they are usually unable to issue endorsements

    These apps are similar to therapy with a twist. They’re not designed to be used by anyone who needs court-ordered treatment. Although the provider is licensed, they are usually unable to issue endorsements.

  20. Joe Grinstead
    Nov 8, 2022

    No Trial Period or Upfront Matching to Therapist

    A member for just one day due to the absence of Therapists who meet the criteria I mentioned in the initial review. Betterhelp should provide a trial period for the client should be able to examine the requirements for matching and choose one of the Therapists before the membership starts.

  21. Amanda Lewis
    Nov 7, 2022

    The charge was $260

    The charge was $260 in December. I had only one 30-minute session with David. In January, I attended two sessions for 30 minutes each which was charged $260. What is the reason for that? I was told that each session would cost $65

  22. Stephen Barras
    Nov 7, 2022

    No flexibility

    I spent my vacation in a country without internet access and could not use the facilities. The counselor was not able to assist me. She kept sending me messages from her end. I submitted this request for help I didn’t get any reply. I paid for each session. I couldn’t extend the time to the following months, allowing me to utilize my sessions and money.

  23. Cosmin Croitoru
    Nov 7, 2022

    Don't let yourself be disappointed.

    I had an incredible experience with BetterHelp. The first counselor who I was matched with only responded to generic messages. They were extremely slow and also. I requested a change of counselors, which took a few days to be processed. The counselor I was matched with the next one didn’t even contact me or reply in any way… The support team got me and gave me an exchange, and I’m grateful to them. Otherwise, it was a horrible experience. Don’t let yourself be disappointed.

  24. Lauren Garfield
    Nov 6, 2022

    This is pretty much the fast food

    It’s essentially what you would call the drive-through fast food model of therapy. I’m not knocking any therapy provider on the site, as I’m sure a lot are highly skilled. I had the impression that most people sign up on this site to boost their monthly income or maybe some extra money for food. There’s nothing wrong with that. However, it makes one feel like another thing to think about. I’ve been through several therapy providers, and this was disheartening.

    Now to my very first and final video call…Let’s say that I’ve had more therapy waiting in the line in line at Stop & Shop than from the therapy provider. She appeared unqualified and highly unresponsive and arrived at an answer in just 30 mins. The experience alone led me to ask for a refund on any remaining time. But, there are a handful of other people I attempted to contact but were only able to text back and back and forth. What is the best way to make this work?

  25. Robert Hodgson
    Nov 6, 2022

    The first therapy I had was a flop

    The first therapy I had was a flop. She spent the majority of the time trying to control her dog. Another therapist is fantastic but finding enough money to pay for the service became a significant issue. I was eligible for one dollar off benefits due to my low income. In the end, If you’re in a financial bind, you’ll unlikely get the assistance you require. Consider them in case you’re able to. If not, finding group support online Ph.D.Ph.D. students might be the best option.

  26. Colin Moorby
    Nov 5, 2022

    The quality of BetterHelp is entirely dependent on the Therapist

    The quality of BetterHelp is entirely dependent on the Therapist. I had a phenomenal therapy therapist named Amber Smith in the program for a whole year. The thoughtful, thoughtful, and genuine she helped me transform my circumstances around. She left the clinic, but my case was assigned to a different therapist named Corazon Burke. It was awful – they bombarded me with long, copy-pasted messages about wellness to ‘hit an annual Betterhelp min. Word count.

    They also justified themselves when I asked to concentrate on my therapy instead. I was extremely uneasy! They say that all Counsellors have been doing this to save money. I contacted BetterHelp, and they do not see the issue as one. Unfortunately, BetterHelp cannot ensure that every counselor is honest and has the client’s most important interests in mind, and they don’t have their own! After being a customer for more than a year, I’ve decided to stop using it.

  27. Karen Armstrong
    Nov 5, 2022

    Disappointing Experience

    I was confident that BetterHelp could be a simple method of getting counseling that is affordable and affordable. I was especially anticipating using their video chat option from home. I tried using their video chat option a few times with my therapy provider, but we were not connecting at all, not even once. It was also challenging to locate therapists with MD or Ph.D. qualifications in psychology or psychiatry. Most therapy providers I’ve found possess a master’s degree at the very minimum, which I’ve always found insufficient knowledge to provide efficient therapy. Suppose you require less intensive counseling assistance for everyday concerns, aren’t opposed to being restricted by texting or even having short (max 30 minutes) sessions with an experienced counselor who is not a specialist therapist, and are looking for a solution. In that case, this may be the best option for you. The accessibility may be beneficial for some.

  28. Patricia Mason
    Nov 5, 2022

    the answers are typical and not necessarily unique to your needs

    Although counselors are skilled, the answers are typical and not necessarily unique to your needs. I’ve had to switch my counselor a few times because of their inability to respond even if they responded. I’m on a low income, only have the money to pay their weekly fees, and have many mental problems to sort out. There’s also a bit of a delay in responses which can be a problem when time isn’t an issue. Therapy is an ongoing process, but when I’m not able to receive help whenever I require it or require it, I cannot keep going or recommend this program for my benefit since it’s not.

  29. Craig Sellers
    Nov 4, 2022

    Waste of time

    Okay, I usually don’t do this, but this is insane. I’ve been through several counselors, but this one was a complete waste of my time. She demanded that I write everything down to ensure I didn’t take the time to read it. Her response was the opposite of what I had told her. It made me feel like she was skimming or communicating with an automated system. Then when I tried correcting her and informing her that I didn’t say anything of it, she claimed she didn’t read… If I were to show you what I wrote and what she said, it was the same as this woman didn’t read a word.

    Then when I was trying to remain courteous. (I am a mam to everyone) I replied, “ma’am, that’s not what I said at all” it was as if she had a snarky face trying to correct me. Then she wanted to act as if I had misread. You didn’t read anything at any point. Wow, that was a shocker. The best thing about her is that she had me complete a worksheet which made me think about things from different angles. However, she is also interested in other aspects.

  30. Brian Fernandes
    Nov 4, 2022

    I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

    Counselors cancel appointments or do not appear. I can appreciate the idea behind Betterhelp, but it’s more of a hassle. The feeling of rejection and disappointment is not helpful for those who suffer from mental health problems. I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone.

  31. Georgie Rogerson
    Nov 3, 2022

    It is a beautiful method of receiving therapy

    It is a beautiful method of receiving therapy, particularly during covid moments. I was unhappy with the various issues I always had regarding video calls and audio quality. Apart from that, I enjoy having the ability to communicate with my therapist anytime I need to, and the journal ideas are excellent.

  32. Julie Bean
    Nov 3, 2022

    Thanks to BetterHelp and Jake Tran

    I was about to purchase a subscription, but I read Pawel Mackiewicz’s opinion and decided to look for a therapist in my area. After filling out the forms, I discovered the areas the therapist could help, which gave me a chance to solve the issues I had not thought of as problems just a week ago. Thanks to BetterHelp and Jake Tran

  33. Katy Clarke
    Nov 3, 2022

    One of my major issues

    One of my major issues is that, despite requesting counselors who were over 45 years old older, I was speaking to Jennifer about a photograph (presumably from Jennifer) that has no resemblance to Jennifer, as I said in the video. The difference in age between the image and the honest Jennifer appears to be at least 30 years. This is a deceitful practice, to my mind. I’m not going to play these ridiculous unproportionate games, and I’m not even willing to make a payment for these games. Please end my association with your company immediately and also refund the remaining amount of my down payment of $432 in exchange for services. The prompt resolution of this problem will be highly appreciated.
    Sincerely, Karen Fuller

  34. Sheena Tower
    Nov 2, 2022

    The app may be inoperative sometimes

    The app may be inoperative sometimes, and it wasn’t easy to stay connected to my therapist on video calls. Sometimes appointments would disappear for no reason. I think that the concept behind the app is an excellent idea, but in terms of price, it’s pretty inconvenient when such situations happen.

  35. Andrew Spencer
    Nov 1, 2022

    It is a wonderful method of receiving therapy

    It is a beautiful method of receiving therapy, particularly during covid moments. I was unhappy with the various issues I always had regarding video calls and audio quality. Apart from that, I enjoy having the ability to communicate with my therapist anytime I need to, and the journal ideas are excellent.

  36. Josephine Spray
    Oct 30, 2022

    Not great customer service

    I was having fun with my sessions with BetterHelp, but I was shocked when I got charged with no email. PS240 in one go is quite a bit. I wanted to pause my sessions. However, they didn’t tell me when they’d bill me, and then they did. On a Friday at 10 pm, night, I was notified. Not excellent customer service. I’ve emailed them to request a refund, so let’s see what they do…I’m not thrilled so far since there’s no number to contact. It’s just a form to send a message.

  37. Alan Shellard
    Oct 29, 2022

    An excellent therapist, but the app is an outrageous cost!

    The therapists were fantastic, helped me through many a difficult time, and they were quick to respond to calls and messages. An excellent therapist, but the app is an outrageous cost! I would not pay that much to meet a therapist in person! EUR240 is expensive for a month, and I’ve only seen the therapist once this month. EUR240 is costly for a month, and I’ve only seen the therapist once this month.

  38. Robert Davies
    Oct 29, 2022

    Be aware

    Be aware you’ll begin paying for your membership before finding a Therapist. Make sure you do your homework first and know the conditions of service. Outside of the USA, your options may be minimal, and you could end up paying nothing.

  39. Jane Hatton
    Oct 26, 2022

    Terrible customer service and counseling!

    There is no upfront payment, and they will not be carried over even if you do not take an hour every week. Terrible customer service and counseling!! I paid for a month but only got two 30-minute sessions.

  40. Steve Burrow
    Oct 25, 2022

    I'm so sorry, and best of fortune to you!

    I waited for weeks for my first appointment. It was finally scheduled for tomorrow. I just received this message. Sorry to say that I’ve decided to quit BetterHelp. You can contact the support line so that they’ll connect you with another therapy provider. I’m so sorry, and best of fortune to you!

  41. Paul James
    Oct 23, 2022

    it's fraud

    There’s not been a single positive thing that I have learned from this website. The site does not have any qualified counselors. They don’t counsel you; they give you a few words added after telling them your story. Then you feel worse for it because it’s fraud. After 200 words, you’re told that it’s “interesting.” It’s not. It’s a fraud. Don’t join; you’ll waste your money, time, and your integrity. There is no way to know who’s on the other end of the line if there is any response, even once. There’s no customer service, and I haven’t heard from anyone yet. On most review sites, the user can’t leave reviews, So what’s the message?

  42. Brandon Mcconnell
    Oct 23, 2022

    The therapist doesn't contact me for days

    The therapist doesn’t contact me for days, and there is no space available for an appointment. She isn’t replying to me because she wouldn’t be able to respond on weekends. I didn’t message her weekend. Naturally, I was aware of 24 hours also. I made my payment weekly, and it was spent.

  43. Linda Watts
    Oct 22, 2022

    A total waste of money

    A total waste of money. The therapist was not helpful in any way. It was not structured in the call. He just asked me questions, and I was on the phone for 40 minutes, and when it was over, he abruptly said goodbye. He repeated the same questions week after week and didn’t offer any assistance between calls. I was disappointed with the experience, particularly since I was having a terrible time.

  44. Zoe Williams
    Oct 22, 2022

    This is not cool.

    Better help connect me to a therapist in the US when I am in Germany. I scheduled an appointment for her thinking it was after lunch. It was in the evening and not during the afternoon. The only time she’s available is at midnight for the entire month. It’s a waste of time. I could be charged for missing an appointment at 3 am. This is not cool.

  45. Debra Murrell
    Oct 20, 2022

    I would suggest trying everything else

    A nightmare, I was tempted to leave a while back, and it took me about a month to find the right therapist. It was a total loss of 160 pounds. One week later, I was assigned another, and she was not working because of the technical issues with BetterHelp, so I was forced to leave and find a different therapist. I’ve just checked my account and am assigned to my first therapist, and they have charged me for five months. However, I found a fantastic woman on Bark just one hour three months earlier… I would suggest trying everything else.

  46. Duncan Gardner
    Oct 19, 2022

    Disgusting and risky

    Two counselors have matched me. One never replied, and the second didn’t attend live sessions. I’m going through an awful experience, and putting your heart on a website that claims to care but then lets you down can cause serious harm to people less vulnerable than me. Disgusting and risky. We are waiting to hear whether or not I will receive an entire refund.

  47. Miroslav Mraz
    Oct 18, 2022

    SCAMMERS

    Like the other negative reviews, I was charged 180 pounds for two sessions! My therapist was not available for two weeks, which is very convenient for her, as I’d already pre-paid in advance. I was told four sessions which isn’t enough, but for just two sessions, I paid 180 dollars, and they attempted to charge me more after one month. SCAMMERS

  48. Bernard Benn
    Oct 17, 2022

    BetterHelp is not what you're looking for

    I saw three therapists, and none were on par with my expectations. The first one only offered vague statements and didn’t provide clear and precise responses appropriate for my situation. #2 was willing to assist. However, it was only at a surface level and didn’t aid me in understanding more profound questions. #3 was either absent or failed to attend my sessions without informing me in advance of the sessions many times. His approach was also similar to #2. If you’re looking for severe treatment, BetterHelp is not what you’re looking for. Just scratch the surface.

  49. Richard Wagstaff
    Oct 16, 2022

    A fraud business!

    A fraud business! I signed up but didn’t see any therapists; then I saw the bank statements that they’d taken out PS180 two times for services I’ve not even experienced. I could get my money back and then cancel my account with them. When I saw that, I realized that this was a fraud.

  50. Aileen Paterson
    Oct 15, 2022

    I am the spouse of a person who has used this service

    I am the spouse of a person who has used this service. She had anxiety about talking to a “trained counselor.” In a meeting, she was informed, “your addiction isn’t an addiction because it is not in my book.” She was then blamed as a victim for all the other things she wanted to discuss with two counselors.

  51. Tony Jones
    Oct 15, 2022

    my experience was disappointing

    I can appreciate the efficacy of BetterHelp, but my experience was disappointing. A particular session was the one that caused me to leave the entire session. It. My therapist was eating dishes while I was speaking. It was very depressing that I didn’t get all-encompassing attention. I was so traumatized that I was hesitant to switch partners. Finding the right person for you is crucial.

  52. Ralph English
    Oct 13, 2022

    I had finished sign-up, they removed PS180 from my accounts

    I’m originally from the UK. First, BetterHelp advertises sessions at PS49 (or similar to that). After I had finished sign-up, they removed PS180 from my accounts. Also, you’ll get the option of choosing a therapist. Still, only one therapist was matched to me, and she was an African-American American woman with nothing to do with me.

  53. Sarah Louise
    Oct 11, 2022

    don't recommend it.

    I tried BetterHelp a few months ago, and I’m still sour about it. Although I did not change therapy providers during the month, I registered. The one I chose was good, but she took very little time, and instead of confirming my feelings, she made me feel guilty for the reasons I had. $300 for perhaps 15 minutes of counseling through text and voicemail? “Well, I feel that way too. Who doesn’t?” Ummm… don’t recommend it.

  54. Marcia Berry
    Oct 8, 2022

    Therapists were not always available

    Therapists were not always available, and I waited two weeks before getting an appointment. They were superficial and ineffective. It was difficult to guide the discussion into the issues I faced since the therapists were always limiting their conversations to banter. The overall experience is not worth it for those looking to tackle their mental problems.

  55. Anita Poulman
    Oct 7, 2022

    I wasn't more engaged and committed

    The therapist I initially worked with seemed to think that the most important thing to focus on than the rest and remained focused on that one thing despite being asked to depart from it. The second one questioned me numerous times during my work regarding specific issues during a holiday, over one week before the first session. The last question was about why I wasn’t more engaged and committed. I was enjoying the time with my family.

  56. Nick Hopkins
    Oct 6, 2022

    She was extremely unhelpful

    Doctor. Janell Royster instructed me to enter the bathroom, close the door, and then say three bloody marys. I was not thinking much about it until I began throwing my infant across the room and realized I was in the hands of a demon. I confronted her, and she praised my child’s throwing abilities and said I should laud satin. I find it odd since the fact that I have done it before is enough… She was extremely unhelpful and cruel. It was far more ineffective, like I had to pay for a car and a baby. #nothanks

  57. Ann Barker
    Oct 6, 2022

    The therapist wasn't accessible during the trial

    The therapist wasn’t accessible during the trial, and the one time I did speak to her, she was rude and interrupted me. It was not an ideal space to talk about problems or seek assistance unless you could be precise. After the session, there was no room to ramble or miscommunication as you were trying to work on an issue. She did not have time to meet with me again for a few weeks before I decided to end my trial of free. I don’t even recommend it if you are struggling with stress or CPTSD.

  58. Fiona Rabbetts
    Oct 6, 2022

    I'm not happy

    As of now, I’m not happy. I’m new to the service and am still in contact with them. I’m hoping they solve this problem. I need someone who can assist me with my ESAs, and that’s not a priority for my therapy. I also sought an unreligious female counselor, but I was provided with one who was a Christian male counselor instead. I might be losing my emotional animals as a result of this program. What can I do to help someone heal the trauma of the past while making it worse?

  59. Ellesse Buss
    Oct 4, 2022

    I've wasted $185 over one month that was not helpful.

    Perhaps I was (it took a long time, and I needed to ask for a refund to get it rolling). I was matched with a horrible therapy therapist… However, I wouldn’t recommend this program. The app works fine, I suppose. I’m just disappointed that I’ve wasted $185 over one month, which was not helpful.

  60. Lorraine Beddard
    Oct 3, 2022

    This website is definitely an SCAM

    This website is a SCAM. I’ve been charged and never met a therapist. I tried to log in. I had a lot of issues, but I was finally able to reset my password. I was able to log on five minutes before the time of my session… But then I discovered that the therapist was “unavailable,” and I would be required to reschedule my session but, in all likelihood, be charged.

  61. John Margitson
    Oct 2, 2022

    Responding to messages exceptionally late

    Responding to messages exceptionally late, and I was sat up, i.e., nobody showed up at the initial session I booked..just received a call from a counselor who said he had forgotten. I told him I had booked another session for tomorrow, and the counselor asked when. Seriously. Do I have to handle his schedule since he’s in a separate time zone?

  62. Annabel Shrubshall
    Oct 2, 2022

    The therapist was absent 15 minutes prior

    This “chat” feature is one message daily, and nothing is natural about it. The therapist was absent 15 minutes prior; this comes after two weeks between them not being willing to schedule a session with one another. Then I paid for four sessions but received no results. These chat sessions are crucial, and it’s a shame that they’re defrauding people with the help they require.

  63. Martin Chapman
    Oct 1, 2022

    Betterhelp is designed to pair your needs with the right therapist in 24 to 48 hours

    Betterhelp is designed to pair your needs with the right therapist in 24 to 48 hours. It’s been a whole month, and I’m still waiting. I received an apology email that I responded to and accepted the option of choosing one for myself, and I did and responded to it with my choice. After that, I was then ghosted. The service they claim to be if they lie about this. I also asked the reason for this, and they were unable to provide me with an explanation of what was happening. I thought a therapist through this method would be much easier. It’s not.

  64. Alastair Woods
    Sep 28, 2022

    The most awful counseling service

    The awful counseling service. Don’t trust any other help. The counselor doesn’t take care of your needs, and the client service is insulting. You should find a different place, and you will save yourself. You will not get anything from this company. They’re only interested in your money but don’t care about you.

  65. Michael Oliver
    Sep 28, 2022

    Nonsense from Neocons Not Helpful

    The majority of classes and sessions are held on the east coast. Because I’m on the west coast, all of the seminars and styles I’d like to be a part of starting at 7 am are difficult to participate in. The site has quotes sprinkled throughout by neoconservatives such as Brian Tracy. BetterHelp claims to assist LGBTQ+ clie,nts but quotations from think tanks’ found which supported Trump and founded Focus on the Family make better help an unsafe environment toforGBTQ+ people.

  66. Nick Alexander
    Sep 27, 2022

    I was very dissatisfied

    I had high expectations about my experience with BetterHelp. However, I was very dissatisfied. I paid more than $300 to have a lady ask, “how does that make you feel?” I genuinely wish I was exaggerating. I sought insightful suggestions and objective advice but received vague, generic, and essential observations of my problems. I wanted to like the site, but I spent over $300. I feel that I was taken advantage of.

  67. Stephen Tucker
    Sep 25, 2022

    don't attempt to end your subscription

    The treatment is acceptable. However, don’t attempt to end your subscription. I’m about to enter the thirteenth week of trying to recover my money. I’ve had two sessions with the new therapist following my previous therapist’s leaving. This seems to be a common problem. Therapists were unsuited to my requirements (and only received for a session of $20-30) and were out of my time zone, so they would not have the opportunity to meet me. Get your money’s worth and find an actual therapist who is in real-time and who can truly hear your needs. It is unlikely that a live therapist will be charged for therapy that you’ve never experienced.

  68. Peju Abuchi
    Sep 22, 2022

    I am experiencing an existential crisis with much to do with losing loved ones

    I am experiencing an existential crisis with much to do with losing loved ones. This is why I checked every option I could think of: I would rather not have religious people who accept LGBTQ individuals, etc. I spent a few hundred dollars to try therapy providers who responded once a week, if ever, and finally came across one who was flexible. Around $500 later, my therapist recommended Jesus. I could have called my mom and received the same result without working 20 hours. Thanks.

  69. Michael Godden
    Sep 21, 2022

    They were not professional

    I saw three therapists over time. They were not professional. They all seemed like BetterHelp was just a side hustle. The first person I was matched with ought to have quit ten years ago. She was opinionated and “rough around the edges.” The second time she wasn’t punctual for even one of our appointments of 6 or more. She used her ADHD as a reason for her tardiness. I thought she needed counseling more often than I did. The last appointment was canceled two meetings in one go, and I did not even talk to her. The most recent work she canceled just an hour before we were scheduled to start. My alarm went off the following day to be late for nothing. It was a complete loss of hundreds of dollars and hours. I now have even less faith in the people I trust.

  70. Emma Entwistle
    Sep 19, 2022

    Refund me immediately.

    I’d give this five stars, but I can’t decide, so one must do. An awful company that doesn’t even pay attention to your money before speaking to a counselor. It is impossible to reach, and there are no counselors on hand for me to call them on across the globe, and completely useless. Refund me immediately.

  71. Vikki Parkes
    Sep 17, 2022

    The counseling was okay

    The counseling was okay. However, they made it almost impossible to end the program. Although my counselor requested to refund me for treatment not used, they didn’t. I even contacted them on the day my treatment was supposed to end. I’m not one to spend money on products I don’t need.

  72. Jeremy Kemble
    Sep 16, 2022

    I was with Betterhelp for two months

    I was with Betterhelp for two months, and I’m not sure what to think of it. The first therapist was focused on meditation, yoga, and other religions, and while I got some help from this area, it was not suitable for me. Instead, I’d work on my problems rather than face additional frustrations in the world. The second one was horrible, and I never got a chance to talk with her. She wrote a lengthy bio, and in it, she stated that she only did therapy via messages. I’m still unable to figure out where she said that, but I was able to set up meetings twice, but both times they were canceled.

  73. Neil Wilson
    Sep 16, 2022

    I Appreciate the Thought, But Still Too Expensive

    I’m grateful for the idea; however, even with the discounted price or student discount, I’d be required to pay my full pay every month to afford it. It’s ridiculous that I cannot get the assistance I need because I cannot. It was the last resort I had. Neither could anyone else. I’m not sure what I should do next.

  74. James Turner
    Sep 15, 2022

    I've tried a variety of therapy providers on BetterHelp

    I’ve tried a variety of therapy providers on BetterHelp. The first one did not seem to pay attention to me in any way, so I changed to a different person. The second one was wonderful when she arrived! The first time, she did not turn up; I let her go since she had fires in her house. The second time, I’m not sure what went wrong. However, I thought she could not be tech-savvy. However, I was slightly annoyed the third time because she had contacted me early that day, letting me know that the service still worked for her. So no, I do not recommend BetterHelp. Some therapists might employ it as a secondary source of income but do not care about their clients as if they were in private practice.

  75. Peter Sullivan
    Sep 14, 2022

    poor service

    Wow. Words can’t describe my disappointment. After jumping through the numerous steps to set up an account and listening to beautiful things, I’m stuck with unsatisfactory counseling at its finest. 2 stars for a poor interface and poor service.

  76. Wayne Timmins
    Sep 13, 2022

    Be wary of BetterHelp's automated billing practice!

    Be wary of BetterHelp’s automated billing practice! I was billed for the third month without permission, even though I’d already canceled my subscription and hadn’t yet completed all four sessions I paid for!

  77. Steven Rucinski
    Sep 12, 2022

    My Therapist is kind and caring

    My Therapist is kind and caring. She listens and gives thoughtful and insightful advice without making me feel ashamed or judged. What I have observed, though only just two sessions, is that she genuinely takes an interest and is invested in what I’ve got to discuss. She lets me talk through the issue independently and then gently encourages me to develop a more compact and efficient understanding. My experience has been positive and valuable.

  78. Caitlyn Ridgley
    Sep 12, 2022

    I appreciate the unique perspective

    I have booked an early morning session with my psychotherapist—45 minutes video call. I also use the text feature, sending responses out during the day. They are usually ready when I wake up in the early morning. It’s great to talk with a therapist who is from California. I appreciate the unique perspective. I feel connected.

  79. Bret Rockwell
    Sep 12, 2022

    The BetterHelp website is user-friendly

    The BetterHelp website is user-friendly, and signing up and finding a therapist was simple. I am thrilled with my therapist. I feel that she’s very professional, easy to communicate with, and very cautious with her words, and she ensures she does not make me feel uncomfortable or ill-treated. You will be notified by email to create daily journal entries, which I enjoy. They also have webinars on relationships, existentialism, drug abuse, and dating, among others… I highly recommend this site.

  80. Darrin W Moore
    Sep 12, 2022

    The experience I've had with BetterHelp was stressful and depressing

    The experience I’ve had with BetterHelp was stressful and depressing. I needed to speak to customer support several times in less than a week. Although I have received some responses, my concerns are mostly ignored. Because I’ve not even been able to have a session with customer service, they haven’t dealt with technical issues raised few the past few days, and I’m generally dissatisfied with my experience. Many seek assistance from these services because they’re experiencing difficulties – it’s almost like BetterHelp is profiting from those at their weakest. I’d love an answer or explanation.

  81. Kevin Newbury
    Sep 12, 2022

    I was getting worse

    Two stars because it began with a good start. It took several tries to locate the “good” counselor. My counselor was very responsive to messages and even started to help me with some issues. …. and then it ended. I booked my video session with my Therapist. We talked about a few things in my life. We discussed my long-term partner …. she’s recently taken an unplanned break because she was struggling with Covid and other issues. …. I told my Therapist the whole story. She continued to inform me that the woman I fell in love with was a woman. …….. who was extremely rude and contrary to what a therapist should be doing, and honestly, when I left, I was getting worse. ….. I would stay clear of her.

  82. Andrew Lannon
    Sep 12, 2022

    The staff refused to help me after I'd already paid

    The staff refused to help me after I’d already paid. I’m waiting for a refund, but what kind of establishment designed to help people who are struggling denies people? If you’re suffering from many problems, I won’t take the time to ask for help – they will make you feel like you need assistance.

  83. Mike Ancona
    Sep 9, 2022

    Thank you, BetterHelp!

    The therapy I sought with BetterHelp has been the most excellent choice I’ve ever made in a long time. The process of finding a therapist was fast and straightforward. My fantastic therapist has allowed me to feel better about the issues I’ve had to face. BetterHelp offers feedback on the therapist, and I am grateful for their attention to ensuring everything is in order! Thank you, BetterHelp!

  84. Debbie Wisdom
    Sep 8, 2022

    I'm not a BetterHelp client

    I’m not a BetterHelp client, and I am bombarded with advertisements from them so often when I watch Youtube that I’m irritated to the point of a coma. I’ve tried blocking ads, saying that this ad is not suitable for me 100 times through the Youtube choices. It’s been a while, and the only one that keeps popping up is a source of frustration for me. I want to kick an infant and throw things. Please, Betterhelp or Youtube, come up with an approach to ensure that if someone does not want to be bombarded with your advertisements and has seen your ads but hits, “No, I am not interested,” They will not see it anymore.

  85. Catherine Large
    Sep 8, 2022

    I believe BetterHelp is a fantastic

    I thought that the questionnaire would find the best therapy therapist for me. I believe BetterHelp is a fantastic method of connecting people with therapists worldwide. It brings convenience to an entirely new level. It’s worth trying for anyone wanting to try therapy but does not know where to begin.

  86. Vivian Larracuente
    Sep 6, 2022

    Quite misleading

    The price is a bit high for the amount of space. Quite misleading. I also thought I’d removed my subscription as I cannot pay for it this month, but it came out of my account in the bank, and I haven’t received an answer from customer service. I will not be able to pay monthly rent if I cannot get the money back … aside from that, the single session I had throughout the month was a success.

  87. Modesto Ferrerii
    Sep 6, 2022

    False advertising

    They compare prices to actual therapy sessions, but in ToS, they say that it’s not an alternative to therapy and that so-called “therapists” are not qualified professionals; they’re simply random individuals who are paid to speak to you. Do not do this. Make sure you take care of yourself by seeking natural therapy or alternative options. YouTubers pay to express things they want to say, so don’t trust the YouTubers. Make your investigation. If you’re here, you’re taking an excellent move in an appropriate direction.

  88. Dominick Nania
    Sep 6, 2022

    I have a Health Spending account available to me!

    It’s tough to locate a therapist or counselor. It is also a long process. It’s no wonder that so many struggles to survive and then abandon. Sadly. It was a sad end. I constantly saw this ad pop up; I thought it was a gimmick. My MD gave me a list of recommended doctors. None of them answer calls or are not accepting patients. The ad was constantly popping up on YouTube videos I used for self-help coaching, which proved to be a lifesaver. Finally, I dueled against characters with Better Help after a therapy session. A Match! Zoom, video, phone, and text sessions are perfect. I have a Health Spending account available to me!

  89. Selena Lansdowne
    Sep 3, 2022

    Betterhelp is an excellent option to access therapy

    Betterhelp is an excellent option to access therapy at home or anywhere you are connected to the internet. I was anxious about finding counselors and unsure where to start, but Betterhelp made it simple. They were able to satisfy all my needs, and I’m incredibly grateful. I believe that Betterhelp will revolutionize the way that traditional counseling/therapy is conducted.

  90. Tiffany Smith
    Sep 2, 2022

    the most effective therapy experience

    I’ve found Better Help to offer the most effective therapy experience. Traditional therapy was where I saw an individual counselor every week. My Therapist in Better Help reaches out to me in between sessions to discuss my progress, and I can write her about an issue so that when we do get together, she’s ready to discuss it with me. This accessibility has helped me be a huge benefit to me.

  91. Robert Kay
    Sep 2, 2022

    The customer support...not as much

    My therapist was beneficial. The customer support…not as much. I’ve been trying for an explanation about “my account” for days and am now able to continue, but I am not receiving any answers. This is highly frustrating, particularly at this point when it’s sorely required.

  92. Craig Roystone
    Sep 2, 2022

    I feel that BetterHelp isn't a long-term therapy option

    I feel that BetterHelp isn’t a long-term therapy option. Being a young adult, the cost is high even when discounts are included. The 2nd therapist I went with was genuinely unique. More than any therapist that I could find in my local area. His insights were positive and beneficial and helped me through my life’s events.

  93. Brandy Damico
    Sep 1, 2022

    I first enrolled in BetterHelp after a challenging and demanding time

    I first enrolled in BetterHelp after a challenging and demanding time. I was connected to an outstanding therapy therapist within 48 hours and began my sessions online shortly after. After a few months, these sessions have helped me improve my mental state, where I feel calmer and more capable of taking better care of myself. I highly recommend this service to anyone searching for therapy, especially if they haven’t tried it before and aren’t sure how to begin.

  94. Michael Parker
    Sep 1, 2022

    The cost of these treatments is high

    I like the concept behind more assistance. The cost of these treatments is high, so for those like me, it isn’t easy to afford them. It would also be better to plan a few sessions with our therapist instead of just one day at an time. This would allow us to maintain the proper schedule and professionalism. It’s a bit frustrating to get a session that opens wounds and unpacks issues, but it’s a couple of plus weeks before you get back in contact with her. This slows the healing process and makes it more difficult to heal and grow sustainably.

  95. John Knitzer
    Aug 30, 2022

    I am a happy customer. Thank you, BetterHelp

    I was going through a difficult time with a grieving process and family problems. I’m grateful that I came across BetterHelp when I needed it. I believe that I have found the right therapist, and I’ll continue my therapy with BetterHelp as well as my current therapist at the time. I am delighted with this service and would recommend it to anyone seeking help with their psychological issues. I am a happy customer. Thank you, BetterHelp.

  96. Pamela Conrad
    Aug 29, 2022

    Jessica is incredible!

    I was very skeptical of the idea of therapy, especially online. I discovered BetterHelp and read the reviews and decided that no! Not worth it. After many hours of thinking about whether I should join, and if it doesn’t go as planned, I’ll decide to leave. I’ve attended several sessions so far, and I can honestly say that I am pleased I chose to stick with it. Best decision ever! I look at my sessions with anticipation and my therapist. Jessica is incredible!

  97. Mark Whitney
    Aug 27, 2022

    I highly suggest this, even if only for a couple of months

    As a college student trying to get affordable treatment in a high-income region, BetterHelp was a life-saver. There was a lot of guilt about seeking therapy, as well as the financial burden it could be a burden on my family, which made it virtually impossible to get the treatment I so required so severely. However, Better Help’s financial assistance lets me afford it by working part-time, and in the last three months, I’ve been feeling better and discovered how to feel more comfortable. I highly suggest this, even if only for a couple of months.

  98. Frederick Peterson
    Aug 23, 2022

    I highly suggest calling better help.

    BetterHelp has been instrumental in helping me through the challenging phase of my life as the primary caregiver for an elderly parent. If you’re having an issue and are in a new area, I highly suggest calling better help.

  99. Michael Thogode
    Aug 18, 2022

    my therapist was excellent

    I’ve been to therapy in the past, and my therapist was excellent. As a woman, I think the male therapist is what I’ve always wanted. Dr. Herman Bunn is competent, caring, and direct to the point. He will always bring a worksheet or something of a similar nature to support my sessions and provide me with something to write about, read, or even study. I am a Christian and believe in Christ, and I am awed by the fact that he will refer to the word during our meetings.

  100. Bethany Cooper
    Aug 12, 2022

    I highly would recommend it!

    Was I always rushing around and getting tripped up on my feet? Other people practice therapy, but I have never thought about it! I started it to reduce my pace of walking. It was a great help and offered so many other benefits! Without asking, it resolved the issues I had been struggling with regarding boundaries and drinking habits! I only saw my therapist for a couple of months. A few minutes a week of thinking about yourself is fantastic, and it was just what I required! It’s pretty magical, and I highly would recommend it! X.

Write a review on BetterHelp

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

99Consumer for business

Customers' reviews are a great way to build trust and loyalty for your business.

About BetterHelp

BetterHelp is the world's most extensive counseling service that is 100 100% online. You can get professional, efficient, cost-effective counseling from certified, accredited, and reliable licensed counselors. Find help with various issues, such as anxiety, depression, relationship grieving, trauma, etc. Our counselors will receive all the professionalism and high quality that you'd like from a professional in the office; however, they can speak when and how you'd like. Please find out more about us at www.betterhelp.com.

888-688-9296
[email protected]
https://www.betterhelp.com
United States